SoCS: Eight Favorites

Asked to pick a favorite word

There are so many

The words I do lean toward

Do not rhyme with plenty

People is number one

At the top of the list

For if there were none

How would we know to exist?

God is number two

Creator of number one

Life giver of the new

And light of the Son

Love comes in at three

Surrounds the human heart

Comes on bended knee

From hate shall always part

Chocolate is a big four

How could it not be?

It’s dark love I adore

Wrapped in joyous glee

Vacation might be five

But retirement is better

Breathing and alive

That’s all that really matters

Cats must be six

I cannot leave this out

For sandpaper licks

From a whiskered snout

Bicycle is the lucky seven

Two wheels, fresh air

Flying through heaven

Without a care

Bacon is last at eight

Joanne knows my desire

The smell, the smoky taste

Food that sets soul on fire

So these are favorite words

I could choose a nine and ten

But I must now defer

and end this post with Amen!



Stream of Consciousness Saturday is the brainchild of author Linda G. Hill. Every Friday, Linda provides her followers with an inspiring blogger’s prompt. It can be a word or words and sometimes bonus points are involved (my favorite). Linda asks us to write without editing, other than correcting spelling errors.

Just go with the flow.

Like a babbling brook, ambling stream or running river. Click HERE if this type of writing floats your boat or helps with your decision-making.

20 responses to SoCS: Eight Favorites

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Very nice. Nodding in agreement and smiling at each choice. I hope your weekend has them all (think of it as a mini-vacation or a temporary retirement).

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Dan. I’ve started the mini vacation by “sleeping in.” Next up is lots of coffee, a good book and a day to do not much of anything.

      Well, darn, I forgot COFFEE. That probably should have been #4. Darn.

  2. Shelley says:

    Sandpaper licks…how sweet your kitties give you kisses. Great list of favorites, Mary, hope you enjoy your weekend!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I love the sandpaper licks! Don’t get them too often, but when I do, they make me giggle. Have a wonderful weekend, Shelley.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I laughed out loud at #8 😆😆😆

    Great work here, Mary. A thoughtful selection of only 8 words that I could nod my head in agreement.

    I hope your weekend includes all of these words – if as Dan says, you think of a mini-vacation as test driving retirement 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Joanne, how could I not include you and bacon today? I thought about the bacon bouquet all afternoon. I may have to eat some of that goodness today…just because I can. Might go well with coffee and a waffle.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        After seeing that bacon bouquet, I admit to frying some up for our Caesar salad … with crumbled bread fried in the bacon fat for croutons. It was yummy.

        … hmmm, that might explain why the weigh scale nudged upwards this morning … 😕

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I almost LOL’d when the neighbor showed up at my door this morning with a few pieces of venison bacon. Yes, I ate it!

  4. loisajay says:

    All good. No bacon. I’m vegetarian. Ok, so fakin’ bacon…it’s pretty good stuff. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s okay Lois. I’ll make Gibbs eat your share of the real bacon. Or I’ll eat it all myself.
      They do a good job these days of making faux meats and other products for vegetarians and others who have food allergies. So we can enjoy everything we wouldn’t otherwise put in our mouths. My only exception is faux cheese. No.thank.you.

  5. JoAnna says:

    What a great way to open up the prompt possibilities! Here’s my favorite so far: Two wheels, fresh air/Flying through heaven/Without a care. I remember that feeling. Gotta get my old bike on the road!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.