A Cherished Memory of Sue

I always struggle with choosing a personal item for the annual Cherished Blogfest. I tend to feel that “items” are never more important than the people in my life, never holding a value high enough to call it cherished.

Except this year is different.

A good friend of mine passed away in September from cancer. She battled this horrible disease for a year with unstoppable courage, daily prayer and a beautiful smile on her face. And she left the legacy of one who was loved and admired by many.

I am reminded of Sue every day by a daily devotional she gave me in October of 2014.

It wasn’t my birthday or any other special day. Sue simply gave me this book out of the goodness of her heart and the knowledge that her friend needed a little “spiritual help” now and then. I was very touched by this gift and the words Sue wrote to me under the front cover. This devotional has a home in my office, where I tend to need reminders that life isn’t always about me and that I have Him to give worries to on stressful days.

Over the course of the last three years, I found a few pages that I keep referring back to from time to time.

There is one special page that I copied and keep by my computer.

I was really, really, really grumbly a week and a half ago and, unfortunately, didn’t think to take solace or have my attitude adjusted by what was right in front of me. I’d like to think that Sue would have told me that having a day like this is okay, as long as I eventually come back to the one who gives grace. Sue was always awesome at prayer and giving spiritual advice, whether she knew it or not.

While Sue was in hospice, one of my church peeps thought it would be a good idea if we wrote individual letters to Sue to tell her how important she had been to all of us.

We welcomed the idea as it gave us an opportunity to tell Sue that we loved her and how much she impacted our lives while she was still present.

I considered this wonderful friend to be a mentor in my faith journey and in life. She was never judgmental about anything and only poured out love for others. At church, Sue was known as “The Brownie Lady,” bringing in pans of the sweet stuff on Thursdays to help feed the hungry. She also had a passion for baseball and her beloved St. Louis Cardinals, as well as having meals with family and friends.

I have been blessed to know Sue, to have become her friend, to have been invited into her home, and to have shared part of my life with her. The Jesus Calling devotional will always be cherished and a loving reminder of this very special woman of love and great faith.


The Cherished Blogfest is happening right now: October 13, 14 and 15, 2017. Hosted by Damyanti BiswasDan AntionCheryl PenningtonPaul RuddockPeter Nena, Sharukh Bamboat, Kate Powelland myself, it is open to anyone with a keyboard and story about something or someone they cherish. Details are posted HERE and make sure you click on the link that leads to blogfest participants and the ability to add yourself. Or you can click HERE to go directly to where the fun begins.

You can help share the news of The Cherished Blogfest or any of the blogfest posts by using #CBF17 on all social media.

53 responses to A Cherished Memory of Sue

  1. dweezer19 says:

    What a beautiful memorial Mary. A perfect cherished item. Hugs. I lost a dear friend a year and half ago to cancer but it took her in a matter of weeks. Sadly we never were able to sepak on the phone but we were together in Spirit. I feel ehr with me every day.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I was able to hold Sue’s hand and tell her I love her three days before she died. And I saw her precious smile too. Sorry about your friend, Cheryl, but glad to know she’s forever in your heart.

  2. loisajay says:

    God bless people like Sue. When the going gets tough….she didn’t let up. What a great gift she gave to you, Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sue was very courageous. Beyond the gift of the devotional, she gave me the gift of someone I could love and admire always.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful memory. I am so sorry that you lost your friend to cancer, but I’m glad you have some wonderful memories.

  4. JoAnna says:

    I have a feeling Sue is smiling about this post. Thanks for sharing her with us. I have this comforting devotional, too. Such a wonderful gift!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It was a wonderful gift, Joanna, and very unexpected. Sue was just that way – so thoughtful and giving.

  5. ladycee says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about and tribute to Sue. She seems to have been an amazing woman of God. So wonderful when we are blessed with precious friendships, such as the one you both enjoyed.
    May Sue’s legacy and her gift continue to bring you comfort, peace and joy.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sue was amazing. Her journey to heaven has made me realize how special friendships can be, how I need to pay better attention to them and to people. Thanks for reading and your very kind comments.

  6. Peter Nena says:

    Thanks for sharing, Mary. Truly cherished memories! Thanks for participating and cohosting the Blogfest.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Peter. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone has written about their cherished person or possession.

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    Saying good-bye to a cherished friend is one of the most difficult things we will ever have to do. It’s not surprising that they have touched our lives in a special and meaningful way.
    You will carry her in your heart always, and she has left you a beautiful gift ❤

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There are still days when knowing Sue is gone doesn’t seem real. She was so strong…used to run marathons and went to the gym every day before she became I’ll. Yes, she’s in my heart, always.

  8. Jemima Pett says:

    Beautiful. It was a friend’s funeral this week, and I mainly remember a prayer that was said which included lines like ‘all the things you meant to say but didn’t are now heard’. Also a lovely poem by David Harkins called He is Gone.
    People who make a difference to us are never gone.
    Sending hugs.

  9. Sharukh Bamboat says:

    What a way to kick off the list. This is really emotional. I haven’t lost a friend so far. Mainly because I make very few friends and most of them are younger than me. However, I know what loss is because I lost my parents. You rightly said that objects don’t really matter in life, but sometimes they become the only connection between you and the person no more.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sharukh, I’m sorry your mom and dad are both gone. I hope you have a few cherished items from them because you are correct – it’s the only connection to our loved ones when they are no longer living. Thanks for your kind and wonderful comments.

      • Sharukh Bamboat says:

        Almost 22 years ago (18th Oct) I lost my mother. Yes, I do have a watch she gifted me. I wrote about it in my first Cherished Blogfest post. I also have Dennis The Menace stickers that I bought with her. It was officially my last shopping with her. The stickers are still unused and unpacked

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I remember the watch now, Sharukh. I’m glad you have that and the stickers from your mom. How did you come about buying Dennis the Menace stickers? Did you both watch the TV show?

      • Sharukh Bamboat says:

        Back in those days stickers were very popular here. I had a huge collection of stickers. He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, Spiderman, Superman, Dennis The Menace, Archie and Veronica and so on. I never watched the show but I was a collector. I also had a collection of G.I. Joe figurines. I wanted a Barbie too but my mother never let me have one. She told me it’s too girlie and I was like Mom I don’t want for me self. So she was like then why do you want a Barbie? I was like Mom my G.I. Joe’s are all guys so my play stories are plain stupid action ones. I need a Barbie so she can get kidnapped by the Cobra guys and then G.I. Joe’s can rescue her and marry her. It would add some dimension to the story. My mom was completely speechless. Ha ha ha.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        LOL Sharukh! You had a very imaginative mind with your G.I. Joe’s. My friend’s son collected He-Man and Masters of the Universe figures back in its day. In fact, I may have bought a few for him. 🙂

  10. A wonderful cherished object…. My cherished objects all have memories, so I understand. But mine this month is also a book. RIP Sue.

  11. Esha M Dutta says:

    Lovely post. I’m sure it must be hard to miss someone so warm and affectionate as Sue was… and now, she must be smiling from above, seeing this post and how fondly you remember her! That’s true friendship!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I especially miss Sue’s presence at church and in our ladies’ group. She was such a guiding, yet humble, force in faith. And a good friend. Thanks for your thoughtful comments, Esha.

  12. Donna says:

    Thank you for sharing Sue with us. What a powerful and inspiring gift she has given you. #CBF17

  13. Ally Bean says:

    What a sad but lovely tribute to a woman who meant so much to you. It always amazes me how one item can connect us instantly to many feelings and memories. This book needs to be cherished. I’m glad you’re doing that.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve had to rely on that book a few times in the last two weeks to keep my head in a peaceful place. Sue certainly knew what she was doing when she gave it to me. I will always cherish her and her gift.

  14. G Angela says:

    What a beautiful tribute, it was so inspiring to read this post, thank you for sharing and its something lovely to cherish about.

  15. Sue would be blushing if she read your lovely homage. She must have been a lovely person. You’re lucky to have known her. And she was lucky to have such a great friend too.

      • This is sad to lose a loved one but sadder to forget them, so this is a balm to your heart to have a great friend to remember. Take care, Mary.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.