Cat Poop & Jesus

Ladies and Gentlemen, it’s “Cat Poop Day.”

cat-in-the-litter-box-by-rones

Not just today, but every day is Cat Poop Day.

Why?

Because cats around the world, both domestic and wild, poop every day. Yes, every day. It’s a thing they do, much like humans, to extol the virtues of cleansing the body of stuff they don’t need.

The cause?

It’s food. Those darn cats eat food every day. Sometimes several times a day…meat, grains, meat, vegetables, meat, fuzz off the carpet, etc. So, some of what goes in must come out. Gibbs and Ziva concur. Although they eat a very good product, there is still bodily waste and they still poop. I continue to scoop their poop as the three of us have a symbiotic relationship: I feed, they poop, I scoop, they run.

Yes, sometimes the run is good after the poop. A crazy run.

“Some say post-poop freak-outs, or ” zoomies,” are a carryover survival instinct, so that predators can’t trace the smell back to the kitty responsible for it.  Others, including a veterinarian, say that it can be a sign of discomfort stemming from food allergies or even an infection. Still others, including another veterinarian, say that using the litter box might lend some fresh energy to cats, and they burn off the high with a favorite exercise: running frantically around the house. It could also be that cats run to cast off any remnants of waste. Or perhaps kitties sprint, some cat lovers speculate, because they can’t stand the smell of their own droppings.” ~The Dodo~

The latter would be Gibbs. I can’t stand the smell of his poop, so I can only imagine how it affects Gibbs, the mountain lion, especially when he’s in too much of a hurry to cover up. Stinky boy!

One morning, as I was scooping feline waste out of the litter box and placing it in a bag-lined, five-gallon ice cream pail, Natasha was headed down the hall. She could only see the latter half of me, kneeling behind a large Le Chat Noir privacy screen. “What are you doing?” she asked.

“I’m praying to Jesus.”

That was my dead-pan response. I don’t know why I said that and wonder if The Man upstairs chuckled or gave me demerits, but both Natasha and I had a good laugh over it. Now, when Natasha sees me huddled over the clumps in the box, she will ask, “Are you praying to Jesus?”

Why yes, yes I am!

cat-in-the-litter-cleaning
That’s not Stinky, but I have the same unbreakable scoop.

I am praying for the health of Gibbs and Ziva, that they live long lives, and that the mountain lion learns to cover up his smelly leftovers. (That would be good, Jesus, if you could put a bug in Gibbs’ furry ear.) As long as I’m kneeling and inhaling cat litter dust, I may as well do something positive.

While I’m scooping and praying, dear peeps, enjoy Cat Poop Day. It’s not an official holiday, but it’s a reminder that faithful, caring cat people are doing their best to keep the litter box under control and the world a more fragrant place in which to live.


If you’re not a cat person, feel free to have your own special day. Perhaps Dog Drool Day?

Linda G. Hill has her own glorious day: One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see the details and feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s Wednesday words of wisdom.

1linerwedsbadgewes

45 responses to Cat Poop & Jesus

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Great post for the holiday, Mary. Every cat owner, or every human who is owned by cats, understands.

    I’m going to go with the “don’t let the others know that that’s my stuff in there” instinct. In other words, maybe you’ll think it was Ziva’s poop. I think the man upstairs has to have a sense of humor, but he probably chuckles, shakes his head and says: “I never expected them to take those little lions inside…”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Interestingly enough, I had to take the cat poop out to the garbage this morning. So, it really is Cat Poop Day. I imagine God didn’t expect a lot of things from us, but he’s probably glad we take care of his furry little beasts.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    By the way, you get 10,000 of my special brand of bonus points for completely ignoring the whole one-line thing 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Awesome, thanks! I hope Linda doesn’t take away the 10,000 bonus points because of my wordiness. I felt I couldn’t quite get the gist of the one-liner without telling a story. I’m like my dad that way. He could never tell short stories.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    … and an additional 10,000 points from me for having cat poop and Jesus in the same post 🙂

    I’m wondering if not covering up might be a male cat thing. Theo does it too. Not all the time, but most of it. Perhaps he leaves uncovered only those of which he is particularly proud. That’s my theory 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh boy, more bonus points! Thanks, Joanne! It certainly could be a male cat thing as I have never had issue with Ziva’s litter box habits. She always covers her stuff up. Theo can be proud of his poop as long as its in the box and not somewhere else…right?

  4. So, from our double male cat household to yours, I have a question – how often do you have to pray to Jesus? My hubby is the designated pooper scooper here and reports diligently every. single. day. For example, last night – “Today we had 8 pees and 4 poos. And Black Cat is the one who builds the mini mountains in the litter box.

    By the way, my theory is that the post litterbox crazy run is because it feels so good to have empty bowels, once again.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I pray to Jesus every morning. If I come home after work and someone forgot to cover…again…then I might pray again in the afternoon. I got in the habit of 1-2 times a day scooping when I used to have three cats. That was a lot of poop and litter! No, I don’t keep track of what the kids let go of every day. I figure that’s their business.

  5. JoAnna says:

    I believe the man upstairs appreciates a good joke like the rest of us. As for me, I’d like to have a reason to celebrate dog hair day.

  6. My theory too after they poop is that it feels so good to have released the poop. We have had a recent increase in the amount of pee she leaves behind and to the vet she went, because it could be related to kidney issues. Thankfully it wasn’t. So her box gets cleaned out twice a day. I never thought of using that time to pray. Good idea!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m glad your kitty didn’t have kidney or urinary tract issues. That’s a health problem I had in one of my boys many years ago and it wasn’t fun. Keep on scooping and praying and Happy Healthy Cat Poop Day to you!

  7. joey says:

    We have three cats and two boxes and scooping is done three times a week, and filling (dumping and washing if necessary) is done on God’s day, because the trash collectors come on Monday 🙂 I do not pray while I sift. Having thought about it, I can honestly say I have never prayed while sifting, even on Sunday.
    I could perhaps muster a prayer about Gibbs’ scent when I’m in there next…
    Catticus must do his business in private. No one can be in the room during and then he darts out immediately after, as though it’s meant to be a secret. Clara saunters in and out and she doesn’t mind if someone’s in there, but peacefully — not shaking out linens or screaming at the furnace 😉 Cletus cares not about peace or privacy, has no modesty, and may not know he’s a cat? He must always watch the sifting and be the first to make in it after. They’re peculiar and I hadn’t much thought about it before.

    The dog thinks the cat poo is nectar of the gods and I JUDGE HER.

    I love Le Chat Noir divider, tres chic, Mary!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s so interesting how cats and dogs have such personality differences, the same as humans. I’m chuckling at how each of your three cats uses the litter box, especially bashful Catticus. Too funny! I used to have three cats and I tell ya, I went through a lot of litter at the time. Two of my guys were 15 and 19 lb cats and left quite the mess of poo. I had to scoop their litter every day or twice a day to keep it from being a disaster.
      Why do dogs love cat poo so much? Must be the protein. Does it taste like chicken? 😉

      • joey says:

        Catticus is big, but 13 lbs big, so not big compared to your other kitties.
        It is the protein, said the vet. I don’t know what it tastes like, but it does NOT smell like chicken 😉

  8. John Holton says:

    In 39+ years of tending to far too many cats, we’ve scooped a lot of poop. With a couple of my current clowder, which is the end of the line because we’re old and I’m crippled, we’re wondering what climbed into them and died. One of them runs around the house like a crazy cat after she poops; I think she’s trying to get away from the smell. We’ve taken to calling it her victory lap…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL! I love that you call it her victory lap! Ah yes, the victory in relieving the bowels, smelling up the room, and running away like kitty bad nothing to do with any of it. Bravo!

  9. dweezer19 says:

    Love cats. But ours were the fixed, roaming kind. Of course they stayed at hime mostly. Now and then when Sylvester mewed enough, we let him in for his glorious thirty minutes of indoor life with us humans. Helolled around on the floor, licking his treasures luxusriously until he became bored, ralizing inside was not nearly so glorious as out, then began his “let me out” chorus. Unfortunately, cats don’t under the old “In or out, make up your mind!” command we got as kids. I had four children, at least two of who were in diapers for a brief moment in time at the same time, so no litter boxes for me. I was already in poop hell! Sorry Jesus.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      “Licking his treasures luxuriously…”

      LOL! There’s a fine image, Cheryl! I can understand you not wanting to scoop poop with two kids in diapers. That would be poop overload. I think when cat spend most of their time outdoors, that’s where they prefer to be. Except in the north…where I’m sure all outdoor felines are searching for the warmth of inside when it’s -20 degrees.

      • dweezer19 says:

        Thanks Mary! I just often don’t pay attention to the details. My weekly work is very detail oriented but my spirit is like a little girl, flying across a meadow, completely oblivious to the ribbon so carefully tied to hold her ponytail as it slips from her hair into the tall grass behind her. The wind is just too engrossing for such trivailaities! 😀 God bless the cat lovers of the North then. Jesus would not like kitty-sicles all over the place. Of this I am certain…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      No worries, Cheryl. I maintain the SOCs viewpoint when others comment…let it roll and let it be. I usually know what you mean and if I don’t, I’ll ask.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Judy, you don’t have to hang your head. I understand that cats are not for everyone. I’m just happy that you provided a home for one of God’s furry creatures. 🙂

  10. marianallen says:

    OMG, I followed you from Dan Antion’s blog and I’m SO GLAD! I “pray to Jesus” twice a day here and twice a day at my mother’s. “Gibbs and Ziva”! As an NCIS fan, I have to adore that!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Marian, welcome to my corner of insanity and for praying so much. Gibbs, Ziva, Jesus and I thank you! What do you think of the cast since Michael Weatherly departed? I miss Tony, but I also like the new characters.

      • marianallen says:

        I’m the same. I LOVE Quinn. Still don’t like Ellie, but I’m coming to tolerate her. Love the new guys, though the Brit hasn’t gone much beyond eye candy yet.

  11. AmyRose🌹 says:

    How I laughed at this, Mary! I have 11 cats so you can well imagine what I go through scooping. And yes I know that wild run only too well! My two sense: The relief of dumping a big one was so great, the cat just runs wild in ecstasy! LOL As for praying to Jesus … too funny. I actually “hear” many of my small sayings while scooping out litters and I have to make a wild dash for my pen and paper to get those words before they are gone. So let me think about this a minute. My cats wildly dash and I do as well. Must be the smell firing off neurons. LOL ❤

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks