Morning Quest

Weekly Photo Challenge: “What are you in search of? Capture a quest with your camera.”

biketowork

(Apologies to my Facebook friends. You’ve seen this already. It’s Tuesday old and the fog has since lifted.)

Ever since the Town of Grand Chute finished a walk/bike trail last fall, it’s been my quest to ride it to work in the morning during nice weather. I was only able to use the trail once last fall before the weather turned cold and the mornings became too dark for a bike without lights. This past summer, I rode the trail many times, at least once or twice a week, as long as the forecast didn’t include rain or gusty, in-your-face winds. And as long as I didn’t need a vehicle for an appointment across town or after-work shopping excursion.

All in all, it was a good summer for morning quests. And afternoon quests. And weekend quests.

I am blessed to have so many trails at my disposal – not only in the cities in which I live, work and play, but also within the State of Wisconsin. I’m not sure what led to this other than the fact that bicycling has become a very popular extracurricular activity…and with a growing community and traffic pattern, it’s often more relaxing than being bumper to bumper and yelling “use your gas pedal, dammit,” at the slow-poke driver ahead.

Plus, one burns calories on a bicycle. You know…the ones eaten the day before when a co-worker brings in cake pops and cookies.

Although I may not have gone on as many bicycle quests this past summer as someone obsessed would have wanted, I did put respectable mileage on those rubber hybrid tires. I couldn’t tell you how many miles were ridden (the battery died on my wireless odometer and it took me a while to replace), but it felt like a good chunk. It felt like I did my best to utilize those pedals whenever possible. It felt like I made the best use of the days available for me and my two-wheeled compadre.

This past Tuesday’s morning ride may have been foggy and a little cool, but itย did not matter. At this point of the year, I’ll take my quests any way and any day I can get them.

19 responses to Morning Quest

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love this photo, and I’m glad to see it again and to read more about what it means. I have yet to get on my bike this year. The neck and shoulder pain seems to be waiting for me to make the attempt. I also have a different morning duty to perform when I’m home. Maddie and I have our walks ๐Ÿ™‚ I have some vacation days in October, and I am going to try to get on the Canal Trail. I don’t want to go a year without that ride.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Dan. As I stand at my computer tonight because my low back is biting…I feel your pain. The painful physical stuff sucks, especially when you want to do things like biking. Fortunately, you can go for walks with Maddie any time. Would she run alongside your bike if you took her to the Canal Trail? Or is that too much for her?

  2. joey says:

    Sometimes, I’m whispering now, sometimes, your bicycle posts ALMOST inspire me to cycle. But then I remember that the city streets are downright dangerous and my butt always hurts and the mood passes.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m happy to inspire, Joey, but I would not bike on busy streets either. I cross one major road on my work bike trips and that is enough excitement for me.

      As for the butt thing, I completely understand. It takes a few trips every spring to get over it.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I envy your easy access to so many wonderful trails. I certainly understand your desire – no, need – to get out on those 2 wheels as often as possible. The fall is the best time of year for cycling. With any luck, there will be several more weeks ahead of us to get some bike time in.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I was hoping for a fall excursion and it may come the end of this next week. The highs will be in the 70’s on Thursday and Friday. I may need to take a day off for me and my bike. We’re behind on the leaves changing colors, but I think I can let that go.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Like you, I’m trying to figure out when I can get out this week while the weather is still nice ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. It really is a fabulous photo. I’d love to follow your lead but a) I have two children to drop off at bus stops and schools on my way to work. And no, I don’t want a bike like the Goodies; and b) I live on top of a hill. A big hill. A it-takes-twenty-times-longer-to-get-up-it-as-come-down-it hill. This has caused other problems which will be revealed anon.

    One day I hope to retire somewhere flat.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks