#SoCS: From Where I Sit

From where I sit, I see a prompt, upon the kitchen table

I make coffee caffeinated with milk and sugar maple

Sitting in the dining room, I wonder if I am truly able

To spark a memory from this place that isn’t writing fatal


This room – a place for food, drink and gathering of friends

For charcuterie boards at Christmas and choices that never end

For birthdays shared by neighbors on one chosen weekend

On Thursdays, a recurring lunch date with Natasha girlfriend


The dining table is a gatherer of mail, paper stacks, a laptop

It is a place to pay bills, search the internet and Amazon shop

From a chair close by, I touch blonde wood, a fine tabletop

A space, when not looking, upon which two smug cats hop


Memories of this place blur into a thousand stories

Friends, family, piles of junk, cats, many categories

Heartwarming stories shared by friends over a beer

And now I am done, glad that I remain happily here

In the dining room

At the table

Where I sit


Stream of Consciousness Saturday is the brainchild of author Linda G. Hill. Every Friday, Linda provides her followers with an inspiring blogger’s prompt. It can be a word or words and sometimes bonus points are involved (my favorite). Linda asks us to write without editing, other than correcting spelling errors.

Just go with the flow.

Like a babbling brook or rain drops. Click HERE if this type of writing floats your boat or helps with your decision-making. Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “memories of the room you’re in.” Write about a memory of the room (or park, or gym, or where ever you are) you’re in when you write your post. Enjoy!

20 responses to #SoCS: From Where I Sit

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, so many Beth. I especially love when the table is filled with food and surrounded by friends. That is the best!

  1. murisopsis says:

    Mary I thoroughly enjoyed this poetical review of kitchen/dining room table history of events! I was able to see Gibbs and Hoshi lounging on the table with the sound of the shower in the background and then them scooting off as soon as the water turned off! hehe!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you! Hoshi jumps up on the table right in front of me. Gibbs is more of a gentleman…he waits til I’m in the shower. 😼😄

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Ally. I do have a good and blessed life, due to my people, caffeine, faith, adult refreshment, and so much more.

  2. MR says:

    Yeah, I was wondering how come mine is always scattered with an odd assortment of … well, stuff, while yours is so neat ! :D

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! You should have seen it two days ago…bath towels, a box of something, papers and more papers, the laptop, a cat…😁

  3. J-Dub says:

    Conversation around a dining table is such an iconic image. You painted pictures with your words today.

  4. Shelley says:

    You’re such a clever SoCS poet, nicely done Mary! Cheers to happy moments that create such wonderful memories.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.