What the Heck?

Since the story of my Saturday visit with mom is currently a disjointed mess, I thought I would give you a silly reason to like or comment or simply consider me daft.

Last week, I became the possessor of two new toys at work. I love them both.

This is one of those toys:

Ergo Wedge 1

I am not going to reveal the second toy until you answer the question:


“What the heck?”


Without searching the internet, tell me why I purchased this object. How will I use it?

What the heck is this contraption?

(I will not immediately respond to your guess in order to allow everyone a fair response. Whoever guesses correctly will get a reblog, a link to their blog, a “follow” or a paper clip from my desk drawer.)

20 responses to What the Heck?

  1. Relax says:

    Hmmm.. Well, apparently that blue bull (a visual reminder of the need for an energy drink of a different color bull, sometimes) is unwelcomed, so whenever you’re feeling blah in that mid-afternoon slump, and since you forgot to pack an energy drink, you can lock and load this Blah Deflector and, with either the lever or by voice command, you can blast that Blah Blue completely out of your sight.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I certainly wish this was a Blah Deflector today. I’m having a lunchtime slump, which means I may be in trouble by mid afternoon.

  2. joannesisco says:

    There’s no trigger, so I had to rule out a phaser … although that would be totally cool if it was because I want one too … there are people who need zapping.

    So my guess is some kind of light – maybe a strobe or black light,

    … or a phone speaker. A phone speaker with a strobe light in it. Have to admit it would make conference calls a LOT more interesting ….

    How many guesses can I make? I’m sure I can think of more ….

      • joannesisco says:

        Well, you did say it was a toy, so I’m going to rule out anything office-y like a tape dispenser

        …. although having said that, I’m the post-it note queen and I could see this as an interesting post-it note dispenser.

  3. bikerchick57 says:

    Odd that the first two comments included words like “blast,” “blah,” “phaser” and “trigger.” Not having a good Monday peeps?

  4. 3M makes post it notes. Is it a post it note shredder equipped with wifi? The super-deluxe model that you can program so that it alerts you to incoming bosses or office gossips? Hm? Do I win? Hmmm?

  5. Dan Antion says:

    No clue. I’m guessing that the clear-ish plastic part is a safety guard of some sort. Maybe a sonic stapler.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      With all of the available technology, you would think someone would make a stapler than works all the time and never jams. But no, they can be so wonderful and so miserable. Geesh. [end of rant\]

  6. Pfft. Who wouldn’t know a portable tractor beam emitter when they saw one? Pfft, I say (again). Why get out of your chair for the next cup of coffee when you can have it beamed to your desk?

    I’m still trying to find time to spend with my last paper clip so I magnanimously bestow my prize on the runner up.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Tractor beam emitter? Just give me a replicator. I can replicate a cup of coffee, a danish and a cute, single man who will serve it to me.

      • Nah. They’re no good. Can’t even make a decent cup of tea. Just ask Arthur Dent. If it can’t make decent tea, I’d be concerned about the quality of man you’d get out of one of those things.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        That’s true. I’d probably end up with a slimy alien that sucks the life out of me. Yuck.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ms. Alcatt, you win my deepest admiration for being truthful.

      (I know, you would rather have chocolate, right?)

Leave a Reply

