SOCs: Waiting on a Prompt

It’s Friday, 4:57 pm.

I’m waiting on a prompt, waiting on a word that I’ll insert [HERE]

Wondering if I can rhyme it with something or nothing or a noun that sounds like [INSERT HERE].

Perhaps there is a story within [INSERT HERE].

It’s hard to write a story without [INSERT HERE].

Linda? Hello?

It’s Friday, 5:02 pm.

Still waiting on a prompt.

Linda is probably busy writing her post with a prompt and the new SOCs badge, created by the one and only J-Dub. Congrats on the win!



Stream of Consciousness Saturday is the brainchild of author Linda G. Hill. Every Friday, Linda provides her followers with a prompt. It can be a word or words and sometimes bonus points are involved (my favorite). Linda asks us to write without editing, other than correcting spelling errors.

Just go with the flow.

Like a babbling brook, ambling stream or running river. Click HERE if this type of writing floats your boat.


It’s Friday, 5:10 pm. I’ve been kicked off the internet.

So, I go take care of the laundry, make salmon salad, take my supplements, and eat salmon salad chips for supper.

It’s Friday, 6:08 p.m. I’m back on the internet and head over to Linda G. Hill’s place.

The wait is over! There’s a prompt and it’s PANT!

*sigh*

Nope, I can’t.

Can’t do it. I have nothing. I’m not panting from running and I have not cut a leg out of my PANTS.Β 

I have only been to the pantry for chips (boring), I never wore hot pants, and I’ve only seen a panther at the zoo.

It’s Friday, 6:18 p.m. and I give up.

I have to go finish my laundry, re-fill my old-lady, weekly pill (supplement) box, and settle in for the nightly viewing of Star Trek.

It’s a panthetic existence and this post is swimming to its end.

27 responses to SOCs: Waiting on a Prompt

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Dan. It’s salmon salad on potato chips. I mix canned salmon, kalamata olives, celery and mayo together, then spoon it on chips. It’s a lazy Friday night supper.

      We’re on Star Trek DS9, at the beginning of season 3. The Jem’Hadar have been introduced and we throw verbal bricks at the screen whenever Kai Winn or Gul Ducat show up. We don’t like those two.

      Actually, after I wrote this, we decided to rent movies, so watched “Going in Style” with Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine and Alan Arkin. Cute movie, can’t ever go wrong with Morgan Freeman.

      • Dan Antion says:

        That’s a good dinner. I don’t like olives, but I would probably like the rest. Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine are favs. Alan Arkin is usually pretty god. Why haven’t I seen this movie?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I don’t know why you haven’t seen this movie. It’s a good one. Time to go to the movie rental store and watch it.

  1. JoAnna says:

    Getting kicked off the internet is how I get things done, too. Love the Trek! Voyager, NG…but it’s been too long…need a Trek Fix, though supplement would be a better word for it. Still in SOC mode.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      This is the joy of Netflix. I can watch Star Trek, all of the series, any day or time! (except when I’m working) Hope you get your fix. πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Lois, I appreciate having an advocate for bonus points. Now, I just need to have Linda read your comment and have mercy on me.

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Great format … “It’s Friday, 5:02 pm. Still waiting …”

    For some reason, it reminded me of that PSA when we were kids … “It’s 10 pm, do you know where your children are?”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yup, it was 5:02 and I didn’t know where Linda was. I have a small window to write anything on a Friday night, so this was my solution to wondering what the socs prompt was for today.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Pantries are helpful in an apartment as there usually isn’t enough cupboard space. I’m glad we have ours.

      • That’s good for an apartment. We are in a house and do not have a pantry unless you call a kind of tall cupboard a pantry. πŸ™‚

  3. Too funny. I usually pop in Friday to see if Linda has the word up. Didn’t this week. Actually looked up “pant” to make sure I could use as it as wheeze.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I like it when Linda gets the prompt out early, so I have time to come up with a bright idea. This time, though, her lateness worked to my advantage. πŸ˜€

      • daisymae2017 says:

        Glad it worked to your advantage. Should I Congratulate you for a win. That’s where I got lost and confused. Congrats if you won.

  4. Claudia says:

    We all have days like that, my friend. Good therapy to dive into old Star Trek reruns…maybe there’s a writing prompt there! When the world and the page are blank, eat, drink, and start again tomorrow…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There’s always a writing prompt in Star Trek, but I try not to bore the non Trekkie readers with too much of it. For now, it feels like a good time to eat!

Leave a Reply

