My Next Cat

“If cats could talk, they wouldn’t.”

~Nan Porter~


Oh yeah?

My next cat is going to be mute, I swear

So that he is unable to voice despair

My next cat will not utter a yowl

or voice his neediness with a howl

My next cat will not cry at night

and respond to my obedience with delight

My next cat will not utter a kitty word

even when stalking a chirping bird

My next cat will be quiet as a mouse

No talking back in this house

My next cat will understand quiet

better than the usual noise of riot

My next cat will be tongue-tied, I assure

until for this Gibbs-speak there is a cure


This post has been brought to you by an overly raucous feline and Linda Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. If you are wondering what One-Liner Wednesday is all about, CLICK HERE.

Linda G. Hill is the Queen of One-Liners and rules over her kingdom of followers. Check out today’s post and commit yourself to join the Queen’s one-liner army because there’s no fighting or blood, only comradery and fun with words.

34 responses to My Next Cat

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Ha ha – I fully understand!

    I think I hear Gibbs saying “pffffft, maybe if you fed me on time…”

  2. Herman says:

    Thank goodness Mr. Bowie is a quiet cat… and sleeps all night long!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, Herman, you are blessed with Mr. Bowie. Maybe he could bottle some of that quietness and ship it to Gibbs. 😉

  3. loisajay says:

    All of my cats have been quiet. And then there was Piper. I mentioned this to the vet (“She doesn’t stop talking!”). He says she looks like she has some Bengal in her and they are little chatterboxes.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Good luck with Piper. Perhaps ir’s better she talks to you than sits and glares at you all day. Right?

      • loisajay says:

        Ha! That’s a good way to think of it. Thanks, Mary! You were saying, Piper……

  4. John Holton says:

    We’ve had a lot of cats over the years, and there are some that don’t utter a peep for years, then suddenly they don’t shut up. Others are talkers their whole lives. One theory is that when they start losing their hearing, they’ll start howling just to make sure they can still hear themselves. I think they just get bored.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know that Gibbs has not lost his hearing, but is without his human all day, so maybe he IS bored. It’s also another way to train me to pay attention to his forlorn being when he wants attention.

  5. Laura says:

    I grew up with Siamese cats so I get this. The yowling — I can still hear it. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Many moons ago, I was typing from dictation and heard a baby crying. The person dictating later told me it was her Siamese cat. Too funny!

  6. My next cat is going to be….long to someone else.

    I say that every bl**dy time, and then someone shows me some kittens and off I go again.

    Love this post Mary. 🙂
    Sending many squidges ~ Cobs. xxx

  7. joey says:

    I understand. I have picked three noisy cats in my life. I tend to choose the talkers. But there are some times when… Well, you know.
    Cletus seldom mews and he makes the most darling sounds. We all AW to him. However, he goes after Clara, who is quite a drama queen and the audibles are SHRILL.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Clara and Ziva could compare notes over the drama queen noises. My girl isn’t a talker, but she sure knows how to be histrionic when she’s mad at Gibbs.

  8. Mine likes to sing the songs of his ancestors at 4am, despite the fact that he has a clean litter tray, food in his bowl and two beds… I dread to think what he would be like if he could talk…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sing the song of his ancestors…LOL! Gibbs does that too, either after a visit to the litter box or because he doesn’t want to wait another hour or two for food. There’s no respect for the human’s sleep patterns!

      • I know! You’d think after the same routine for 12 years he would have figured it out by now…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.