One-Liner Visitation

Will you keep visiting me?”

Mom asked me this on Sunday.

“Of course I will,” was my reply.

What else would I possibly say?


Visit

Verb: To go to and stay with (a person or family) or at (a place) for a short time for reasons of sociability, politeness, business, curiosity, etc. To visit a friend; to visit family; to visit Paris.  ~Dictionary.com~


If only mom lived in Paris…

Visiting family and friends is good for so many reasons – keeping personal connections; being emotionally engaged; creating new memories; providing opportunity to have an intellectual conversation or talk stupid and laugh; or having the ability to tell someone, in person, that you love them.

During our visits, Mom and I tend to do a dance of repetitive questions and answers while I hold her hand. Natasha suggests that I tell her stories of my childhood, whether she remembers them or not. It’s a great idea that I intend to utilize on my next visit.

martini“Hey mom. Remember when I was about five years old…we had relatives visiting from Milwaukee…you and dad served martinis…I secretly sipped out of a few glasses…felt a little woozy at dinner…I don’t remember what happened after that…”

She’ll either laugh with me or believe I’m crazy.

It’s okay, either way, as long as we continue our weekly visitation.


This post has been brought to you by my mother, martinis, and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

24 responses to One-Liner Visitation

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I’m glad you’re visiting her, and I’m really glad that you’re trying to make it a good visit for her. You’re a sweetheart 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m hoping it will be, Joanne. I had been too busy trying to find out what mom still remembers and didn’t stop to think that I could just tell her.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I’m hoping that your memories trigger her own and through that experience you will learn things you didn’t know about your mom and her youth 🙂

  2. LindaGHill says:

    Doesn’t matter how often I visit mine – she thinks she never sees me. :/ Enjoy that she knows you visit her for as long as you can. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I went through something similar for a time with mom…she would say I hadn’t visited with her for a month when it was actually mere days or a week. Now she just seems glad to see me. 🙂

  3. this may seem a bit off the wall but I’d like to mail you something. You know, land mail. It’s very tiny and will fit in an envelope. Maybe you could email me an address? Don’t know how else to do this…

  4. LB says:

    This is lovely, Mary, as is the enduring relationship you have with your mother. Which doesn’t mean that there aren’t challenges … love endures though.

Leave a Reply

