I’m Hungry!

“The belly is an ungrateful wretch, it never remembers past favors, it always wants more tomorrow.”

~Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn~

And so it was, the Saturday morning after my boss’s retirement party. After an evening filled with appetizers such as pretzels and beer cheese dip, meatballs, sausage and cheese, taco dip, raw veggies and delicious crostinis. After a few slices of pizza. After a couple of drinks.

And after the cake…the magnificent lemon poppy seed cake!

img_20161202_161645667

I ate like Miss Piggy.

Yet, I wanted more when I woke Saturday morning.

It could have been in my head.

It could have been my body rejecting all the things I usually stay away from.

It could have been fatigue from a long day.

Whatever the reason, I responded by giving the ungrateful wretch what it wanted:

More food.


This post has been brought to you by food and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

29 responses to I’m Hungry!

  1. Well, now that I stop to think about it, you are certainly right. I kind of do big meal then small meal, etc., but, there’s always a meal. I’m a sugar addict so that cake sent my pulse to quickening. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, Judy, that was one of the most delicious store bakery cakes I’ve ever had. Any sugar addict would have loved it. Here I am…it’s Wednesday morning…and I’m ready to eat again. What’s up with that?

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Want Cake!!!

    Nice post, Mary, except for the fat that I’m tempted to retrieve my lunch from the fridge and call it breakfast. Oh wait, I bought a muffin – score!

    I am always amazed at how I (and others) leave evening events talking about being so full, and then showing up at breakfast hungry – ungrateful wretch, indeed.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I do love cake. There’s a bakery in town call Manderfield’s that makes THE BEST cake. Lemon/raspberry with chocolate ganache for example. How does that compare to the muffin?

      I am so hungry this morning without any cake or overeating last night. Unfortunately, I will have to settle for peanut butter toast or oatmeal. Yum.

      • Dan Antion says:

        All I know is that my muffin was better than oatmeal. Peanut butter toast, I can enjoy, but oatmeal??? No, can’t make it happen.

  3. joey says:

    Mercy. You had me at beer cheese and then you showed me a beautiful cake and when I got to lemon poppy, my mouth watered!
    We had cupcakes Sunday for the little one’s birthday, and then The Mister brought home a slice of fancy cake on Monday from his. Yesterday was surprisingly cake-less! :/

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, the beer cheese dip was delicious! My boss and I both enjoy lemon anything, so it was no surprise that she requested a lemon poppyseed cake (lemon filling too). I looked in the fridge at work this morning for leftovers, but they were all gone. I’m having withdrawals.

      Happy belated Birthday to the little one!

      • joey says:

        🙂
        There’s a place in town that serves beer cheese soup. I’ve been eating it since 1997 and oh, it’s so good!
        Sorry about the lack of leftovers, sounds like SUCH a feast!

  4. Phil Ryan says:

    I hope the weather’s being kind to you, Mary so you can cycle any excess cakey bits away. This is my recipe for curing over indulgence, that and being a miserable bugger who doesn’t get invited to such fare 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh God, no biking weather today. Highs in the low 20’s (@-5C) with 15-20 mph winds. We’re on the frozen tundra today. I will be burning away calories by trying to stay warm.

      You don’t seem miserable, Phil, but you know there is always a bakery somewhere that makes single serving cupcakes! 😉

  5. Phil Ryan says:

    Thanks Mary. I knew I could rely on you to recognise my generous disposition while still seeing my requirements for single dining arrangements on occasions, my own retirement do, milestone birthdays and the like.
    Sorry to have mentioned the weather, sounds grim. There’s no better way to keep trim then making repetitive trips to the fridge/confectionary cupboard/room to keep your inner kiln burning. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL! I’m regretting not taking a 30 minute drive to get more Thanksgiving brats from an organic meat provider. Turkey, stuffing and cranberries in a brat. They were delicious!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The positive side of not having anymore leftovers is that I know where to go if I need another party cake.

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    Thanks. Just what I needed … inspiration to crave cake … and not just ANY cake, but LEMON POPPYSEED!!!
    Cake, cake, cake, cake …..

    • bikerchick57 says:

      CAKE. I am still craving that CAKE. Never should have eaten a piece…or two…or three…of CAKE.

      You’re welcome. :-p

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yup! And now that I’ve read a post about cupcakes, I’m back to the cravings. The salad I’m going to eat for lunch doesn’t sound so inviting all of a sudden.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.