It is not a Phaser

Nope, it’s not.

Nor is it a strobe light phone speaker.

Nor a blah blaster, sonic stapler or a portable tractor beam emitter.

A Post-it note dispenser was close and a good guess, but why would anyone need a dispenser for something that sticks to everything?

I will pause so you can think about that for a minute.

Anyhow…

The “What the Heck?” office “toy” is:

3m copy holder

Introducing 3M’s Document Wedge, otherwise known as a copy holder.

Fooled you all, except now I really want it to be a kill-that-centipede phaser or a mid-afternoon slump blaster or a bring-me-a-cup-of-coffee tractor beam. Because any one of those items would up my coolness factor by 200%.

I did have an every-day, normal copy holder that worked just fine until my other cool, ergonomic work item arrived and was installed.

Quickstand

For many months I have been “toying” with the idea of requesting a sit/stand workstation due to back issues and the pleasantries of an aging body. Having the ability to stand at the computer throughout the day, rather than sit hunched over the keyboard, was an inviting prospect. So, I checked out information and reviews on the internet (largely positive), talked to the office furniture vendor, and emailed with another employee who was already using the workstation.  Physical issues notwithstanding, being able to sit AND stand at the computer during the work day is much better for the human body than just sitting and slumping. I have done the latter for almost 40 years. It was time for a change.

I’ve been working toward a healthier physical me the last few years with regular visits to the chiropractor, massage therapist, physical therapist and the gym to keep back issues from giving total grief to my well-being. At work, I also wanted the physical situation to be the best it can be. I have a great ergonomic chair and practice the knowledge and advice given to other employees when I complete health and safety assessments. (You would not believe some of the crazy situations I’ve come across in employees’ offices with ill-fitted chairs, old crappy desks, and monitors perched so high they almost touch the clouds.)  When I finally saw an opportunity to request the sit/stand workstation, I did not hesitate and it was graciously approved by an understanding boss.

I have been using this new workstation for a little over a week and I can say that I love it. I love being able to stand and type at will and get off my bum at various times during the day. I feel a little less like a slothy lump and a little more like a GI Jane action figure. I would recommend the sit/stand workstation to anyone and everyone, even those in peak physical condition. It makes a world of difference.

There was one little issue, though – where to put the existing copy holder that didn’t fit on the platform. I soon decided that I needed something else, a copy holder that didn’t take up too much space, but still did a good job of holding up a piece of paper or two or three. After searching Staples and Office Depot and the internet, I found the handy dandy little 3M Wedge. It’s working like a charm so far, plus my fingers get a workout every time I press the little clamp that holds the paper in place.

Since no one guessed the use of this object on “What the Heck?” there will be no paper clips awarded. I know that MOSY is breathing a sigh of relief, although she really didn’t come close. The best sensible guess was from Joanne, with Post-It notes, but I preferred her original strobe phone speaker theory. Everyone’s guess was hilariously wonderful and the geek in me enjoyed the Star Trek references.

WeyounSpeaking of Star Trek, did you know that the actor who played Weyoun in Deep Space Nine, Jeffrey Combs, also played various other characters on DS9, Voyager and Enterprise (the prequel)? Natasha and I were watching Enterprise on Netflix last night, and he showed up as a blue-skinned Andorian.  We almost simultaneously said, “Hey, it’s Weyoun!” He’s been fairly active as an actor since then and he’s recently turned up on the TV series Gotham. We spotted him there too. We are both hopeless Star Trek nerds.

Getting back on topic and putting an end to this post: I appreciate all of the comments that were made on “What the Heck?” My intent is to re-blog a post for each and every one who commented on that post over the next few days so that I can share the marvel that is you. If you would like me to reblog a specific post, please post a link in the comment section. If you are bashful and wish to stay anonymous, let me know and I’ll let you stay in the shadows.

Thanks for reading and participating and allowing me to share the new “toys.”  It’s been a stand-up good time.

15 responses to It is not a Phaser

  1. joannesisco says:

    LIke … that would have totally been my next guess 😉

    I’ve heard great things about those stand-up stations. I wish I had one in my home … the dining room table is a horrible office place!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know, I have to work on my home situation too. I need an actual computer chair, not a dining room chair and a pillow. Better luck next time with your guesses!

  2. My desk is a folding table in front of a recliner chair and when I’m working I look like Quasimodo’s Grandma. I have a desk but it’s, you know, not in front of the TV.

    You should reblog the paper clip story so people will click on the link to your blog and then they’ll click back to mine and then to yours again and so on and we would then start a time loop that would have us both back in our 20s in no time. Cool, huh?

    Pick your favourite. Or none. This was fun. I don’t need quid pro quo.

    PS Cool desk, GI Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I always need to have the computer near a TV, so I can reblog posts about paper clips while watching reruns of NCIS. It’s important! It appears you, Joanne and I need to fix our home computer situations before we turn into a none super power typing trio.

  3. Never in a million years, would I have guessed a document holder. But you knew that. I’m delighted to hear that it’s working for you. I’ve been intrigued by the concept, having also spent 40 years at a desk.

    This was fun. Do another one, huh?

  4. Relax says:

    I should’ve guessed it, as I am a former office person, but anyway — how handy!

  5. We have a few people who do the standing work station thing. I just don’t know if I could stand all day like that.

    Fellow Star Trek nerd here.

  6. LB says:

    Well, I sure missed out on some fun, didn’t I? I would not have guessed, that is for sure, but I enjoyed reading the follow up post.
    I’m so glad you like your stand up computer station! What a great idea!
    Good for you for taking care of YOU!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It seems to me that you are having your own kind of fun. Thanks for taking the time to come by, Laurie, when you are so busy with your campaign and life in general. Have a great Memorial Day weekend!

  7. I’ve thought about a standing desk for a while, or one that fits over a treadmill. They have those, too. Everyone I know who’s tried them say good things. Thanks for this additional motivation. I’m glad this is working for you.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Andra, I was at computer training today and wanted to stand up several times during the three hours of sitting. My new toy makes me want to stand throughout the day because it starts to feel natural. I think you should try it.

Leave a Reply

