Verklempt

Definition:

Verklempt is a Yiddish word that means “overcome with emotion.” Pronounced “fer-klempt,” people use it when they are so emotional that they’re on the verge of tears or at a loss for words due to their emotional state.

I came across this word over 20 years ago, watching Mike Myers portray a caricature of his Jewish mother-in-law, Linda Richman, on Saturday Night Live.

I think about this word every time the National Anthem plays at a sporting event.

Every time the sky lights up on the 4th of July.

Every time the writers of NCIS or Downton Abbey kills off a favorite character.

Every time hormonal moments strike and dark chocolate is nowhere to be found.

Every time stress rules over the best of intentions.

Every time an adopted child is reunited with a biological parent.

Every time I am moved by love, death, or a heart-to-heart talk with a best friend.

Every time “How Great is our God” plays on Pandora.

Every time I talk to dad and tell him I miss his voice…over the phone…yelling at mom.

I can’t help it.

I do not hide verklempt. This girl is as transparent as they come.

So, if you catch me watching Bambi, or Love Story or Brian’s Song and my eyes are filled with emotion, feel free to talk among yourselves.

I just went to get a tissue.

 

 

 

2 responses to Verklempt

Leave a Reply

