One-Liner Wednesday: Chips and Contradiction

chips

I don’t believe I’ve ever had a chip on my shoulder about anything (I’m not the angry sort), but sometimes you don’t always see the worst of yourself. I’ll have to ask my friends about this, their perception.

I can tell you that I do love a great bag of chips. Salty, crunchy chips. Chips that I can put on a dried beef, lettuce and mayo sandwich. Chips that hold up to shoveling smoked salmon pate or tuna salad. Chips that make so much noise in my ears that I have to turn up the volume of the TV.

Sorry to say, the Schlotzsky chips were not those chips. They were lacking true, crunchy chipdom, even though there was no trans fat or cholesterol, they were cooked in vegetable oil, and not one preservative was added.

Good for Schlotzsky chips, but here is where the contradiction comes into play.

I have not been to a Schlotzsky’s deli in a while. Evidently they made a deal with Cinnabon to share space. You know, the people that make low-cal (*ahem, choke-choke*) cinnamon buns with sugary frosting. I found it strange that a restaurant chain who openly shows the calories of their sandwiches and claims healthy chips will sell an extremely unhealthy dessert to its patrons. It’s a bit offensive, a bit irresponsible, a bit contradictory.

Enough, perhaps, to grow a chip on my shoulder?

I must go out to the pantry, grab my favorite bag of thinly sliced potatoes and ponder.


This post has been brought to you by teeth and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

15 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Chips and Contradiction

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I wouldn’t carry a chip on my shoulder, but an uncrunchy potato chip is a huge disappointment. And what’s with the bag of “Low Salt” chips on the shelves? Why are they allowed to take space away from salty chips? The perfect chip is thin, but able to withstand the pressure of scooping whatever I’m dipping them in. Greta one-liner, Mary – now I’m hungry.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Mmmm…what Dan? Mmmm..can’t hear you over the crunching…Mmmm.

      (Yes, potato chips can be for breakfast too. Just dip ’em in a little peanut butter.)

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    Oh those chips!
    (Sorry in England ‘chips’ are ‘fries’ so I spent the first paragraph lip licking and paragraphs 2 and 3 wondering what calamity had called over Christmas. Now I understand. And share Dan’s hunger.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    So you have the double whammy of loves – sugar AND salt.
    I am so, so, so, so, so, so glad I never acquired a taste for salty things.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s only potato chips and french fries that require salt. Otherwise, I prefer different herbs and seasonings on the rest of my food. I’m not a table salter either. Usually, my salt cravings are the worst right after the holidays…when I’ve overloaded on sweet treats.

  4. joey says:

    I’m not a chip person. Very rarely I eat chips, and that’s with a pastrami sammich and a kosher dill pickle 🙂 And when I do eat chips, I like only traditional Lay’s or Kettle brand. That’s it. No flavor kind, and definitely not Pringles. *hork*
    I’m a pretzel person 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m not a fan of flavored chips or Pringles either. But not a huge fan of pretzels, unless they are the Glutino skinny sticks.

  5. delightful post. delightful debate.
    I am a true addict (um, as are you…the turning up the TV when you crunch gave you away)
    When I had to go gluten free for a while I was in trouble because I discovered Fritos and Cheetos…disgusting…in an orange finger sort of way.
    But potato chips, actually for me, potatoes in any form, are a part of my cellular history (nearly 100% Irish) and I crave them every day.
    Dang. Now I have to go find some crispy hashbrowns for breakfast!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve been buying Good Health potato chips, made with avocado oil and sea salt. They’re yummy and I don’t feel guilty. Stay away from the Cheetos! They will assimilate you, as they tried with me. I was fortunate to escape.

  6. Great. I’ve just had dinner but now I want chips. But I’m not interested in sharing so I might have to sneak out of the house. (I don’t know if I should admit that I can eat a 200g bag in one sitting…..)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think you just did…admitted to chip gratification. The chips that I eat? Could eat the whole bag and lick the salt out of the bottom of the bag…I’ve had to hold myself back on many occasions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.