Re-Purposed in a Pot

Weekly Photo Challenge: “Show us something that you’ve recycled or repurposed, or an object for which you’ve discovered a clever new use.”

aloe-repurpose

Who would have guessed that a metal glass jar ring would end up in an aloe vera plant?

Normally, such an object would serve to hold a metal lid tight to a jar filled with succulent Georgia peaches, red-ripe garden tomatoes, or crunchy bread-and-butter pickles.

Instead, this ring was used to hold up a section of the plant that was drooping over the side of its pot. Aloe tends to do that, but I was determined this sprig would stand at attention solely for aesthetic purposes. I don’t remember why I had a metal glass jar ring in my office or why I chose to re-purpose it in this manner, but it worked its magic at the time. Now, the ring is merely a garnishment, cemented in the dirt, causing visitors to ask the question, “Why?”

The aloe itself has been re-purposed many times. One sprig given to me by a friend many years ago, turned into an admirably-sized plant.

aloe-repurpose2

From this plant and the spreading of offsets, the office has five additional pots filled with aloe and I have given away three or four pots to co-workers and friends. It’s impossible to kill the darn thing, but it could have something to do with the southern and eastern exposures the plants receive and the owner’s attention to their needs. My friend, who has the original behemoth, tells me she has to continually “cull” her plant and simply throws away the baby offspring that continue to spread and grow.

That’s a little sad to me.

I prefer to give those little ones a second chance and adopt out.

17 responses to Re-Purposed in a Pot

  1. We left our aloe behind when we moved. Didn’t think it would survive the trip. Now I regret that – I mean, I knew it was indestructible. Aloe and spider plants are gifts that keep on giving. If I ever get another aloe, I will remember the sealer ring strategy!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I also had a chip bag clip in there to hold up another sprig, but I ended up needing it more for chips than for the plant. You may want to remember that strategy as well if you ever get another aloe.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I love it when things we don’t know why we have become essential. The plant looks great. I’m pretty sure it would did in my office. Either the cold or my black thumb would do it in.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yeah, it does need some amount of heat and you can’t over water. I have to re-pot the aloe every so often as it seems to like new dirt after awhile. Or maybe the roots just want to breathe air for a few minutes…

  3. loisajay says:

    This plant is gorgeous, Mary–and huge! I would love to keep one of these on my kitchen windowsill, but Parker would think I bought her something new to play with…..

  4. joey says:

    Ooh! Such a pretty monster for indoor aloe! Well done! I haven’t had an aloe plant since 2000. We moved into an apartment together and my plants were all, “Okay. This’ll do.” Then we moved into our first house and the plants were like, “See ya!” Never live in a house that kills yer plants, Mary.
    Anyway, I agree it’s a little sad. I’d love to have a sprig. In fact, I may just go get a baby and put him in a bigger pot and see how he grows! 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It just needs a sunny, warmish window and it will be fine. I’m a little concerned for the aloe’s future. Our office will probably be moving by the end of the year and not sure what direction my office window will face. It could be a killer.

      • joey says:

        Ooh, yeah. Best of luck with the move. I hope it works out.
        I had 0 south-facing windows there (garage and attic.) Here, I’m good on all sides.

  5. Joanne Sisco says:

    You obviously have a green thumb … useful for nurturing infant plants and making them thrive. You are a grandmother to many 😉

  6. Miss Lou says:

    Very nice! I was so suprised when I got a bit of aloe of a friend of mine. It didn’t die when I planted it. lol. In the past, I’ve murdered just about every plant I’ve brought into my home. This Aloe Vera stuff just goes crazy.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s so easy to transplant and grow aloe…pretty foolproof. I used to grow violets in my office, but they would last a couple of years and die. Aloe is so much easier.

  7. Those are gorgeous. Aloe Vera is a very good moisturiser, and very helpful for cooling burns, or sunburns. Maybe you could use up some of the stems ? 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Damyanti. I’ve used aloe for burns and sunburn in the past, but haven’t had a need for that in the last year or two. That’s probably a good thing!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks