One-Liner Wednesday: Smile

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.” 

~R.J. Palacio, from the book Wonder~


Mom was very chipper and talkative on Sunday. It was a stark contrast to when she hardly spoke two sentences to me on her birthday. She was tired then, but not this day.

Her first question was, “Are you taking me home?”

I answered with, “I’m sorry, not today. I have to go home to Appleton and to work tomorrow. Maybe next week.”

Of course, next week arrives and the question and answer repeats itself.

Mom thinks her mom and dad are living (I agree with her) and wonders who will take care of them. I tell her that her younger brothers (now deceased) are at home and will handle matters (oh, the tangled web I weave). Then she worries that they are concerned about her welfare and she asks again if I will take her home.

*sigh*

On Sunday, I asked mom to smile for a photo. I told her I would send the photo to her mom and dad to show them that she is doing well. Mom didn’t hesitate and unknowingly gave me a super duper hug with her precious smile.

I thought I’d share both with you today.


This post has been brought to you by mom and her beautiful smile. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

40 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Smile

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Aww, you’re so sweet Judy. My visits aside, mom has so many good people taking care of her that it’s not hard to sleep knowing she is, at the very least, safe. And still able to smile 🙂

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I can feel the hug from here, what a wonderful smile. It may be a tangled web, but it’s being woven by a good person. Thanks for sharing this 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Dan. I only hope that when mom finally makes it home, she doesn’t realize that her good daughter has been telling her stories. I could only imagine the response. ;-p

      • Dan Antion says:

        I’d like to think she’d understand – but yeah…”you lied to me!” I can hear that.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Maggie, that’s really all I want for mom these days – comfort and to be safe in her surroundings. I think she has a good deal of both at this point.

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Your visits with your mom always pull at my heartstrings. They remind me so much of the visits to my own mom in her later years.
    I look at your mom’s grin and I see the face of the child she once was ❤

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for the love, Joanne. Some days, mom believes she is that child or young adult. She will ask if “the boys,” meaning her younger brothers, are going back to school. I tell her they are adults and out of school and she’ll go “Oh.” Then we move onto something else, usually revolving around home, parents and siblings. Or her purse. Or the crappy food. Every visit is similar and yet it’s not. I’m just happy when she’s talkative and I can make her smile.

  3. Claudia says:

    When I tell stories to seniors about family members who are long gone, I don’t feel bad, for on some plane of existence they are still alive and well. And if it brings peace and happiness to my senior, even better. You did good.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Claudia. I’m glad to hear that from someone who works with the elderly. I’ll keep agreeing with mom, tell her stories, and make stuff up if it will keep her calm and happy.

      • Claudia says:

        I don’t actually work with older people but I remember doing that for my dad and friends with their parents. The look of calmness when I’d tell my dad that his deceased brother was doing well was worth the white lie.

  4. loisajay says:

    Mary, this is heartbreakingly beautiful. If it makes mom smile, so be it. You are a good daughter.

  5. joey says:

    I’m certain those don’t count as lies. I’m glad you can say anything to reduce her burdens. Very sweet. The smile is authentic, you’ve earned it. ❤

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Whatever it takes to keep mom from being anxious…I am willing to tell the lies. It’s so important for her to feel peace, Joey. So important!

  6. ohsweetchaos says:

    The most heart warming picture I will see today for sure!
    I wonder what she would say if she knew that her photo was on the internet and a lot of people were looking at her and thinking of their moms 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Mom would probably be aghast that I shared that photo, thinking it was not the most flattering. I think she looks adorable and I couldn’t resist sharing her cute little smile.

  7. marianallen says:

    What a precious smile! What a precious Mom! The stories you tell her reassure her about the world she’s living in, inside. I adore it that you tell her you WILL take her home, but right now you can’t because of your schedule. So much kinder than, “No, Mom, I can’t take you home.” or “THIS is your home, now.” I hope when my Mom reaches that point, I can find the grace you have. HUGS

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The road with mom’s dementia has been a learning experience. With the help of a friend, a couple of classes and an excellent book, I’ve become more comfortable in weaving stories and redirecting mom when she gets anxious about something. It really helps her if I can remain calm and not disagree with what her mind is telling her.

      • marianallen says:

        So far, my mom is still based in current reality, but forgets and wants to be reminded. With Grandpa, it was touch and go: Once, we were talking about the kittens he said were on his bed and he suddenly said, as if fed up with humoring me, “There aren’t any kittens in here, are there?”

      • bikerchick57 says:

        That’s funny about Grandpa. There have been times when I wondered if Mom was just messing with me, but I think that’s out of the question. If you have not read “Creating Moments of Joy” by Jolene Bracket, I highly recommend it.

  8. JoAnna says:

    What beautiful souls you both have! You are joining her in her journey, as my husband says.

  9. Aunt Beulah says:

    These conversations are so difficult, but I think you are handling them well. My mom once told me there is no need to force hurtful truths on someone who is incapable of benefitting from them. I’ve long followed her advice. Your mom’s smile made my day.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you for your kind comments. Your mom is a wise woman and I shall take her advice to heart when it comes to Mom and everyone else.

Leave a Reply

