#SoCS: A Favorite Collar

Collar.

It’s what keeps me warm in the cool of fall and the frigid of winter.

This past week has been cooler than normal. In fact, Green Bay reported a new record high of 52F (11C) on September 9th, which is cold for this time of year. The rain did not help. On the other hand, I heard Colorado and Wyoming received snow a day or two before, so it could have been worse.

It’s supposed to stop raining and be warmer by Sunday, which means I may not need my Smithsonian zip-up fleece that I purchased last November. It’s been well-used since then, warm and snugly, and it has a collar. I have other zip-up fleece, but this one is my favorite.

Warmer weather also means that I can put away the woolly socks that I’ve been putting on my feet in the morning. I don’t like cold feet.

Sadly, though, within the next few weeks, I’ll be changing out summer clothes for fall and winter clothes – clothes that have collars and warmth. Soft, fuzzy collars. Collars that get me through until late spring.


On another note, I think I have collared this retirement thing. At least it feels that way, after only a week. Work seems father away than I thought it would and I absolutely do not feel guilty for leaving, or have a yearning to return. A former co-worker texted me yesterday that there was a flock of geese in the field outside my old office window all day. She teased that they were looking for me, but I suspect they were finding good feed and a fairly quiet place to hang out.

I “sleep in” now, sometimes until almost 8:00 a.m. and it feels good. Very good. Like I have actually rested. Less need for morning caffeine.

I don’t have a routine yet (do I need one?), but there hasn’t been much space for boredom. I am finding time to bike, walk, organize the garage, make food, read, order things from Amazon and watch TV. Not overly exciting, but not yawn-inducing either. I’m learning to relax and not think I have to do something productive every minute of every day.

I’m also working on blogging regularly again and trying to catch up with old and new friends. Have I been to your place lately? If not, feel free to invite me over. I have time now and a collar to keep me warm while commenting on your post.


Stream of Consciousness Saturday is the brainchild of author Linda G. Hill. Every Friday, Linda provides her followers with an inspiring blogger’s prompt. It can be a word or words and sometimes bonus points are involved (my favorite). Linda asks us to write without editing, other than correcting spelling errors.

Just go with the flow.

Like a babbling brook or rain drops. Click HERE if this type of writing floats your boat or helps with your decision-making. Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “collar.”

25 responses to #SoCS: A Favorite Collar

  1. Dan Antion says:

    There’s nothing like the feel of a warm soft collar on a cold day. I’m glad you are settling into your new groove. I hope you get to enjoy a nice comfortable autumn before that other season arrives. I look forward to you sharing more of your thoughts, photos and poetry.

    Take care and enjoy the ride.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The coming week may prove beneficial in gathering material for blog posts. I do need to get out more…drive around the area and put my cell phone camera to good use. I feel I may be missing some great opportunities for lovely scenery and perhaps a few doors. 😉

      Hapy Saturday, Dan!

  2. loisajay says:

    I am so happy to hear that you do not have a routine yet–no, you don’t need one! This is what ticked me off when I was retiring–everyone asked me what I was going to do. But, they were all younger than me with no concept of retiring. So glad you are enjoying it, Mary. Retirement is wonderful!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I had the same question asked, Lois, and tried to always have a smart aleck answer. I remember a few people over the years telling me I needed “a plan” for retirement, but other than the financial kind, I had no idea what they meant. A plan for sleeping in? For petting the cats? Making lunch? What?

      • loisajay says:

        haha! I found it a best to have a smart aleck answer, too. They just didn’t get it…..

  3. murisopsis says:

    Hehe! It was so cool yesterday that I switched the summer for winter wardrobe. Now I have bags and bags of clothes to go to Goodwill! It took up a good stretch of 4 hours and I didn’t have time to make dinner (good excuse to dine out – carry out actually). Sounds like you are well on your way to the zen lifestyle!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ah yes, the seasonal trips to Goodwill with clothing. This year, there will be more of it for me to drop off as I suspect some of the work clothes will find a new home.

  4. Maggie says:

    I love cooler weather and bundling up. Last year I rediscovered my love of turtlenecks.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      When I was younger, I had turtlenecks in every color. I loved them! However, when hot flashes hit in my late 40’s, they went by the wayside and now I can’t stand to wear them. The collars are okay, but turtlenecks are a big no.

      • Maggie says:

        I hated them for years, too, but now I have embraced them again as long as they are a loose cotton.

  5. J-Dub says:

    Soft fuzzy collars are the best! We had a cool snap here too. What a relief. I think we’ll be out of the 90ss going forward. Yipee!! Glad you’ve figured out the retirement thing. Your new routing sounds super relaxing.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Lots of sunshine and temps in the 70’s would make for great weather heading into autumn. Less of a need for the warm collars!

  6. JoAnna says:

    Before COVID, I found myself getting too busy in retirement. (So many options!) Now, I’m learning to go with the flow more. It’s finally gotten out of the 90s here and into the 80s. Looking forward to those 60s!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for the blessings, Cobs! I have been letting sleep happen and that’s been good for me, along with the bike rides and spending some I-don’t-care bad-hair days in pajamas. Sending squidges back to you!

      • Your days in jammies are equivalent to my days without a bra. (I began to feel a tiny bit slovenly a couple of weeks ago, so bought some soft comfortable bralets. Which do nothing for the lift and separate but they make me feel like I’ve tried – a little bit. LOL.

        Do what makes you feel like you need Mary. Allow your body and mind to make the adjustments you need. Don’t think. Just allow it to happen.
        BIG hugs being sent, along with love and a whole bucket of squidges. ~ Cobs. xxx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.