The End

No, it’s not the end of MJM or cat pictures or mom stories.

It’s the end of vacation. Boo.

I have not set foot in my office since August 7th. I will be returning tomorrow, August 18th. Boo.

During this time away, I spent time with family, baked bread, stole away for bike rides, hit the pool at the gym, visited with a few friends, went to the Michigan State Fair and tried to relax.

On Monday, relaxation is over. Boo.

On the upside, I have a few photos from the week, most of them from the area bike trails. I may have mentioned this before: We really have very scenic walking/bike trails locally and statewide. Natasha, the neighbor and I have been discovering a few this summer and Saturday was no exception. Natasha and I took a 90 minute drive to go biking and buy bacon from a well-known business in northern Wisconsin. Score on both accounts.

For your viewing pleasure and as a way for me to relive this past week, here are a few photos that tell the vacation story.

Family Etc 033 Family Etc 046

August 9th. Newport Beach State Park, Door County Peninsula – A lovely five and half mile hike with brother and his girlfriend. Beautiful day!

Family Etc 049

One of the relaxation moments of the week. Wine. Nectar of the relaxation gods.

Trail 007 (1) Trail 007 (4)

August 13th. Wiouwash State Trail. It was me, a few other bikers, a few horses, horse apples and a nice view.

Bo BST Escanaba 081414 060 Bo BST Escanaba 081414 084

August 14th. Upper Michigan State Fair. Cows, pigs, deep-fried Oreos, rides that make me sick, and Blood, Sweat & Tears (feat. Bo Bice).

Mountain Bay Trail 003 Mountain Bay Trail 011

August 16th. Mountain Bay State Trail, near Wausau, WI.  A leisurely afternoon of biking and bacon procurement. Mountain Bay is a trail worth a return trip to view leaf colors in the fall and extend biking season just a bit longer.

The End.

Readers, have you had a good season thus far? Any fun vacations to report?

28 responses to The End

  1. M-R says:

    DEEP-FRIED OREOS ??? You didn’t … ahh … eat any, didja, M-J ? [gasp !]
    BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS ????? Good GRIEF !!! How amazing …

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I opted out of the deep-fried Oreos and instead had mint Oreo custard this evening 🙂 There is only one almost-original member of BS&T…he’s been with the band 30 years. Otherwise, all new people. Regardless, they sound awesome.

      • M-R says:

        So aren’t we both relieved to learn that she eschewed ’em …? (Sorry, H …)

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You know, they deep fry everything at our state fairs and put it on a stick. There is even such a thing as deep-fried butter if you can believe it. That disgusts me beyond words…

      • M-R says:

        EEeeeeeeeeeewww ! I can scarcely credit that anyone would want to EAT it, M-J … 😦

  2. joannesisco says:

    Your photos are a nice summary of your vacation. Lucky that you have great memories to take back to work with you 🙂
    … sorry, that was the best I could come up with. Rather lame, but I tried 🙂

  3. I must know about this bacon place. MTM would probably drive hours in snow and sleet to visit if it’s open in December. I love your pictures, especially the wine shot. 🙂

    I now know where Door County is, thanks to MTM’s telling me the other day. I asked him where something was, and he said, “Door County.” And I said, “DUH. Where is Door County?”

    I’m in the mountains of NC now, but it isn’t a vacation. I’m close to having an editable final draft of Not Without My Father. My brain is mush. My hair is greasy. I smell. I hope it will be worth it.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Just pretend you are camping and you’ll get over the smell. MTM has to drive to Wittenberg to get to Nueske heaven. It’s a tad further than Door CTY, but worth the trip for cherry wood bacon. Yum. I’m glad you are on your way to finishing the next book…there are many who are waiting..

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, relaxing is exactly what it is. Unfortunately, I am back to reality and the relaxing will have to wait for my next day off 🙂

  4. LB says:

    Your vacation sounds wonderful! A great mix of healthy activity, healthy liquids (wine!), healthy foods (bacon! 🙂 ), friendships, and family! Well deserved!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.