February Weird

On February 22, 2017, when the normal average temperature in Northeast Wisconsin is about 29 degrees Farenheit (-1.67 C), the thermometer was reading about 62.

Weird.

img_20170222_122057783_hdr

During lunch time, I went for a walk on the trail and then sat on this bench for about 10 minutes, soaking up the sun and warmth, before heading back to the office. This was glorious, but also the last day of what was a weirdly wonderful stretch of spring-like weather.

Thursday was cooler, in the 40’s, and then this…

img_20170225_082943683

This past Friday, in the early morning hours, I woke to thunder snow and lightning, which turned to freezing ice pellets banging on the window. It was cool to listen to from the inside and would have been a good day to stay indoors.

img_20170225_083006328

But, no. I was a good soldier. The neighbor, who is an excellent and good-hearted neighbor, scraped the ice and snow from my car. Thanks Brian! Friday was a day of ice, of scraping it off car windows and hearing slippery road reports and news of many accidents. Thankfully, I don’t have to drive the highway to work and made it there without incident.

Let’s get back to the nicely weird February weather…

It started around February 17th and Mother Nature provided a glorious weekend to be outside (old man Winter was napping). Sunny, blue skies, highs in the upper 50’s. What more could one ask for in a northern climate that usually doesn’t share this kind of warmth in February? We broke a few records during the six-day stretch and people were out in droves on the trails, either walking themselves or their dogs, trying out their new bikes, or watching children play in the park. Even though most of us knew the spring-like weather would eventually go away and hide for another month or two, it was a just reward and much-needed break from snow and cold. It’s usually the month of February that brings cabin fever to the north rather than spring fever.

I took advantage and went on lunch-time walks almost every day of the week and Sunday.

The photos in the gallery were taken at Fritse Park, which is a stone’s throw from my office. I stopped there last Sunday afternoon, on my way home from a visit with mom. It was a great day to smell mud, lake water and the promise of spring. The weird can come back any time.

How has your weather been? Unseasonable warm? Colder than cold? Or just right?

29 responses to February Weird

  1. I love weird! Yes, New England was strangely warm last week also. It just was a nice light little break to remind us that after another month and a half or so we really will be able to smell mud. 😏

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I kept telling myself to enjoy, enjoy, enjoy! Soak it in and don’t whine when winter comes back. I look at the photos and still feel the warmth on my face.

  2. This winter we’ve had near constant storms: snow, sleet, ice, hail. It was a constant battle keeping the lane on the property clear with the tractor, then chains just to make it to the main road and to get home. Past two weeks we had a bit of a break, no snow but rain. That ended today with another round of snow. I’m desperately ready to see some warm temperatures. It looked beautiful where you’re at.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s truly a bummer. I can imagine the constant bad weather is getting very old. I hope it changes soon for you and that spring comes in glorious fashion. Early!

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    The past week or so has truly been balm for the winter-weary soul. We knew it wouldn’t last, but it was such a welcome treat!! We didn’t get your thunder-snow, but the heavy winds made up for it.

    Great photos, Mary. Those ice fishing dudes make me cringe. They are out there on the ice when there is clearly open water along the shore. Gaaaahhh!!
    Having fallen through ice as a child – and lucky to have survived – I will be forever leery about frozen lakes and rivers.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I do not like being out on the ice, even when it’s thick enough to drive a car out onto its surface. When I was youIg, I was in the backseat of a two-door car with my girlfriend and our boyfriends. We drove out onto the ice of Lake Winnebago. I could hear the ice crack and all I could think of was, “How the hell will I get out of this car if the ice opens up and swallows us?” I’ve avoided lake ice ever since. Nothing happened to us, but it scared the bejezus out of me.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I’m with you. NOT a fan!! Every winter there are regular stories of people who have died after their snow machine has fallen through the ice. No thank you.

  4. We’re headed back to New England tomorrow, but have been watching the weather. What concerns me when the weather gets this warm is the effect on fruit crops. Last year, we had what was called the Valentine’s Day massacre when after many days of warmth we had a hard freeze and that was the beginning and the end of the peach fruit crop from CT to ME. So although we all love warm weather, there are consequences. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I thought about the warm-up in terms of flowers blooming early. I didn’t know your peach crop suffered last year. Hope the trees are okay as there is not much that’s better than a juicy, yree-ripened peach.

  5. Dan Antion says:

    It has been a strange winter around here, too. Not your extremes, but from very cold to unseasonably warm, to cold again. I hope it settles down, and we both get back to a normal spring. Beautiful photos – thanks for the cranes!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I would prefer a nice, steady warm-up into spring. It doesn’t have to be 62 degrees tomorrow, just eventually, with a majority of sunny days and no wind for good walking weather.

      • Dan Antion says:

        The wind is the hard part. We had gusts as high as 35mph yesterday. That makes for some hard walking. At one point, we saw some little dogs that were being blown sideways. Good thing they were on a leash.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You were brave and determined to walk in that kind of wind. Yikes! I would have probably stayed home…

      • Dan Antion says:

        I don’t get many chances to walk with Faith. She’s a serious hiker and I will have to get in shape before actually hiking with her. Other than the wind, it was a beautiful day.

  6. Ally Bean says:

    Your photo do justice to the weirdness of your winter weather. I’m in the midwest and we’ve had goofy weather, too. But ours has been less pretty than yours. In fact, looking at your blue skies, I want that shade of blue in my house somewhere. So serene.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That color blue would be good for a bedroom as a calming color. We have very pretty areas in our cities, for which I’m so grateful. I don’t have far to go to enjoy. 😊

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Laura. This hasn’t been the worst of winter’s, except I could do without the freezing rain and ice. Enjoy what remains of winter…Spring is just around the corner.

  7. joey says:

    Lovely photos. Gorgeous shot of the fallen tree in water.
    It’s been a strange February here, too. I’ve enjoyed it. Even though it’s been so temperate, we had plenty of cold the months prior, so I’m sure the garden will be better off this year than last. Most of our ice storms come in March, and we usually have some snow in April…and it has snowed in May a few times in my life, sooo…I’m not in any hurry to complain about the heat 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Joey! I remember snow in May just once, almost 30 years ago. Luckily, it wasn’t much and melted quickly after a few snowballs were thrown. I know you don’t like the really hot weather, so here’s hoping we have a mild spring and a non-blazing summer.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sun hail! It’s as weird as thunder snow, but perhaps more so since you couldn’t see a cloud above you. Mother Nature playing practical jokes…right? 😉

  8. dweezer19 says:

    Hubby bought me a kayak last week. SO excited to use it, what with our sunshine and unseasonably warm weather. Then in Marched March. This weekend gusty winds, temps 30 degrees lower at night, barely warming to sleevelees during the day. No, not fighting the wind for my ride on the bay or river. But the forecast looks better for next weekend! Hope your thaw is already taking place…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      We’re not quite in total thaw mode yet. It’s supposed to be 59 degrees, windy and raining on Monday, but then back to upper 30’s, low 40’s the rest of the week. It’s going to take a few more weeks before we can even entertain the possibility that we’re done with snow. In the meantime, I’m living vicariously through you and a friend in AL with the lovely photos of sunshine and flowers.

Leave a Reply

