Life, Death, Resurrection

Life

Bitterroot. Surprise Lilies. Two plants in nature that know resurrection. Both deliver leaves in early spring, then die back. 

Dead as a doornail…or so it seems.

Two or three months later, a stem of the bitterroot and surprise lily sprouts from the ground and pretty white, pink or purple flowers come to life. Resurrection of a sort. I suppose you can say that the plant never really died, it simply found new life after a long nap. Scientifically, both allow their leaves to die back so that in drought, it can save whatever energy remains for budding flowers. Spiritually, it is a wonder of God’s beautiful gift of life – for all that is in this world. 

Death

I lost a dear friend last week to a massive heart attack. Unexpected. Gary was only 80, a wonderful, laid-back, happy guy. I met Gary and his wife, Margie, about 47 years ago, when my then husband introduced me to them. The ex-husband and Gary have been friends since grade school and their friendship continued to the day Gary left us. Upon arriving at Gary and Margie’s home for the first time, I was met outside by a smiling black dog, and inside by a couple who instantly felt like a favorite worn pair of jeans and a warm, fuzzy sweatshirt. Friends forever. Over the years, Gary and Margie have been kind, welcoming, and a joy to be with. Gary had an infectious smile and laugh, and would have given the shirt off his back if I had ever asked. I had thoughts of going to visit both of them (they are about a 90 minute drive away) the last two summers, but then busyness and time and excuses got the better of me. Now I sit here, feeling sad and guilty that I didn’t make a better effort. It’s difficult to talk to someone when they are not physically present.

Do you have friends or family that you haven’t visited for a long time? Make plans now because I regret the days I could have gone and did not.

Resurrection

This is Holy Week for Christians around the world. Jesus’ life, death and resurrection. It was his death that gave us grace, mercy, forgiveness and a resurrected life in heaven.

When mom was still living, in the throes of her dementia, she asked me a concerning question. This is an approximation of our conversation:

“Do you have a dictionary?”

“Yes, mom, why?”

“I want you to look up heaven and hell.”

“Why do you want me to do that?”

“I want to know if heaven really exists.”

“What makes you think it doesn’t?”

“Because I can’t see it. I can’t see Evan (my dad) or all the other people who are supposed to be up there.”

“I think they are too far away, mom. We can’t see them from here, we can only feel their spirit.”

“Oh…well, look it up anyhow. I want to know.”

By the following week, mom forgot about her question, but it stuck with me as an example of the times we question where our spirit goes in death. Mom’s dementia allowed doubt to seep in for a time and then it let her forget. I have not lost faith in God, but still wonder why He took Gary away from his wife of 55 years and all of the friends and family that loved him deeply. Was it so Gary could be with his mom and step-dad? Was it to spare him something more painful to come? Why didn’t Gary or his doctor know he was ill? There is not an answer here, only God’s promise that we have a life of grace in the present and everlasting life when we die.

Friend Margie gave me a resurrection (surprise) lily many years ago which, in turn, I gave to mom and dad to plant against the west-facing wall of their house. The lily delivered as expected: Green leaves in spring, white flowers in July. Pretty. When mom and dad sold their house, the new owners immediately surrounded the house with landscaping rock and covered up the lilies. They would not rise again, much to dad’s consternation. He loved the lilies, as did I. Perhaps I will find them at a greenhouse this spring and plant lilies in the butterfly garden this summer – resurrect a unique flower and a few beloved memories.

Jesus gave his life willingly at the request of his Father. Horrifically and painfully. To save us from ourselves, our sin, our doubt. Jesus’ mother lost a son, but in resurrection, the world gained the light of hope and a forever forgiveness with no strings attached. Nothing, not even landscaping rock or a massive stone, could prevent Jesus from rising for his people.

Epilogue

Yes, life continues. From the flowers that bloom in spring, to the baby robins in their mother’s nest, to the humans that continue to habit planet Earth. If bitterroot and surprise lilies can survive in drought conditions, then we can overcome our own hardships and losses with determination and never-ending faith that God is with us…always.

Yes, death comes eventually. We were never created to live forever, only to find our best life and share the grace, mercy and forgiveness afforded by a savior. Pray that in death we leave a legacy of love and are remembered for a kind heart and infectious laugh. Our people will mourn for us, but we will finally understand true peace in a life after life. 

Yes, mom, there is a place for you above the clouds. You are there now, telling Jesus how to do things right, asking for a brandy manhattan, and hanging out with dad. Gary is there, as are a few other friends and family that hold a memorable place in my heart. No need for a dictionary or deeper meaning. God can succinctly relay the definition of heaven and life everlasting to whoever needs to hear, at the time they most desperately need to hear it.

31 responses to Life, Death, Resurrection

  1. I am sorry for your loss. I lost a friend last week as well. It hurts, and it’s like a person cut a piece of your life’s pie out and it will never be filled again. I’m thankful for good memories, but they’re not quite the same as a good conversation, smile, and hug. Take care, and Happy Easter.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Tough week for both of us, Judy. So very sorry you also lost a friend, Judy. I truly wish I had seen Gary in the past year, but I suppose this is a wake-up call to keep friends and family close and ensure I plan times for in-person hugs.

  2. lois says:

    I am so sorry, Mary. For you losing your mom and Gary and even the lily. Thinking about all those losses, even years later, still hurts. I hope you can find some comfort. ❤

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I talked to my friend Margie on Tuesday and that brought comfort that she was doing better, at least on that day. We will be making plans for me to pay her a visit in the next month of two. This time, I will look into her eyes, tell her I love her, and give the biggest hug ever.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I am sorry for the loss of your friend, Mary, but I deeply appreciate this post.
    You covered a lot of ground. I enjoyed reading, and I feel better having read it. Spring always shows us how nature returns life to the dormant plants and how new life is created around us. It is a powerful reminded of the true spirit of the season.

    I hope you have a wonderful Easter!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks, Dan, for your sympathy and kind words. Holy week is always a reflective one for me, this year especially with the loss of a friend. There is a new season upon us, one of growth in nature and hope for a better future. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Dan.

  4. A beautiful post, Mary. This is the time to remember those who have gone before us. The idea of having memories of them is what immortal is all about. I’m sorry for your loss but I’m sure Gary does not want you to feel guilty over not making a visit. I think he enjoyed the words you said about the relationship. I know Jesus welcomes your sentiments too. We remember Jesus and his sacrifice and he is immortal just like your family and Gary. Wishing you a peaceful Easter weekend.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      John, thank you for your thoughtful, sympathetic words, especially in reminding me that our spirits remain immortal in death…and the memories of those who remain as well. Have a wonderful Easter weekend.

  5. quiall says:

    What a lovely post! I can see both my parents sharing a cup coffee or an adult beverage with your parents in Heaven. That’s why I believe.

  6. murisopsis says:

    Mary I love the way this post went from Life to Death to Resurrection and to Life Eternal. I’m so sorry your friend has left this life but that promise of everlasting life is a wonderful thing and I’m sure your friend and you mom and dad are in paradise! Holy week is here and you are not alone in your introspection. 🙏🏻💔🙏🏻🌞🕊

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I envision myself, when the day comes, meeting up with mom and dad and having honest and heartfelt conversations with them. The thought of everlasting life takes away some of the fear of dying, although I have many more years that I want to be alive. Maybe outlive 99-year old mom? 😊

  7. Herman says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your good friend. But your beautiful and heartwarming post moved me a lot, Mary. Your view on life, death and resurrection made me sit down and think about my own situation and what happened the last 10 years. Thanks for posting this beautiful post.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you, Herman. I am touched that my writing touched your heart. I am coming up on 14 years post divorce and I can say that life has greatly changed for the better, even with the loss of parents and friends. I am grateful for all of God’s blessings. Hugs and love to you, Herman.

  8. As the body gets frailer and stops working right (I’m 74), and the messes in the world seem insoluble and affect so many innocents, I keep thinking there HAS to be.

    I’m so sorry you lost your friend – it’s happening too frequently here, where I live, in the retirement community, too.

    I look forward to seeing them all again, and meeting the many I never did. Happy Easter!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Alicia, I will be 67 this year and I pray that I can keep going, keep biking, well into my 70’s. Some days I’m not certain, but I know that when we lose part of our life, God fills it in with someone or something else. I pray you see all of your friends and family when the time comes.

      • Thanks – you, too.

        I lost most of my life at 40, when I contacted ME/CFS. I thought I could exercise my way to a ‘good’ old age – turns out that you can’t get rid of physical illnesses with mental effort.

        But I’ve discovered that the writing I was going to do ‘in retirement’ was something I could do a bit sooner, and, though I’m pitifully slow, Pride’s Children is my pride and joy, and my shot at legacy. I’m working on the final trilogy volume, LIMBO, as I type. Just hope it gets finished before I do. 🙂

  9. MR says:

    I have no intention of reducing the importance of your posting about your wonderful friend, M-J; but the fact is that when you write about your mother, all else fades. I will never forget your (award-winning) post called “What time is it ?”: it was one of the most touching tributes to familial love I’ve ever read.

    How proud of you your mum must have been, before that cruel, cruel ailment took her !

    How proud I am to be your friend for all these years – even though we have never met and never will !

    I too lost a very, very dear friend last November – she was 67, and lung cancer got her, too. Now she and Chic are in the same place (wherever that is), and can compare notes !

    • bikerchick57 says:

      M-R, I think of my mom often, how our relationship became one of so much love in between the sadness. The “What Time is it” post was one of those pivotal moments during her journey with dementia. It was a blessing when her spirit went to be with dad, her mom and dad, and her 12 siblings. What a joyous day!

      I am also proud to be friends with you. You are one of a kind and I wish it was possible for me to travel to Australia. Would love nothing more to commiserate with you (maybe swear a bit), solving the world’s issues over a cup of tea. Love you! ❤️

  10. Shelley says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your dear friend, Gary. You know both losses, sudden and long and slow like your mom’s passing. Neither one is easy and as you wisely said, they both end up in the same place and in the comfort of peace that has been promised to us. Those left behind carry the burden of hurt until we too find our way to the peace. Your thoughts are lovely and heart warming. Thank you for sharing how your grief is a lesson for us all. 🤗

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Shelley, thank you for your caring and understanding words. There is truth that we carry the burden of hurt when friends and family go before us. It helps us to navigate life, learn resilience in heartbreak and motivates us to always lean into the promise of heaven.

  11. JoAnna says:

    I’m sorry you and the world lost Gary’s physical presence. Thank you for sharing a bit of his legacy with us. I’m reminded of the times I talked to my sister on the phone about coming to California to visit her. I did not know how serious her COPD was, then she was gone. We so often think we will have more time. But I’m thankful for the time we’ve had with those we’ve loved. Sometimes I can feel or imagine them looking over my shoulder and what they might say – that it’s okay. Thank you for writing so beautifully from your heart about these meaningful things and the lilies that reminded me of resurrection fern. Sending hugs.

  12. Ally Bean says:

    My condolences about your friend suddenly departed, yet fondly remembered. What a bittersweet memory of your mother in her later years, charming yet a poignant reminder that we all age differently. Your sentence is perfect: “We were never created to live forever, only to find our best life and share the grace, mercy and forgiveness afforded by a savior.” Amen.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Ally. As it starts to snow outside (Happy April Fools), I am reminded that life is never planned, completely unexpected, and still joyous while we are here, making the best of it. Mom made the best of her life, as did Gary.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.