SoCS: A Firm Grip

I have a firm grip on blogging

But I don’t

Squeaking in a post, barely time to visit you

I have a firm grip on exercise

But I don’t

Too tired, too lazy, too cold

I have a firm grip on home filing

But I don’t

Piling up in the closet, higher and higher

I have a firm grip on reading

But I don’t

Too many books, the list never-ending

I have a firm grip on chefing

But I don’t

Thank goodness for salad in a bag, for chocolate

I have a firm grip on my cats

But I don’t

They have a firm grip on me, those naughty whiskered ones

I have a firm grip on the road

I do today

The weather is warmer, a whopping thirty-four degrees

Farenheit

I have a firm grip on my Saturdays

But I don’t

There’s always something, today’s no exception

I have a firm grip on this post

But I don’t

I just realized

The Saturday SoCS prompt is not a firm.

It’s affirm.

Affirm is the word.

Damn.

I have a firm grip on prompts

But I don’t

Better luck next time, maybe bonus points



Stream of Consciousness Saturday is the brainchild of author Linda G. Hill. Every Friday, Linda provides her followers with an inspiring blogger’s prompt. It can be a word or words and sometimes bonus points are involved (my favorite). Linda asks us to write without editing, other than correcting spelling errors.

Just go with the flow.

Like a babbling brook, ambling stream or running river. Click HERE if this type of writing floats your boat or helps with your decision-making.

34 responses to SoCS: A Firm Grip

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I’ll slide you a few hundred bonus points for starting my day with a chuckle as you twisted me around st the end.

    Enjoy those tropical 30s – don’t forget your sunscreen.

  2. marianallen says:

    I can affirm you have a firm grip on humor. πŸ˜€ It’s warming up here, but my ankles don’t know it yet. If ankles had hands, they would have a firm grip on a nice pair of fuzzy socks. Thanks for an early morning laugh!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m glad you affirmed enjoyment of this post, Marian. I know what you mean about body parts being cold when their surroundings are not. All we can do is cover them up with warm wooly fuzzy things and hope they comply with the attempts.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I’m lucky to have my bike on an indoor trainer in the basement. I get to spin while watching movies. It’s not the same as being outside, but it’s the next best thing when the weather isn’t good.

  3. Shelley says:

    LOL – great take on the prompt. And yes, a refreshing warm-up in the weather is a welcome site – even if we know there’s no way to keep it here for good, yet…Spring will come though! Enjoy the warmer day while it lasts.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      When I walked outside at 8:30 this morning, I thought about how great it was to have warm weather. I think it must have been only 20 degrees, but still. Then, when I got to church, one of the guys was wearing shorts and flip flops. We celebrate our Wisconsin weather victories oh so strangely!

      • Shelley says:

        LOL – that is too funny, and so true – we do strange things here in Wisconsin!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you! It’s going to be warmer for three days with chances of rain. Then snow. Then more cold, but not quite as severe. The weather around here has a little bit of attention deficit disorder.

  4. JoAnna says:

    A firm grip is over-rated. I can relate to the too many books and exercise. A little progress here and there is good enough, or so I’m telling myself. πŸ™‚

  5. joey says:

    That twist earns you bonus points, I’m sure. I’ve got a firm grip on nothing, but oh my irons is hawt! Life is so busy. So full.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yeah, I hear you on the busy. I am home for a quick bite, then off to see mom. No time for naps or cat cuddling!

      Thanks for the bonus point affirmation. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.