Talk Amongst YourSELF

“Talking to yourself is okay. Answering back is risky.” 

~Brian Spellman~


Who among us does not talk to self?

Can I see a show of hands?

No?

What do you say to yourself or ask yourself? Do you answer?

I fully admit I talk to myself daily. Barring details, my self-talk isn’t always positive. I tend to beat up the inner Mary J, rather than give her positive affirmations about the good things in her life.

Is this the normal human condition of self-doubt and wavering self-esteem or is it just me?

Well?

(A show of hands is not required.)


“Writing is like talking to yourself, just in a way that makes it look like you’re not crazy!”

~Mary Kate~


It appears we (bloggers) are all a little crazy.

Does anyone deny their crazy?

Can I see a show of hands?

No?

How do you write crazy into your posts without anyone knowing you’re a lunatic?

I fully admit I’m a crazy cat lady. I talk to my cats. They don’t answer, but sometimes I answer for them. Then they talk among themselves and write posts for my readers. I try to hide that crazy by publishing posts about bicycles, my mom, one-liners and somewhat serious poetry.

Is it working?

Well?

(A show of hands is not required.)

[Click on the gallery to view additional comments.]


This post has been brought to you by self talk and a crazy writer. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

39 responses to Talk Amongst YourSELF

  1. dweezer19 says:

    Yeah. I talk to me. I’m my second best friend. Sometimes the only one. Thank God I am never alone. 😉

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Sometimes, I’m the only one who will listen to me. I talk to Maddie and the cats all the time. Maddie understands more than she lets on. And those voices in my head??? They’re nuts.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Those darn nutty voices! Make them stop! 😀

      We might have to start worrying if the furry beasts answer back. May not like what they have to say…or demand.

      • Dan Antion says:

        I think you know what Gibbs and Ziva would demand. MuMu can be quite loud when her dinner is late.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Gibbs has been feeling better the last two days, so we’re back to 4:00 am “wake up and feed me that yummy food or I’ll walk on your head and throw your phone on the floor” antics. Ugh.

      • Dan Antion says:

        I’m glad to hear that he’s feeling better. They eat pretty early, it’s a good thing you’re so well trained 😏

      • bikerchick57 says:

        He’s feeling better for now – hoping that continues and he doesn’t regress again. Today is the last day of antibiotics, so…

  3. [“Do I talk to myself?” I wonder. “No, I don’t think so. Not out loud, that is. That would be crazy, right? Well, not as crazy as answering yourself. And certainly not as crazy as telling people about it on the blogs! Hells bells, no! Deny it! You deny it to that nice MJ!]

    Hi MJ. Interesting post. No, I don’t talk to myself. Nope, nope, nope.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Nice MJ? Well, maybe…I’ll have to confer with myself on that one. In the meantime, don’t respond to the crazy. Deny, deny, deny! :-p

  4. Frank Hubeny says:

    Good observations about talking to oneself, but it’s hard not if no one else will listen. The problem for me is I don’t get good feedback from myself, not that I really want it.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      We ARE our own worst critic, Frank. I need to begin telling my inner self to “sit down and shut up” when offering negative critique. Where’s Positive Polly and Paul when you need them?”

  5. Here’s the thing…. you didn’t specify talking to yourself OUT LOUD. The inner voices we all have and they are usually crazy negative.

    Since he doesn’t read blogs YET, I can out him. M has begin talking OUT LOUD to himself. I have a new rule in the studio… you have to say when you are talking to a cat or to yourself. Of course it is not followed… If he knew he was talking outloud he would NOT.

    My grandma also talked outloud when doing chores. I think it was like this: “Damn irritating man sits on his ass all day watching tv…” She is excused for this. They lived alone on a ranch and he was a lazy ass…

    Cats and dogs don’t count. And yup, I do talk to myself but not as much as I used to. Usually when I am ripping mad….

    • bikerchick57 says:

      When I’m ripping mad, it’s not so much about talking to myself as it is just swearing out loud when no one is around. I was so stressed at work at one point, that I found myself swearing under my breath and decided I really had to stop…for fear the boss would come around the corner.

      It’s happened on more than one occasion that my roomie says, “What did you say?” when I’m talking to the cats out loud. So M and I have something in common, I suppose. 🙂

  6. JoAnna says:

    I got a belly laugh from the awkward meme. All of them apply to me. When I’m home alone, I talk out loud to myself, my dogs, trees, God, bugs, plants, and lizards. When I catch myself talking mean to myself (which is usually in my head) I interrupt out loud with “STOP IT!” But I don’t think that makes me crazy. I think the real crazy is when you have opposing conversations….well, wait. I think I’ve done that, too, but not out loud…. okay, maybe I’m crazy. (I wrote about crazy today) Anyway. It takes work to retrain our brains to talk nice to ourselves. That’s what’s important.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Since I’ve written this post, I am thinking about making more positive statements to myself, whether they are in my head or out loud. Perhaps that will take a few opposing conversations before I get it right. It’s okay to talk out loud to the critters, God, nature, etc., because I see that as positive and very beneficial to the psyche and soul.

      • JoAnna says:

        It takes practice. The brain gets used to going down those negative pathways so we have to create stronger positive pathways. Since I responded, I remembered that singing is good for quieting some of the loudest negative thoughts. Best wishes!

  7. marianallen says:

    Thing I say most often to myself: “Well, you big dummy!” Then sometimes, I’m kind and say, “You didn’t mean to. You did the best you could.” Then I answer back, “That’s called ‘damning with faint praise,’ you know.” And, yes, sometimes I am so freakin’ funny, I have to laugh out loud. Then I hope nobody heard me, because they might ask me what I’m laughing about, and they might not think it’s as funny as I do, and that would hurt my feelers. Glad Gibbs is better!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, I know the “dummy” self-talk all too well. Not sure why we do that to ourselves, why we’re not kind to our non life-threatening faults. I laughed at “damning with faint praise.” So true! We can muster up so much negativity, but have a hard time with boldly telling ourselves how awesome we are. Because we ARE awesome! 🙂

  8. kirizar says:

    You gave my hand a work-out with that one….wait, that sounds wrong. So very wrong…

    Seriously though, I talk to myself all the time. My son is non-verbal, so I hold both sides of the conversation. It’s pretty bad, because, when he’s not around, I still do it. I sound certifiable I imagine. Good thing the voices in my head are such good company.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Okay, I’m not going to touch that first paragraph with a ten-foot pole! 😀

      Well, if you answer for your son, you will always get the correct response…right? There’s been more than one occasion that I worry about the certifiable part – especially when talking to myself in the car and realize the person stopped next to me is staring. :-p

  9. joey says:

    Uh, yes. Yes to all. I’ve been told several times in brain diagnostics that I am not crazy, but I do seem to fit all the criterion here…
    I not only talk to myself and the cats and the dog and an imaginary deity, but also, to plants, Mary. To plants.
    The only people who don’t think I’m crazy are other crazy people who’ve been told they’re not crazy. And sometimes those crazy people are against using the word crazy because it’s really mental illness, but we all agree on crazy when we hear it or see it, sooo…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t talk to my plants, but I occasionally talk to my stapler at work. It usually goes like this, “You stupid piece of crap…” Is that crazy? Do I need to turn myself into the people in the white coats?

  10. John Holton says:

    They say talking to yourself is a sign of genius. I’ve always talked to myself, and my mother always thought I was crazy. She talked to my uncle, who’s a neurosurgeon, who asked her where I talked to myself. She told him “the bathroom,” and he said, “I talk to myself in the basement.” And yes, I do answer myself sometimes.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t believe it’s normal to never talk to one’s self. It’s a sign that our genius brains are working and we’re simply getting a second opinion that we are right and awesome.

  11. After my dad and mom passed away I was completely lonely. So I would go to Marine Drive beach and talk to the waves. Surprisingly I always got answers and strength to tackle my life challenges. At this point, I actually started writing poetry to vent my feelings.

  12. Claire@LinleyRoss says:

    Hahaha I am famous for talking to myself… or as I like to think of it, thinking with facial expressions 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL! Facial expressions are good. If anyone is watching during the act, it will leave them wondering. 😶

      • Claire@LinleyRoss says:

        They often are… and often ask me!!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks