From One Habit to Another

Back in September, I posted that mom had become a KitKat junkie and I was her dealer. She had a bad habit in the eyes of the clean-eating weirdos who eat lacto-fermented foods, drink kefir water and have a salad (organic greens only) every day for lunch.

Oh, wait a minute, I guess I’m that weirdo.

habit

Anyhow, mom broke her habit today. She handed me the half-eaten bag of KitKats I bought her three weeks ago and declared, “I don’t like these. You take them home.” I insisted that she loved KitKats, to which she replied, “No I don’t.”

The KitKat bag was thrust in my face.

I was taken aback and out of a job. A dealer no more.

But wait a minute! Where one habit ends, another one begins. Several weeks ago, I bought mom a bag of Starlight peppermint candies – the round white and red discs that many restaurant give out with the dinner check. (It’s their extremely cheap way of saying “thank you for spending your hard-earned money at our fine establishment.” ) Mom asked for this candy after savoring one of these fine mints at our usual lunch location in town. Evidently, the sugar of a peppermint trumps the sugar of milk chocolate and wafer.

What is the world coming to?

Anyhow, today’s visit with mom proved to be one replete with repetitive questions: “What day is it? What time is it? Why don’t you go to Catholic church? When is Easter? When is Mother’s Day? When is your brother coming to visit? Did you go get those mints yet?She asked that last question with impatience, often, as if I was just laying around, doing nothing…not paying her bills or fiddling with a hearing aid that appears to be in need of repair. I believe mom was in withdrawal. I’m not sure how long she had gone without.

“Yes, mom, I’ll go in a minute.” 

So, I finished writing a check to the pharmacy and left to do her bidding. Just as it was important, at one time, to have KitKats, mom now desires Starlight peppermint candy. It’s not an awful habit, most likely better than the KitKat habit – less sugar and calories for someone who consistently tells me she needs to lose weight while squeezing the spare tire around her waist. It’s a habit that keeps her occupied for a few moments, gives her a taste that hasn’t gone away with age, and lets her hold onto something she enjoys.

Plus, I can still be her dealer.

PS: Natasha says mom is going to ask for KitKats again in a few weeks when she forgets she doesn’t like them. I’m taking bets. 

32 responses to From One Habit to Another

  1. loisajay says:

    If I should live to be as young as your mom, my kids had better deal in whatever I ask for. 😀

  2. M-R says:

    It’s rather like one’s beloved mog, who changes his mind on a fairly regular basis about what he has ‘always’ loved to eat !

      • M-R says:

        All things being equal, she’s not too bad, eh ? – fairly on the ball most times. She must realize how good a girl she has.

      • M-R says:

        I know, I know: you never want to be pleased with yourself. But you will, after MANY years have passed, be able to lay yourself down with a clear conscience – and all due to love. 🙂

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Since my wife seems closer to your style of eating and I seem closer to your mom’s, I’m going to take this post as a good sign for the future. My guess is that your mom circles back to the Kit Kats at some point. I focus on one particular thing until my wife lays in a lifetime supply of it and then I decide that I don’t like it. I usually return to the old habits sooner or later.

    If you’re looking for a place to “store” those Kit Kats, I might be able to help you.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sorry, Dan, the KitKats found a home (not mine) and are being properly disposed of. When mom circles around again with her KitKat love/hate relationship, I’ll grab what’s left over and FedEx them straight to you.

      • Dan Antion says:

        That’s OK Mary. Easter is coming. I’m about to OD on Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There have been times when mom tells me, “Don’t buy any more brandy!” So I don’t and then a week later, she asks for it again. Now that it’s in the med room, I just keep buying it when it gets low and don’t mention it to mom. Seems to work out much better.

  4. Leonas Lines says:

    Enjoyed reading this. It reminded me of my mom (now passed) who, in her older years, loved Andes Mints. She had boxes of them all about and even froze some, yet everytime I took her to the grocery, she just “had’ to buy a couple more boxes! Lol. 🙂 I figured at her age (84) why not! 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s too funny. You’re mom was onto something with the Andes mints. They can be incredibly addictive. Just like KitKats. 🙂

  5. I’m taking bets she’ll switch to Mars Bars. Turkish Delight gets you odds of 100 to 1. I’d bet Crunchies but you don’t have those, do you? (Only because I think it unlikely but I’d buy them and then unfortunately have to eat them.)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have never heard of crunchies. What kind of delectable treat is this? Perhaps you need to send me a couple so I can decide on their worthiness.

      • It’s chocolate coated honeycomb. The Crunchie vs Violet Crumble wars have long been fought in Australia. I tend to oscillate. Currently I am in the Crunchie camp.
        Delivery could be arranged…. 🙂

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m starting to have a problem with this post. First it was KitKat – I can handle that. Peppermints – not a problem.
      … but then you start introducing Mars bars and Turkish Delight and Crunchies!!!!! HELP!!!! … i”m starting to crack under the pressure!!!!!

      btw – Crunchies rule!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pingbacks & Trackbacks