And Time Slips Away…

time_using_time_filling

If you check out the comment thread of my last post, between The Master and I, you will see that we both have significant birthdays coming up in 2017.

How did I get to be this old?

Time slips away, unknowing and unsuspecting. One day I am 25 with a flat stomach and no cellulite and the next I am heading toward the big 6-0, wondering why I can’t lose 5 pounds of flubber around a flubbery midsection to save my soul.

I need a piece of chocolate and an ice cream cone to contemplate this mystery.

While contemplation runs afoot and somewhat wild, I thought I would take this opportunity to steer you toward an upcoming blogfest. Blogger Dan Antion at No Facilities and six of his friends are holding the Cherished Blogfest the weekend of July 24-26, 2015. All you have to do is write about a cherished object and share with the blogging community and other Cherished Blogfest participants. Check out the Blogfest link to learn details. I’ve picked out my cherished object and can hardly wait to get started on writing the post.

Then again…

I’ve been a tad busy and unable to sit down at the computer and write a novel about anything, including mom or the cats or the lovely fireworks display this past Saturday. I suppose I could have penned a poem or shared yet another photo of the felines last night, but I preferred to sit outside with the neighbors, eating a bratwurst, sipping on spiced rum and cola, and talking stupid. I have priorities.

This afternoon, after work, I have to make a trip to mom’s place (brandy emergency, she’s almost out) (bad daughter forgot to check on Sunday), then hit the gym, make supper, water the patio plants, watch Star Trek (priorities, people), and finally go to bed.

The rest of the week is a bust as well: Thursday evening is filled with a performance of “The Lion in Winter” at the local community theater. Natasha’s daughter is one of the leads, I will be in the audience. On Friday evening, I shall be in attendance at a Christian music festival (Chris Tomlin anyone?). Saturday’s time is taken with a friend’s husband’s funeral (it’s okay, he had been very ill for quite some time), a visit with mom, doing laundry and getting ready to leave Sunday afternoon on a short business trip. I might be able to sit and relax by next Tuesday night.

And time continues to slip away…

So, it is with sadness that I must succumb to a mini blogging vacation. I have to steer thoughts and actions to other events. I’ll be back next week and I may even have a story to tell about all of this busy-ness.

In the meantime, sign up for a blogfest and go find a few new bloggers at WordPress. You’ll need something to occupy your time while I’m gone.

17 responses to And Time Slips Away…

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks again for supporting the Blogfest. I replied to the ping back notice so that’s probs my sitting here too. When someone is talking about ignoring me to make time for Star Trek, all I can say is “make it so”.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Dan, and I’m glad you appreciate the Star Trek snob. We’re on the last season of “Enterprise.” Then back to the original so we can laugh and snort at the total geeky hokiness. 😉

  2. joannesisco says:

    Your weeks sound like mine have been. So much happening and no time to write about any of it! Oh well, such is the joy of summer 🙂

    Signed up for the Cherished Blogfest. Sounds like fun!

    I can’t feel sorry for you turning 60 in 2017. I’m turning 60 next year … and I would be sooooo happy if I had only 5 lbs to lose 😉

  3. bikerchick57 says:

    OK, no sympathies from you then. Summer is always busy and I much prefer to be outdoors than sitting at the computer…unless it’s Dan’s Blogfest.

  4. Christian Music Festival?
    By any chance is that a klove event?
    I became aware of Chris Tomlin and many other Christian artists by tuning into klove.com, which is an awesome radio station. Colton Dixon is pretty cool too.

    Have fun away…its good to disconnect from tome to time! ^_^

  5. M-R says:

    You’re a mere chicken, my dear. Today I turned 72 – beat that !
    What date, btw ?

  6. The hardest thing would be picking a cherished object to write about. I have so many. Ha. I hope you’re getting out on the bike and enjoying WI summer.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think you could pick up a book as that object…right? 😉 I haven’t been out on the bike enough this summer, but keeping very busy. I am hoping next week or weekend will be a good time for a bike ride.

Leave a Reply

