Beer with the Bud

“The best beers are the ones we drink with friends.”

So it was on Saturday.

Lunch, conversation, laughs and beer with a good friend.

Biking/beer buddy and I finally scoped out a microbrewery in Oshkosh that had escaped us since it opened two years ago.

Not sure how that happened.

After a yummy lunch that included chicken panini, crab cakes, assorted sides and a ancho chocolate strawberry creme brulee, we headed over to Fifth Ward.

Our favorite micro-brew? Tangerine Sour. Because it tasted like fresh-squeezed tangerines and summer.

Least favorite? Burl. Because how can you add cinnamon and molasses to a stout and have it taste so nondescript?

The two in-between’s were okay…at least Peanut tasted like peanuts and S’mores tasted like the bourbon barrel it was aged in while awaiting our arrival.

The atmosphere at the Fifth Ward was nice, the one owner we talked to was uber friendly, and neither he nor the bartender batted an eye when we asked for a few more samples. Good times!

So, in summation…

What would life be like without a very good friend who enjoys road trips, good food and taste testing adult refreshment?

Answer: Just like Burl beer. Nondescript and boring.

Right?


This post has been brought to you by a very good friend, micro-brews and Linda Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. If you are wondering what One-Liner Wednesday is all about, CLICK HERE.

Linda G. Hill is the Queen of One-Liners and rules over her kingdom of followers. Check out today’s post and commit yourself to join the Queen’s one-liner army because there’s no fighting or blood, only comradery and fun with words.

 

37 responses to Beer with the Bud

    • bikerchick57 says:

      In the busyness or everyday life, Judy, there is nothing better than friends and a reason to share time together.

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Here’s to fresh-squeezed-tangerine-summer friends. You’re giving me ideas, Mary. We have a new micro-brew just up the road from us. I might have to try a flight.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Do it, Dan! I don’t think I’ll ever go back to Miller Lite when there’s an opportunity to taste something original and refreshing with my beer buddy.

  2. Laurie says:

    Sounds like the perfect way to spend a Saturday! I love to try new craft breweries. The tangerine sour beer would be right up my alley.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Funny thing, Laurie, I usually don’t like sours, or at least the ones I’ve tried before. This one was different and perfect.

  3. Ally Bean says:

    I enjoy beer flights like the one you’ve featured here. The tangerine one sounds perfect to me, but like you said best to sample them with friends. Glad you had a fun time of it.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sampling a flight IS more fun with friends or when the brother and I get together. I’ve been in micro-breweries by myself when traveling. The beer is good, but it’s not the same being alone.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s possible you would like the tangerine, Lois…not what you might consider beer in regard to taste.

  4. Laura says:

    Drinks with friends is one of my favorite ways to spend an evening. Nothing beats gut busting laughter over a beer.

  5. catladymac says:

    Does an “ancho chocolate creme” include anchovies ?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Nope, not anchovies. It refers to ancho chilis, which makes the chocolate a little spicy. It’s a delicious combination!

  6. It sounds like a perfect way to warm up to the idea of spring and summer and planning for hitting the road with your bikes to burn off those calories ;-)! I like your descriptions of the beers – well done!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know it’s still February, but I am getting anxious to get the bike out for a ride. I really do have to burn some calories – it’s been a somewhat weighty winter! 😉

      • The itch to ride the bikes does happen when the roads clear. You’ll burn off the calories soon enough. I call those extra pounds Wisconsin winter hibernation/protection mode. 😉

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    Nailed it! Friends make everything better. Toss in an adult beverage or two and you have the recipe for a delightful time doing just about anything.

    I was never much of a beer drinker but Helen introduced me to a cold beer after a warm hike and there is truly nothing more divine (no hyperbole intended 😉)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Summer activities and beer go together like peanut butter and jelly. At least in my book it does. It truly is the friendship that makes these times special and I hope to have a few more of these times before this year is over.

  8. parkermccoy says:

    Haha. Beer is great. Well, it’s very great. But yes, like most things in life, it’s better to enjoy it with a friend. That Tangerine Sour sounds delicious! Thank you for sharing, Mary!

  9. It sounds like a marvelous day, regardless of a nondescript beer. Loved your descriptions, Mary J. And now that lunch has me starving. Dinner time is coming early today. 😀 Hugs.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m hungry too, Teagan. Would love a plate of those crab cakes right about now. Beer cheers and food hugs!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.