The Trail’s Horizon

The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun. 

~Christopher McCandless~

horizon-trail

For this week’s Daily Post photo challenge, Krista encourages us to think ahead to new horizons and New Year’s resolutions.

I don’t usually make resolutions on January 1st, because they tend to fall away by February or March and then I’m simply bummed and frustrated with a personal lack of dedication. This year, though, I’m going to be daring and hopeful that the Wisconsin winter isn’t frozen-tundra cold and snowy.

I intend to walk all winter long, from now until the first signs of glorious spring in March.

And then I’ll continue walking into summer.

This photo was taken on December 5th, on the Friendship Trail, when there was no wind and it was a balmy 30 degrees F. I had brought the necessary clothing to work and took off at a good pace during lunch time. I completed the normal two-mile distance that I can squeak into 30 or 40 minutes, depending on the willingness of pedestrian foot speed. Some days my feet crank and some days they saunter. Given the coolness of this winter day, the feet cranked.

And it felt good.

Now, if the frigid Arctic/Canadian cold and wind would go away, I could resume this resolution. Forecast calls for even colder weather next week, so I may have to pretend the treadmill at the gym is the Friendship trail and utilize the TV on the wall as my horizon.

Are you thinking of a New Year’s resolution or two? Looking forward to a new horizon in 2017? Or are you content to stay mute and see what happens next?

32 responses to The Trail’s Horizon

  1. Phil Ryan says:

    Good for you, Mary and best of luck with the three ‘w’s – walking, weather and watching. (scenery or wall TV’s). From your photograph it seems, from the straying footprints, someone was watching when they should have been concentrating so go carefully 🙂
    My horizons involve reaching them without any unwanted detours (from my cycling perspective)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Those were not my footprints, Phil. I saw a few human footprints and a set that must have belonged to a dog (no yellow snow, thank goodness). I will be careful, though, as I don’t care to walk in icy conditions. I’ve taken diggers before just getting out of my car, so no thank you.

      I hope your weather allows you to bike. If so, take a few laps for me. I need the exercise.

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    I didn’t think, for a second, they were your prints, Mary, honestly I didn’t – my eloquence escaped some time ago and I’ve yet to round it up. I’m glad you’ve confirmed your tracking abilities though and hope for future tales on your trails showcasing such skills.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Just call me Sacagawea. The wind howls from the north and your eloquence has headed south. The trail heads west, while the dog walks east and then disappears. I shall go in search of its breed…

      or not.

  3. I bundle up and go out whenever I can in the mornings. Of course, that’s when it’s the coldest, but I like to get out before I do other things. Go for it!

    janet

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Every day on my way to work, winter included, I always see two ladies walking a dog at 6:30 a.m. They are pretty dedicated. If the wind stays calm, I can walk in the teens and low 20’s with no problem. Once the wind picks up, that’s it…I’m done.

      • We get a lot of wind here, too, Mary. Some mornings my eyes water and some mornings I wear a scarf around the bottom part of my face. Maybe I need a balaclava. 🙂

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Good luck with this resolution, Mary, it’s a good goal to have. A coworker and I agreed to walk for coffee as long as it wasn’t in the low teens. It was 24 today and he bailed on me because it was windy.

    Will they continue to plow the path?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The village has plowed the path in past winters, so I hope they’ll continue. Otherwise, my resolution will end before it begins. We’re supposed to get 4-5″ of snow on Sunday, so I will have the opportunity soon to check on its condition.

      Did you call your coworker a weenie?

  5. You go girl! I walk inside in the winter, but I’m always in need of getting more steps. We are heading to SC for the month of January which is a big step out of our comfort zone. But, we sure are looking forward to it. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, I would love to be in SC in January. Enjoy the warmth! My girlfriend and I try to go mall walking on weekend mornings since the mall is less than a mile away. Very convenient, but it’s not open early enough on weekdays for me to think about going before work.

  6. joey says:

    I think this is brilliant, and have often thought of it and not done it, so good for you being resolute! The dog and I walk most days. Other days I sleep in, and I really love sleep more than sweating or shivering…so you see, I want to be an all-weather girl, and I kinda am, but I am more Sleeping Beauty than Pocahontas…I see the mail carriers, and I’m like, “If they can do it, I can do it,” but then I remember they get paid. Sometimes it’s downright dangerous to be out too long…It will be good for me to think of you doing it every day. I shall admire your resolution.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I love sleep too, Joey. That’s why I like to walk on my lunch time. I’m usually awake by then!

      Hold off on the admiration. I have to get past the bitter cold that’s predicted for next week. I have my resolution limits, you know!

      • joey says:

        I wish you all the luck! It’s just this week been ACTUAL cold for me. You know, like Midwestern cold. We’re seeing highs in the 20’s and dipping into the teens at night. It’s cold, but not bitter. Not yet.

      • joey says:

        Yikes! *looks up local forecast* Oh, yeah, Wednesday don’t look so nice here…

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    You’d be surprised that if you dressed well for the cold, a walk on even frigid days is quite beautiful. When we were winter hiking, we would draw the line at -20C.
    This morning I was out walking for 90 minutes at -12C windchill and it was great … mind you, walking is the only thing I CAN do right now so if I didn’t walk, I’d go insane.

    Resolutions for 2017? …. so far, it’s just not coming together for me …

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Well, you have inspired me to dress warm and go out in the frigid cold. I do have plenty of long underwear and wooly mittens. The resolution of your family in 2017 should be to not visit the doctor with injured body parts.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Ha! Reminds me of when the boys were little.
        If they were behaving recklessly, I wouldn’t tell them to stop. I simply reminded them that I don’t do hospital emergency rooms and if they got hurt, they were on their own.

        …. I think I’m being punished now for being a *bad* mother :/

      • bikerchick57 says:

        If that’s the case, many parents are being punished for reverse psychology. Isn’t that supposed to be a good thing???

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Well, neither of them are the worst for wear … and they both have a great sense of humour, not to mention, adventure 😉

  8. LB says:

    Keep on walking, Mary! Not for the resolution, but because you love it!
    Winter walking, with the right clothing, is wonderful.
    When I restarted a walk / run routine, not wanting to stop with the colder temps, i reached out to a bunch of women who run for advice. To a woman, they all love winter running / walking and helped me learn what clothes to wear.
    Proud of you, girl!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks