Adventure Around the Bend

Bridges 002

A bridge to where,

around the gray-board bend?

A pond? A street? A gravel road?

The local Subway?

A bridge can lead to anywhere (or to nowhere in Alaska).

It can be big and beautiful and famous…

The Mackinaw Bridge leads from upper Michigan to lower Michigan,

and the Sydney Harbor Bridge leads travelers from the North Shore to the central business district of the city.

(Right M-R?)

A bridge can be small and pedestrian,

like the one above, waiting for the dog-walkers and pedal pushers.

A bridge can carry a train or raise its levers to let the tall masts pass;

it can carry a verse to the chorus.

I walked across the bridge in the picture.

It led around the gray-board bend.

I found iron, water and light.

Bridges 004

Energy.

A bridge can be a moment in time, when one crosses over to a new job, a new home,

or a new adventure.

The bridge to a new adventure begins tonight.

When I said yes.

Yes to walking across the bridge and stepping away from a safe comfort zone.

Stepping into the muck and fun of theatre.

I signed up for dinner theatre,

acting a murder mystery in front of a bachelorette party.

Learning lines.

Forty pairs of eyes staring me down.

What did I do?

What was I thinking,

when I walked around the gray-board bend?

Pray that I find the bridge to an excellent first-time performance,

or the bridge to the bar after the show.

The photo story was posted on May 3rd; however, I feel it appropriate for Photo Challenge submission. Simply replace “adventure” with “new beginning” and consider the action of stepping around the bend of the bridge into the latter.

Click here to step into the threshold of other challenge participants.

 

 

 

16 responses to Adventure Around the Bend

  1. loisajay says:

    You will love it! I take Improv acting lessons from time to time. Who is that person up there totally out of her comfort zone? I don’t know but she sure is having fun. Enjoy! You will have a blast.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s what my girlfriend tells me…I’ll have a blast. I haven’t had lessons like you, but I’m still excited about trying something new.

  2. My husband is an actor, although he hasn’t acted much lately. He did a murder mystery show for a year and loved it. I’m not courageous with acting myself, but I know my husband feels more alive when he’s in a show. Have fun!

  3. M-R says:

    (1) Absolutely right, M-J ! 🙂
    (2) WOT FUN !!!! Sounds like a marvellous thing to do. I’d give quids to have a fun thing like that coming up. YOU WILL LOVE IT !
    I have spoken.
    [grin]
    Lotsa encouraging hugs …

      • M-R says:

        and so you should be, M-J ! Betcha anything you like that you’ll have a bloody marvellous time ! 😀

  4. litadoolan says:

    Love the concept of a bridge taking us around a turn or a bend to a new direction. Great photographs and insight.

  5. Joe says:

    Great shot and post Mary 😀 But in Alaska you can see Russia from your backyard, LOL.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.