Ice and Snow Ditty

ice02

Just a little ditty

About winter ice and snow

I went for a walk yesterday

Dumb idea, don’t you know


It seemed okay

The path under my feet

Until I reached the fence

And few tracks to be seen


At first the footing was sure

And I walked with a modicum of ease

Then the ice skating began

With two wobbly, unsuspecting knees


ice01

You see, the walking path was white

White with new-fallen snow

But underneath was black ice

A sheet untouched by salt or plow


It must have been the frigid cold

The days of minus degrees

A hidden, slippery path

That might take some to their knees


I was fortunate yesterday

That I made my way safely back

Without falling on my derriere

And taking a defender-less sack


So, I am staying put today

Eating soup and drinking tea

Writing this ditty for you

And being safe for me

31 responses to Ice and Snow Ditty

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Oh, bad idea. I do not want to read a blog post about you falling or recovering. I hate when the snow looks nice and welcoming, only to find ice underneath. Be careful!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yeah, there will be no attempts by me to walk the trail until the weather warms and melts the ice. It snowed here overnight, only to turn to rain today. Which means that there will now be a layer of ice on top of the snow. I guess I’ll be going to the gym…

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    I encountered the same thing today. The difference is that I was wearing snowshoes and the cleats on them dug effortlessly into the ice. I walked with confidence.
    … now admittedly there wasn’t enough snow to justify snowshoes, but Helen and I were itching to put them on and take them for a walk 😉

    … and I really like your little ditty 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Now there’s an idea! Maybe I need to buy snowshoes for winter trekking down the trail. Thanks for the thumbs up on the ditty…I almost named my post “Slip Sliding Away,” but thought I might get in copyright troubles.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        “Slip Sliding Away” describes it perfectly.
        I don’t get to use my snowshoes nearly often enough, but when I do it’s always fun. I think it’s a great solution to winter walking on trails.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I’ve thought about going to the local nature preserve, renting snowshoes, and hiking the trails. However, with today’s rain, the conditions will probably not be good for a while.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I also have grippers for my boots. They work amazingly well on ice and slippery snow. They’re also a lot cheaper than snowshoes 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Someone else told me about the Yaktrax a couple of winters ago, but I was not so keen on winter walking then. I’ll have to stop at Dick’s or Scheels this weekend and check them out.

  3. Loved the poem and your message. I wish it would snow in Mumbai. I know you might laugh at this but we’re already enjoying the chills here although it is just 15 degrees Celsius which I guess is nothing compared to your icy standards. Just few more weeks for us before the Indian summer comes along blazing.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You can have our snow, Sharukh. I will take your Indian summer! The older I get, the less I enjoy the snow and cold. If only there were a place besides heaven where the weather is always perfect!

      • I’m not sure if you can handle the Indian summer. For us 95F is a normal thing which is why need blankets and sweaters when it’s 59F outside. So, how long does it snow there? Till March?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        No thanks on the 95. That’s almost as bad as -5F. We always hope the snow ends in March, but it can snow in April and, on rare occasion, in early May.

  4. Love the ditty and the story. Husband is using the tractor to try to clear snow and ice right now. More is to come tonight and tomorrow. It’s pretty as long as one doesn’t have to go out into the storm.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Right. Unfortunately, I have to go out. I’m worried about tomorrow morning as the wind has picked up and the parking lot where I live is already turning into an ice rink.

      • I can appreciate that. I have to go in on Thursday. Not looking forward to it either. Stay safe, and keep a thermos of coffee/cocoa with you along with all the other emergency things we should all keep in our cars during the winter (says someone who only has a blanket in the truck.)

  5. Phil Ryan says:

    Nice one, Mary (the ditty not the bambi impression) may I suggest several more days staying in ditty writing. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Phil! Your suggestion is duly noted and well received. I’ll be staying in other than the occasional foray to the supermarket or gym (where I never have to fear ice on a treadmill).

      • Phil Ryan says:

        Yes, I’m always careful with the ice in my vodka and tonic when I’m treading the mill too 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Ha!Ha! I bet if I searched, I would find a gym that serves adult refreshment at the treadmills. How could anyone get drunk if they were burning it off right away?

Leave a Reply

