One-Liner Wednesday: Descended

“Remember, remember always, that all of us, and you and I especially, are descended from immigrants and revolutionists.”

~Franklin D. Roosevelt~

franklin-d-roosevelt

My maternal grandparents were immigrants from Germany. My father was also a descendant from that country. I am of German ancestry. I have never been to the country and do not speak the language other than being able to count one to ten and say a few miscellaneous words, such as arsch.

It would have been extremely interesting to have revolutionists of another country in the family tree, but then I may not have experienced goulash, schnitzel, apple kuchen and Lenten potato pancakes.

Although I love my European heritage, I am an American – a U.S. citizen, a proponent of democracy and freedom, and proud to be a member of this country no matter its past, present or future history.

What about you, fellow descendants?

What is your country of origin or your heritage? Do you practice any of its customs, know its language, or consume mass quantities of its culture’s food? Tell me more…


This post has been brought to you by a U.S. President, German food, and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

32 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Descended

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I’m somewhat of a mixed-breed. My paternal grandparents came from Syria. On my mother’s side, Scotch-Irish and German. Some have been here from the very early days, some came later. Bits of all those cultures pop-up now and then, but all the grandparents mostly wanted their kids to be Americans. This is a good post, Mary. It’s important to remember our different heritages and how those differences made us strong.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      So, Dan, you are a bit of a Heinz 57? 😉
      It must be interesting to have that kind of heritage, to be able to investigate the many cultures and know the countries you came from. Your grandparents found honor in wanting a better life (I assume) for their kids in America. Do you ever wonder if they would do the same today?

      • Dan Antion says:

        My paternal grandparents would. They came here to escape religious persecution. They brought their religion with them. My grandfather helped build the first Orthodox Church in their new home town. That was their focus. Beyond that, they wanted to fit in as best as they could. I think that would be true today. I think it is, for a lot of people.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You’re right, Dan. Regardless of what might be going on in our country today, it’s still a democracy and we have many opportunities and freedoms that other countries don’t have.

  2. There’s schnitzel in my ancestry, too. Actually, potato pancakes sound like a good idea for lunch!

    The FDR quote bears repeating. Thanks for the reinforcing the sentiment.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome Maggie! It’s important to remember we are a huge melting pot of people, all human. Potato pancakes for breakfast would be even better!

  3. Nice way to start Wednesday. 🙂 My husband’s family is from Germany and Russia, and we still grow a berry every summer that came from that area. Every bite of a pie is thoroughly enjoyed. I have English and Irish in my history. We have traveled to England and Ireland and Germany is on our list. Immigration is a tough subject because of what is going on world wide and the medical and educational cost to the individual states.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve heard Ireland is a beautiful country and it would be great to see it firsthand some day. But Germany and Austria are at the top of my list of European countries to visit.

      Did you know that Monday was pie day? I haven’t been able to get that out of my mind and now you’ve mentioned it in your comments. I may need to go in search of it today…

  4. loisajay says:

    Polish on my mom’s side and Italian on my dad’s. I have a love for both kinds of food, and with my husband having solid Southern roots, our holidays are a happy mix of epicurean delights! I had relatives on both sides prepare a family tree for me many years ago, too, so I could see what part of each country my ancestors came from. I am so happy to have those.

  5. joey says:

    Some native — Seminole, and some Dutch, but Italian mostly. There’s plenty of language and a lot of food, but I feel American — mostly Yankee, at all times. 🙂

  6. My mom traced back lineage to the Mayflower. I also have Danish, Irish, Scots, other English, maybe some French, German, Moorish. I’m a mutt. And isn’t the most loyal dog a mutt? Culturally, it’s where I was born and raised that affected my tastes – Albuquerque. I love chile in almost anything and everything. I love the colors and textures of the desert southwest. As others have already voiced, it’s important to remember that for most of us here in the U.S., we are descendants of immigrants. Wonderful post. Thank you for sharing.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome and always remember – Mutts are not only loyal, they tend to be the most lovable too.
      I imagine you love plenty of spice in your chili. It’s one dish I used to love in the winter, but don’t eat much of now due to a disagreement with the tomatoes. I need to find a white chicken chili recipe that makes me want more!

      • Oh, I’ve got a green chile chicken stew recipe if you’re interested. I’ll write it up and post it to you. I understand the tomato thing.

      • Green Chile Chicken Stew
        1 Tbsp olive oil
        2 Tbsp flour
        2 tsp garlic powder
        3 cups chicken stock
        2 medium red potatoes cubed
        2 cups cooked chicken cubed
        1 to 2 cans Ortega green chilies, diced (or an 8 oz jar of favorite salsa)
        1 cup corn (fresh or frozen)
        Heat oil in pot. Add flour to make a roux. Whisk in chicken stock. Add chicken, potatoes, garlic, green chile (or salsa). Salt and pepper to taste. Bring to boil then simmer for 40-45 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Add corn and bring back to boil. Serve with flour tortillas.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Annoying? Not you, John! Nor do I find anyone with that awesome Irish accent or with a plate of corned beef and cabbage annoying.

  7. leendadll says:

    More than 90% of my ancestry is Welsh or British, and all of that is waaaay back – we’ve been here since the early 1800s… maybe even the 1700s…. boring white on white on white on white. The interested personas were that one male *might* have been married to a native american woman; and my maternal great-great-grandfather, who was a traveling “medicine man”… my GMa once talked about being raised in covered wagon (1 of 8 girls who lived; 4 sons died young) and having to pack up suddenly in the middle of the night as the sheriff was coming after her dad.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh wow, the story of being raised in a covered wagon…how fascinating! I often wondered how people lived like that, especially in the winter time. It had to be terribly hard and cold.
      Thanks for sharing your ancestry. I think it’s cool that your family has been here for hundreds of years. Think of the stories they have to tell of each century in America.

  8. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’m a first generation Canadian – Dutch on my mother’s side and Italian on my father’s.
    And I’m married to a 5th or 6th generation French-Canadian. Gilles claims to be more Canadian than I am, but I know that’s not true. He’s from Quebec 😉 … sorry that’s a Canadian joke 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.