Finding the Bathroom

I am this.

The sullen smog from Jimi’s rock and roll guitar.

The faithful mist of a a royal prince.

The reddened azure of water’s vapor.

I am not a sissy pastel,

nor the good-for-nothing child of black and white.

My soul is the first breath of spring’s vibrant columbine.

My heart is filled with the liquid of amethyst jewels.

I embrace the grandiose swirls in the sky of a rising day.

Never will I be boring khaki pants,

nor blue’s contradictory Florida fruit.

I shall always be the favorite softness across a girl’s shoulders

and the stand-up brightness of a garden’s salvia.

I am the elongated aubergine, next to the shady tomato cousin.

The list of me is long.

The favorite of a brave man’s shirt.

A child’s favorite pony.

A Mardi Gras bead.

Pie.

But it’s Friday.

The deepened color of an evening sky reflects who I am.

An intensity of indigo blue and crimson red seep into the ground.

The TV falls silent to plodding, fuzzy slippers.

And I, purple, sleep in the glow of a light that helps you find the bathroom.


Dear Readers, I’m currently engaged in an online creative writing course through a local library. This post has been my incursion into assignment #2: “Choose a color to write about. Use the thesaurus function on your software or a printed thesaurus at least ten times during this exercise. Work to focus your writing and write tight. Make the assignment no more than 250 words.”

Hope you enjoyed and I will be sharing other assignments over the next five weeks as deemed appropriate and printable.

19 responses to Finding the Bathroom

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I really like this, except for the fact that I’m wearing boring khaki pants. I really like the single word line “Pie” and not just because I like pie. You’re doing nice work in this course.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sorry, Dan didn’t mean to insult the khaki wearers of the world. You have to admit, though, the color is kind of boring next to purple. Unless you’re wearing a purple shirt. 😏

      Thanks for the positive fedback. We both deserve pie today, don’t you think?

      • Dan Antion says:

        Yes to pie! Khaki pants are boring. I am wearing a navy blue shirt, which is like “man dress 101” in the business casual world. Either that or light blue shirt and navy blazer. Half the guys in America are wearing that outfit, right now.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks! I thought of Jimi and his haze immediately in choosing purple. Sullen smog is the alternative definition. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh yes, I enjoyed this very much! I love the style and the content and the rhythm and the lot. Obviously this is the right course for you.

  3. joey says:

    I LOVED THIS! I think it might be the most brilliant thing you’ve written.
    I, of course, am khakis, and white and pastel and holey jeans and dirty barefoot feet with bright toes, eating cliched bananas and apples, listening to the Beatles and but OH, How I Loved This! Because purple is absolutely, positively a color of note. No one would deny purple the spotlight, especially in a sky like that. Truly a stand out color, like your stand out work here!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Wow, I feel like I’ve won the Joey Pulitzer prize for a purple poem. Thank you holey jean girl! I’m honored that you love this. πŸ™‚

      • joey says:

        The first line really sets the mood and then the rest follows suit. Truly loved it.

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    I loved this, Mary. It makes me think of the line “I feel in colour” which I’m sure I read somewhere at some time. I love the line “My heart is filled with the liquid of amethyst jewels” πŸ’•
    I hope you are having a richly coloured week!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Joanne! I am having a good week so far, even with being at work. I’m starting to see pretty sunrises again on the drive to work and the sun has been out…that is a color I definitely feel. 😎

  5. Ally Bean says:

    What a fun writing prompt. No better way to start a week than by thinking about colors. I do enjoy all that you write here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.