Sick. Ick.

Sick woman

I’m about to head out to the kitchen to make black cherry Jell-O.

It will feel good on my throat.

More on that in less than a minute.

I had a most fabulous weekend. You can read about Saturday here. Monday was just as wonderful as three girlfriends and I went on an expedition to Door County, a well-known vacation spot in Wisconsin. The four of us visited wineries, sampled the grapes, ate lunch, bought cherry pie and Christmas ornaments, checked out the views of Green Bay and chattered the entire way there and back. The sun was shining, the temp was in the 80’s, and there was nary a care on anyone’s mind. I came home with a bottle of cinnamon pear balsamic vinegar, a small garden turtle and a song in my heart. A great day ended with early to bed as the job that pays bills beckoned me to return on Tuesday.

3:15 a.m. Tuesday morning – I awoke with a sore throat and mucus build-up. I felt icky.

No! No! No! No! No! Let this be an allergy thing. Let this be an aversion to wine or good times, something I can fix with an Allegra tablet.

It can’t possibly be a cold.

(Flashbacks came into my head from January 2013: A month of flu, bronchitis and so much coughing that I thought I cracked a rib.)

Please God, don’t let this be a cold. My brother is flying in for a quick weekend trip to see his sister and mother. I’m supposed to be babysitting my friend’s two cats and getting my backside to yoga and the pool. I have a job with plenty of work sitting on my desk. I have a massage appointment. I have a life! The pleading for mercy, rolling around in my head, didn’t work one teeny tiny bit. By the time I made it to work, I was 99.9% positive that my sore throat was the start of crappy days ahead. It was a stupid cold. I was glad I brought my throat lozenges and cold medication to work because I was going to put them to good use.

(We take a break in our story as I finish my current coughing spell. Sorry. It just happens. I can’t control it.)

After my first cup of coffee this morning, I became determined the cold was not going to defeat me. I downed a cold medication tablet and started to feed my cold with toast and a banana. I optimistically felt I could shorten my cold with food and medication. Throughout the day, I kept eating, drinking fluids, popping throat lozenges and thinking positive thoughts. The cold will not defeat me!

I made it through the day, upright. A quick trip to the grocery store gave me the ingredients needed for a quick chicken soup recipe. Almond milk ice cream and gluten-free waffles sounded good (sold!), but I’ll pass on the sushi.

Fast forward a couple of hours and Natasha arrives at my door with two boxes of Jell-O that I failed to purchase at the grocery store because I was too focused on waffles and ice cream. I thanked her profusely and she quickly ran away, not taking any chances with floating germs. I don’t blame her. I want to be germ-free too.

So, off I must go to make Jell-O*. Then to bed. If I’m going to fight this cold, I had better get good sleep. I don’t know what the rest of the week will bring. I know that my brother was not amused when he called a few minutes ago and I told him I might be coughing in his face when he comes to visit. Sorry, but that’s the way it goes. I’ll try to look away when I talk to you. You can wear a mask and hang garlic in the bedroom if you’re concerned about my germs.

Perhaps I could walk 10 feet behind you . . .

(Tomorrow, a blog post about Jell-O and phlegm? Only if I take too much cold medication.)

6 responses to Sick. Ick.

Leave a Reply

