The Doors

WP Photo Challenge: “Ready to walk on through? This week, share an image of a door.”

The captions tell the short story.

Door1
Patio Door:
More Stuff 011
Two Ways
Elroy Trails 051
Tunnel Doors:
Elroy Trails 064
Times Two

To friends in the U.S. and those who celebrate, Happy Independence weekend. Have a wonderful 4th of July!

33 responses to The Doors

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Dan. In looking through my photos, I realized I take very few photos of doors. I will have to work on that. Happy 4th to you as well. Fireworks and Oreos tomorrow! 🙂

  1. M-R says:

    I fort I woz goin to be readin about Jim Morrison … [grin]
    But these photos – especially the first one – are lovely !

  2. joannesisco says:

    Doors on a tunnel? That’s really interesting … although I’m puzzled as to why a tunnel would have doors.

    Enjoy your July 4th celebrations 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      This bike/hike trail is on an old train track (as are many others in the State). The doors are from when the train was running. In the winter, they would close the doors to keep the snow from flying into the tunnel. Cool, huh?

      • joannesisco says:

        wow – that is really cool! 🙂

        A lot of old rail lines have been made into biking and hiking trails now.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m attaching a link. If you read under “Building of the Rail,” it tells more about the tunnel and the guys who opened and closed the doors. I must have read elsewhere about snow and the tunnels, but here it says the doors were closed to keep the tunnels warmer during cold weather. It’s pretty fascinating…I’d like to go back to the trail and pay better attention to the tunnels and go through the one we missed because it was getting too late in the day.

      • I don’t think I would have wanted to be a tunnel watchman. The responsibility…. Imagine if you got your flags confused??

        This is so cool. Okay, I’m thinking I should come and ride this with you on the trail’s 50th birthday because it will also be mine. 🙂 That’s if I don’t decide to trek in Bhutan. Or run the Paris marathon. I’m still deciding.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You are so welcome to come ride with me on your 50th. I would love it! But wouldn’t Paris or Bhutan be more exciting?

      • Meh. If you were to search the Blogosphere, I bet you would find thousands of posts about trekking in the Himalayas or running marathons in exotic locations. But you wouldn’t find many about riding through tunnels with doors on them in Wisconsin with a friend they met through blogging.

        I’m all about the road less travelled.

      • You know, I could come and do fitness (ie bike) training with you, which would get me fit for the trek which would then give me altitude training for the marathon. How’s that for a plan? 😀

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Ohmigosh, you have more ambition in your pinkie finger than my entire body for a lifetime. We’re talking about 2017, right? I may be retiring in fall of that year (and it will be my 60th). Lots of reasons to go on that ride…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I want it all too, but I still haven’t won the lottery or found a rich boyfriend :-p

      • Yeah, the 23-year-old in my head isn’t too keen on acknowledging the big Five-O. That’s why I keep distracting her with the promise of adventure.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        There’s plenty to see in Wisconsin…Devils Lake State Park, the Mississippi River, brew pubs and wineries…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Bring a sand pail. There’s more sand up here than mud…unless it’s pouring rain.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.