Why Your Critics (And Your Cheerleaders) Shouldn’t Define You

This blog post hits home in many ways. Do you listen to the Critics and Cheerleaders or do you have your own voice?

john pavlovitz

LoveHateSneakers
Those are my principles, and if you don’t like them… well, I have others.
 – Groucho Marx.


Though we might not verbalize it quite this way, most of us split the world up into two distinct groups of people: our Critics and our Cheerleaders.

The former are usually the ones who correct or criticize or attack us the most, whose words tend to feel more like weapons.

The latter, are those who are often the source of sweet compliment or praise or support. Their words sound like a love song.

We do a pretty good job of fitting most of the people we know and encounter into one of those camps, and if we’re honest, we allow ourselves to be largely defined by both our critics and our cheerleaders; placing far too great a weight to either group.

For a people who more and more live lives designed for public consumption, we can’t help but craft our identity…

View original post 631 more words

14 responses to Why Your Critics (And Your Cheerleaders) Shouldn’t Define You

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Right? I did too. I have listened far too often to my critics, then run to the cheerleaders for a few rah-rahs. Not sure if I will ever learn to consistently listen to myself and trust what I say.

  1. M-R says:

    I extract the religious, and find the rest admirable. (Sorry, M-J – can’t help myself about religion. But it doesn’t mean I knock anyone else for having one !)

  2. likeitiz says:

    I can’t imagine living a life in perpetual fear of he critics (for their slash and burn ) and the cheerleaders (because they might disappear). That’s living hell.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      And yet, it’s easy to live in that hell. It’s good that you stay away from the heat and listen to your own voice.

Leave a Reply

