Football Photobombing

“Photobombing is the act of accidentally or purposely putting oneself into the view of a photograph, often in order to play a practical joke on the photographer or the subjects. Photobombing has received significant coverage since 2009. In discussing a “stingray photobomb” picture that went viral Andrea DenHoed suggests that the photobomb label “implies a narrative of surreptitious sabotage,” although in the sense of unintended and/or initially unnoticed people in the background of spoiled photographs, photobombs have existed for much of the history of photography.”

So says Wikipedia.

Green Bay Packer quarterback Aaron Rodgers is great at photobombing his teammates during photo ops. Case in point…

aaron-rodgers-photobomb

He’s also photobombed his girlfriend, Olivia Munn, and celebrities at the Oscars.

aaron_rodgers_e_022916

There are times when I like to emulate the people I have a fangirlie addiction to admire. So it was on Christmas Eve, when the brother asked his girlfriend to take a photo of the back of his custom-made Packer jersey while holding up a beer at the local sports bar/tap room (and while watching the Packers beat the Minnesota Vikings).

img951213

I couldn’t help myself.

It was the right thing to do.


For non-Packer/football fans, the team has a player whose name is Ha-Ha Clinton Dix. His real name is Ha’Sean Treshon Clinton Dix. “Ha-Ha” is a nickname given to him by his grandmother.


My brother and I have the same warped sense of humor.

16 responses to Football Photobombing

  1. Dan Antion says:

    That’s perfect. Your admiration for the Packers in infectious. I have never really rooted for any team other than the Steelers, but – unless the Steelers are playing Green Bay – I’m pulling for them to win. I want a rematch of 2011 (I just want it to end differently)

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    Or, ‘Ho Ho’ as he’s known at this time of year.
    It was the right thing to do, Mary, well done and if your brother wasn’t in a ha ha mood as a consequence he should have marshalled his (insert suitable football reference, like defence, quarter back… I’ve nearly used all the ones I know up) better to prevent your… Touchdown!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m sure Ho-Ho gets teased unmercilessly this time of year by his teammates. As for my brother, he has to roll with my tackles of goofiness since I gave him a place to stay over the holiday. Or face a penalty.

  3. joey says:

    It’s essential to photobomb those in our inner circle. I think it’s one of those things that helps us remember great times, too.
    I have a really great photo of my kids smiling over a table full of food, and the reason their smiles are so big and happy is because the restaurant owner had stopped to photobomb my first shot. None of us will forget that day 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The restaurant owner had a wonderful sense of humor which turned into a great memory and photo for your family. Is the restaurant and owner still around?

      • joey says:

        Oh yes, this was just a few months ago. We go there fairly often, I’d say 5-6 times a year. The restaurant owner is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

