The Childrens’ Offer of Peace

“Did I offer peace today?”

“Did I bring a smile to someone’s face? Did I say words of healing? Did I let go of my anger and resentment? Did I forgive? Did I love? These are the real questions. I must trust that the little bit of love that I sow now will bear many fruits, here in this world and the life to come.”

~Henri Nouwen~


On September 3rd, neighbor Deb and I rode the Green Circle Trail in Stevens Point, WI. This trail is a loop, consisting of 13 smaller, linked trails which wraps around the perimeter of the city. Along the trail, there are connecting trails, a reserve and parks. One of the parks is the Stevens Point Sculpture Park. If you click on <<that link and go toward the bottom of the page, there is a link to the featured sculpture currently in the park. Joanne from My Life Lived Full might find this beauty of particular interest.

What Deb and I found the most inspiring, however, were the peace flags that were hanging throughout the park, along both sides of the trail.  From the park’s website:

“The community is invited to attend the Summer Celebration for the Stevens Point Sculpture Park, held annually on the second Saturday in June. The Summer Celebration, includes poetry readings, live music, artist meet and greet and more. Peace Flags made by area elementary school students, will line the trail throughout the park.”

We thought this was a wonderful idea and although we didn’t look at every single flag, there were a few that caught our eye.

Peace in any language is peace. I applaud whoever created the feline flag.

This is only a small sampling of flags from the children of local schools. While perusing the gallery, remember the words of Mr. Nouwen. Can you offer peace today? Can you make someone smile? Can you love?


This post has been brought to you by peace, love and smiles. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

26 responses to The Childrens’ Offer of Peace

  1. Dan Antion says:

    What an uplifting thing to find on a trail! Thanks for sharing this, Mary. I love the cat flag. the next time I hear MuMu scream at me, I’m going to imagine she’s saying “peace” or “I love you.”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! I might have to do the same with Gibbs and Ziva instead of thinking they are yelling, “Food, food, food! Get me food!”

      Yes, this was very uplifting…part of a very special day.

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Well, you brought a smile to this face 🙂
    … and I caught that wonderful bench long before I read your words ❤

    We can learn a lot from children. Their flags prove it … simple message, no agenda, just be happy, and feel the love.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      If only adults would start making peace flags! I thought this was an excellent project to teach the kids about love and peace. How awesome if every grade in every school did projects like this. It would give me hope and faith for the next generation.

  3. JoAnna says:

    Beautiful! Our local Grandmother’s for Peace group asks children to make peace flags at local event and hangs them up at the International Day of Peace,gathering on Sept 21. Our peace flags are on paper, but these you’ve discovered appear to be cloth? which would make them more durable. Good idea!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, they were cloth, which would stand up to the weather all summer. I really love this idea of peace flags…it’s a good experience for the kids.

  4. Aunt Beulah says:

    What a lovely network of trails decorated with art and the peace flags of children; and how fortunate we are that you brought it to us and allowed us to share it with you. I copied the Nouwen quote and intend to keep it close where I can read it and answer its questions on a regular basis. Thank you for this blog.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m happy that the quote and flags resonated so much with you. It’s a good plan to ask ourselves those questions often and to be able to answer in a positive way. Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  5. joey says:

    Super pleasant post 🙂 Love the cat flag! This put me in such a nice frame of mind, I have decided to end my interwebz session now and hold onto the happy! Thanks for sharing!

      • joey says:

        Thank you! I had a lovely lunch and a lovely nap and now I’m going to see my baby get awarded. 🙂

  6. Ally Bean says:

    I love this idea and the flags and that it’s in a public place where anyone might stumble upon it like you did. How cool is this?

  7. I really love this idea of peace flags. Very beautifully and creatively children made all these flags. Love the quotations on all these. #WATWB

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I really loved the idea too. It’s one of those projects I’d like to see in all of the schools…to give kids a sense of peace and happiness about the world.

  8. G Angela says:

    Thanks for this beautiful post on peace… the quote is inspiring… ..I remember reading by book by name wounded healer by this author, which was very good for reflections.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pingbacks & Trackbacks