Friendship & Bike Legs

This past weekend was fabulous.

It included the company of long-time friends, good conversation, fantastic weather and a bike ride.

After work on Friday, I headed south toward Milwaukee to catch up on the past nine months with friends I have known for a long time. We had not seen each other since the end of July 2016. I had not seen the new house they moved into last August. There was “catching up” to be done, along with a tour of the house and a Friday night fish fry.

“Fish is often served on Friday nights during Lent as a restaurant special or through church fundraisers. Beer is a common beverage of choice to accompany a fish fry. A fish fry may include potato pancakes (with applesauce) and sliced caraway rye bread if served in a German restaurant or area.”

Fish? Check.

Potato pancakes? Check.

Beer? Since the only beer on tap was varieties of Miller, I opted for a brandy old fashioned sour. With fruit. Check.

The remainder of the time, from Friday night to Saturday afternoon, we celebrated our 40 year friendship by watching a movie, hanging out, talking stupid, eating brunch and watching Jax the dog chase his many balls around the house. Jax is a little dust mop of a dog, no bigger than my cat Gibbs, who loves to lay by “dad” and look at the rest of us like chopped liver. This was a quick visit, not even 24 hours, but it fed the absence of nine months with the laid-back ease that a long-time friendship brings.


It was 70 degrees Sunday afternoon.

That’s warm for April in Wisconsin.

What’s a girl to do except get on her bike and ride. I’ve been thinking of Joanne over at My Life Lived Full. She reported the purchase of a new trail bike that she will be riding as you read this post (I’m expecting a full report some time this week). Joanne’s excitement over her bike was the encouragement I needed to get my butt on the seat and move it.

There’s not a lot to report from this ride other than the weather was almost perfect (the wind could have given it a rest) and the first venture of the season was a respectable 11 miles. Not a great distance, but it was a nice leisurely ride and I had to welcome back my bike legs. (Bike legs are like sea legs, without the waves and nausea.)

I’m going to let the gallery and photo captions speak for the ride. Between friendship, nice weather and quality time on the Kona, I feel rejuvenated and ready for the week. Whatever work has to throw at me, it will not wipe the smile of the weekend from my face.

18 responses to Friendship & Bike Legs

  1. Dan Antion says:

    We were a little cooler, but nice weather for sure. Streets are still covered with sand and – yes, again – the eagles and eaglets have the Canal Trail closed until the end of June. I love the look of that trail. Good for you for getting out there!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I had the itch to get out in February when we had the unusually warm weather, but I didn’t have the time then. I wasn’t going to let the opportunity pass again, although I’m sure I’ll have more of them in the coming days. Those darn eagles! Could they not have picked a different spot to have babies? 😉

      • Dan Antion says:

        I know. every year since 2011 except 1. It’s already closed from November 1st until April 30th. I think if these eaglets are going to live in a world with people, they should start getting used to us ASAP. It’s the only place I can get to within a few minute’s drive that isn’t covered in sand. I have a road bike, with those narrow, high pressure tires and they don’t mix well with sand.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You need a new trail bike, Dan. One with wider, knobby tires. It’s Father’s Day in June, you know…

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Thanks for thinking about me!! 🙂

    It looks like you had a great first ride. Knowing enough to keep it short at the beginning is a sign of experience 😉
    I just finished breakfast and am ready to load the car. We have an hour’s drive to today’s start point. We’ll let our legs and the feel of the saddle determine today’s distance since we are doing an out-and-back.

    You sent the warm temperatures our way and I’m very grateful … but I’m told we will have winds to go with it as the day progresses. Perhaps you could have kept that part … unless of course they are tail winds in which case, thank you, thank you, thank you 😉

    Happy Monday and hope that weekend smile stays with you until Friday when you get to do it all over again 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Have a wonderful first ride, Joanne. May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back! If you are going west or south on the way out, you’ll be good on the way back. I wish I was going along if for no other reason to see the “riding my new toy” smile on your face! ☺

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        It was glorious! It’s such a different experience from road riding with the very narrow tires under high pressure. The fat tires are sooo soft even on bumps and rocks and other debris! I’m hooked!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! Southern food! I grew up with potato pancakes…it was a staple during Lent and the normal side dish with fish.

  3. Sharukh Bamboat says:

    I would love to go on a bicycle ride with you wherever you take me.

      • Sharukh Bamboat says:

        I’m already in love with all those trail pictures.

  4. joey says:

    I stopped to daydream about potato pancakes… 😛

    Great photos — I always love that bridge.

    Glad you had the wonderful time you were expecting! I especially like the bit about how that smile will get you through your week 🙂

  5. simonfalk28 says:

    Love the Friday beer and fish, Mary. For lots of reasons. Glad you are enjoying the travel in the outdoors with friends. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I wonder what those reasons are? Hmmmm… 😉

      Love the outdoors and nature, Simon, especially when I can walk, be on the bike, or simply hang out with friends. It all soothes the soul!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.