One-Liner Wednesday: Right!

00-rightwomen
On the wall of the restroom area at Central Waters Brewing.

From Abandoned Shopping Carts: Personal and Spiritual Responsibility by William Bezanson:

“The reason I believe that women are always right has to do with the different ways that men and women make decisions. Men are predisposed to use left-brain thinking, which means using logical analysis, and inductive reasoning: taking particular knowledge and expanding it to be more general.

Women tend to use right-brain thinking, which means using logical synthesis, and deductive reasoning: recognizing general patterns and applying them to particular situations. This is women’s intuition.

In short, men tend to use their heads and women tend to use their hearts. Information available to the head is limited, often leading to ill-informed decisions. Information available to the heart is unlimited, and so decisions based on using the heart are mostly right.”

I like William’s take on who’s right and who’s wrong. However, I might be the last person to say I’m always on the right side. I’ve made some very wrong decisions in life, choosing to listen to an unwise head rather than a smart heart. (At least, that’s where I’m pointing the finger.)

In general, as humans, we want to be right about everything at all times. Right about the mate we choose, right about the jobs we take, right about the color of our new car, right about the house we buy, right about who said what, right about any decision and any answer.

Am I right?

Guys, am I right?

(Upon answering “right,” because I am in this instance, men may proceed to the left while nodding their heads in affirmation.)


This post has been brought to you by a bathroom sign and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

29 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Right!

  1. Dan Antion says:

    “Yes dear.” Sorry, that was a reflex reaction to 30-some years of being less-often right than I thought I was.

    Men are problem solvers. We look for solutions when, perhaps, they aren’t necessary. But, I don’t really want to argue about this. I kinda know where that will lead. You’re right Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, men are good problem-solvers. Case in point for you: A new fridge for the office. As for arguing the point, I would be up for “discussing” it at some point. The outcome might be the same, though…

      • Dan Antion says:

        I look forward to discussing it over a beers, at some point. Our new fridge was only a good answer because someone else was paying for it. If that was my fridge, it my be a more emotional decision.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Oh the emotional drama that could have prevailed given a personal choice! There might have been tears. LOL!

      • Dan Antion says:

        No choice! I only allowed one person ( a woman) to go with me to Home Depot. I had already picked out a model to buy. We bought a different model – the one she wanted πŸ™‚

      • Dan Antion says:

        There will NOT be a next time (here at work) and the choice at home is not mine to make.

  2. Of course you are. And so am I. But the damnedest thing is… being right often doesn’t get me the results I want, or make me feel any better.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      True, Maggie. If I say, “The next President is going to be Daffy Duck,” and that’s the result – but it’s not the guy I voted for – that’s not always a good “right.”

  3. Phil Ryan says:

    Interesting… my wife, Susan, would tell you she’s right nine times out of ten but then, her grasp of Maths has always been a little miss and wider miss. We tend to discuss things, like adults, and go with what she said from the outset. (I presume we go with what she said, having stormed off, to the left, in a sulk before the decision gets made, I can’t be sure.) Anyway, the upshot is we’re doing okay πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s good to hear, Phil. I think I like your wife, begin able to “discuss” and still be right. LOL! As a side note, math was never my strong suit either. I’m very wrong with algebra.

  4. cwaugh212 says:

    I know my wife is always right because she won’t claim to know something unless she is absolutely sure. Truth wins out every time. I’ve learned to go with the flow because it always works out for the best.

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    Ha ha! I always tell Pedro that I’m right, even if I have a horrible suspicion that I may be wrong half way down the line. The trick is to say it with gusto and confidence and think up a Plan B just in case πŸ˜‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! I’ll have to remember to always have a plan B ready in case I want to be right, but I’m not…which happens on very rare occasions, you know… ;-p

Leave a Reply

