Bonus Points

bonus2n.

“An additional point in a game, a sporting competition, or any similar scheme in which points can be awarded.”


Have you ever thought about the ways in which humans reap bonus points in our daily existence? Here are a few examples:

  • Playing Yahtzee. If you roll a second Yahtzee in a game, and you scored your first Yahtzee in the Yahtzee box, you would score a further bonus 100 points in the Yahtzee box. (Got that?)
  • Placing the letters s-q-u-e-e-z-e across a triple word score on the Scrabble board.
  • The “point after” kick in football or the “nothing-but-net” foul points in basketball.
  • Accumulation of airplane miles.
  • Spending lots of money with a credit card (translates into those airplane miles).
  • Spending lots of money so you can get a card punched (after 20 punches, which equates to $200, you get a $5.00 credit).
  • Spending lots of money staying at a hotel.
  • Knowing the answer to the Daily Double on Jeopardy.
  • Writing a blog post that is so fabulous and note-worthy that a fellow blogger awards you many virtual bonus points that give you a puffy virtual chest on which to pin your shiny virtual medal.

In regard to the previous sentence, I give bonus points to bloggers for awesome posts. Just ask Dan. I recently gave him a good 50-year supply of bonus points for mentioning and giving respect to the Green Bay Packers in a post about football, beer and wings.  If Dan would have mentioned gray cats and orange bicycles in the same post, he might have broke the bank.

Maybe next time.


Q: Who on earth came up with bonus points?

A: I don’t know.

Wikipedia does not have a “bonus points” page. Searches for “the history of bonus points” or “who created bonus points” only compiled a list of companies who offer rewards for being a good, spending customer. Wikipedia did have a page on loyalty marketing, but it didn’t say much and I’m not writing a post about the loyal Kohl’s shopper. I simply want to give you the bonus points you deserve. I want to be the waitress who gives you a free chocolate dessert because of your pleasant demeanor and for being patient while the chef re-cooks the medium-rare steak that was burned to a well done crisp. I want to be the pants pocket that releases the twenty-dollar bill you forgot about last winter. I want to be the boss that gives you the afternoon off for doing a fabulous job on an important project.

I want to give you the reward of bonus points.


bonus1

Why, yes! Yes, you do Dr. House! And so does everyone else.

Q: How do I win bonus points?

A: What do you mean? Weren’t you paying attention? I give them for awesome blog posts.

Q: How do I win bonus points NOW? Right here and NOW? 

A: Oh, you’re one of those…

For the instant gratification people, or simply to play along in good spirit, here’s how you win bonus points today, right here and right now. No waiting.

  • COMMENT

That’s it. All you have to do is comment at the end of this post. Say anything you want. Funny, sad or stupid. Share your favorite quote or piece of trivia. Tell me about the weather or the new pair of shoes you bought on sale. Tell me how much you hate liver and waiting in line. Anything. All comments will receive bonus points based on absolutely no criteria, but subject to mood and/or level of giving spirit.

What? You thought there would be something more to earning bonus points?

Nope, I only want to reward your comments.

On the other hand, you could do a headstand or a cartwheel, I suppose. That’s worth 50 points.

extra bonus

Don’t hurt yourself.

31 responses to Bonus Points

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Wait, I can get bonus points for saying something stupid? Talk about breaking the bank.

    I love Bonus Points. I don’t know about forever and history and stuff, but I think for blogging, Linda G. Hill started them with her #SoCS prompts. “Bonus points if you start and end your post with…”

    Your bonus points are the best, but…you didn’t let people know that you also subtract bonus points. Well, you kinda did with the gray cat reference, but I recall actually losing hundreds of bonus points. So, just in case, graycatPackersOrangeBicycleMotorcycleBeer

    AND, because I do so love bonus points, a Sunday review poem, just for you today!

    The Packers had the game in hand
    Rodgers tossed to end-zone land
    The Steelers, over on the coast
    Forgot to score when needed most

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Talking stupid is the best. We don’t do it enough for fear we’ll look…ummm…stupid. Oh, who cares?

      I was going to give you one million bonus points for everything you mentioned, but the poem is still under review by the football commissioner. I’ll be back later with a decision. You may also be facing a penalty for the mention of bonus point subtraction. That was supposed to be a secret, inflicted on the unsuspecting.

      For now, I’ll borrow you 500 points until we get this figured out.

      • Dan Antion says:

        Ha ha – you are so tough. Getting a bonus point from you is extra special. No doubt, the NFL will give me a 2-4 game suspension.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Upon further review, the NFL commish could not decide if you intentionally inflated your poetic license. There will be no suspension. The commish likes the poem and so do I. You get 3 bonus points from the Steelers (they are so stingy), 34 bonus points from the Packers, 1,000 bonus points from the Commish and 1,500 bonus points from me. You got off easy.

      • Dan Antion says:

        Phew…I was worried that I was going to be looking at: “blah blah no portion of this broadcast blah blah blah” Thanks!

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Bonus points?! Now my competitive spirit has just reared its ugly head. Pick me!!

    Assume you can hear me singing Happy Birthday to you …. me. singing. that’s worth a point. or two.

    🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I can hear you! I can hear you!

      1,000 bonus points to the operatic diva of Canada! While Theo runs for silent cover, the rest of us are giving you a standing ovation. Bravo!

  3. joey says:

    Bonus points are good. I’d like some.

    I’m not sure how long you’ve been reading me, but I have several posts about my father-in-law’s cat Casey, who used to be our cat, because she used to be my friend’s cat, but she got allergic…anyway, Casey Kitty is a gray tabby cat with white socks and beautiful green eyes and a pink nose and I’m certain she would like you.
    I even have a post about bicycles. I think maybe even two. Not too sure.
    I do not have a post about football. It is unlikely that I will ever receive bonus points on anything related to football. I bet I could search ‘football’ in my blog and my blog would say there are no posts that match that term. That being said, I’m still American, and a Midwesterner at that, so I know Packers fans are fiercely loyal and also, not bothered by Wisconsin winters. I probably like fans a lot more than football.

    I love Kohl’s. I sometimes use my Kohl’s card just to get additional discounts and then literally go home and pay the bill 🙂 One time, I got Moo’s special fancy $80 running shoes for $36 because of bonus points.
    I love Scrabble, I play every day 🙂

    Also, this post just reminded me that I haven’t played Yahtzee in so long, I don’t remember how to play!
    One time, my husband and I bought a cribbage board at a yard sale, went home, and realized neither of us remembered how to play. This seems to be a running theme with us. Tripoly, Rummikub, Rook… we forget.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t remember the Casey Kitty posts, so I must be a “newbie” to your blog. I will have to go search. 2,500 bonus points for mentioning a cat.
      No points for not being sure about the bicycle post.
      -10 bonus points for football barrenness; however, you get 500 bonus points for being an American and liking fans.
      30% off and a $10 coupon for mentioning Kohl’s.
      50 points for scoring a bargain with Moo’s shoes.
      25 points for paying off your bill right away.
      300 points if you make a triple word score today while playing Scrabble.
      What constitutes a Yahtzee? 600 points if you can answer without looking it up.
      +100 bonus points for joining me in the CYS department, if only for a day.
      500 additional bonus points will be awarded if you can tally up all of your bonus points in 5 seconds.
      Go!

      • joey says:

        I can’t math, but I’m feelin good 😀

        I like CYS more than football. I almost wrote that I’d prefer sittin through three hours of my in-laws’ fundamentalist church better than I’d like watchin a football game, so CYS is NO problem, lol!
        🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        That’s funny. I ditched a meeting at church to watch the first game of the season with friends. To each their own.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You receive 2,500 bonus points for reading this post same day and 7,500 points for the double time zone birthday wishes. Oh, and 10,000 bonus points for your continued snarky comments on all of my posts…because I love them.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Okay, I’ll give you another bonus point, H. That makes 20,001 total points for your comments and for the deletion of an S (which might have earned you 2 points if you had not messed up).

      • Sweet! And, if I can get my act together tomorrow (because it’s 11.15pm and I’m not writing it now), there may even be a post with a bike in it on its way. (And if I happen to mention the local footy club, I could cover the football and cat requirements in one hit.)

      • bikerchick57 says:

        It helps to mention football, but there are so many other things…chocolate, food, chocolate, scrapbooking, chocolate, church stuff, chocolate, theater stuff, chocolate…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Awesome. I’ll be waiting with baited breath to see what you come up with. Hopefully, I remember to check it out later rather than two days from now. Either way, I see more bonus points in your future.

  4. M-R says:

    I hope people gave you lots of these for your birthday, M-J … [grin]

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have a wealth of bonus points in family and friends, M-R. For being one of my best bonuses, you get 1,000,000 points. Spend them as you see fit. 😸

  5. dweezer19 says:

    Bonus points? They’re like thinking you have emptied the giant bag of dark chocolate baking chips and finding one last chip stuck in the bottom corner, waiting just for YOU!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.