Random Acts of Autumn

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”
L.M. Montgomery

bench

I am too. I have a love/hate relationship with autumn. I love the color of leaves, the crunchy cool air, the blanket of leaves on the ground, and the late farmer’s market, where there is an abundance of pumpkins, squash and root vegetables. On the other hand, autumn signals that winter is coming. I don’t know if I can say that I “hate” winter. Most often, I hate the bitter cold and scraping ice and the “S” word off my vehicle’s windows.

Yes, it is too early to type out the “S” word in its entirety. Maybe in a couple of weeks…

“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.”Albert Camus

img_20161014_105042489

I love the fall flower colors – the varying shades of reds, oranges, yellows, browns. I suggest that Crayola used the autumn colors to create burnt sienna, goldenrod, burnt orange, outrageous orange, sepia and scarlet. These are flowers that honor us with their unequaled beauty every September and October.

It’s too bad Crayola had to make a white crayon…

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”
Lauren DeStefano

redtrees1

It has been an exceptional fall in this part of Wisconsin. One might call it extended “Indian Summer,” but I feel Mother Nature is simply being kind to us. It was 60 degrees at 6:00 a.m. on Saturday morning. Natasha and I walked the half mile to our weekly fitness class. We’ve had some cold, rainy days, but there has not been much to complain about.

That will come soon enough…

“No spring nor summer beauty hath such grace as I have seen in one autumnal face.” 
John Donne

img_20161014_144257667_hdr

Grace above all seasons. Autumn grace has consumed me, consumed my soul. It cries out to me to follow its path in a blanket of warm, welcoming senses. I will comply until fall gives up and fades into the next season.

Until then, I shall keep walking…

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.”
William Cullen Bryant

bridge

The random acts of this autumn have been thumb-raising and smile-inducing. From ear to ear, in the style of a kind Joker. We’ve had great weather and the extended forecast tells me it may continue.

Yes! I can handle that.

For now, the “S” word can stay away…

25 responses to Random Acts of Autumn

  1. Dan Antion says:

    These are beautiful photos and thoughts, Mary. Those look like some great days to be out walking. We have bounced back into the 50s and 60s after our freak bout with the white stuff, I hope it was just a reminder of what could happen, but won’t happen for a while. Enjoy the cool weather while you have it.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I plan on enjoying this week. It’s supposed to be 67 tomorrow, then upper 50’s and low 60’s the rest of the week. The walking trail is going to be my friend 🙂

      • Dan Antion says:

        My walking will be limited to a 1/2 mile round trip for coffee in the morning, but at least I can still find folks to make that walk. Have a great week!

  2. Beautiful color. 🙂 I saw some “S” flakes last week, and it was way too soon as far as I’m concerned because I don’t have those beautiful but now crunchy leaves all raked up. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Well, Judy, I hope your weather is nice enough for raking and maybe taking a leap into the leafy pile.

  3. I hope you appreciate the sacrifices we are making here to keep the S word away from you for as long as possible. You do know that we sent you our warmth, right? At least, I’m assuming that’s what’s happened. It’s November tomorrow and it didn’t even get to 16C today. I also think we must be hoarding your S word stuff just in a more liquid form. Is it unethical to live in a country so easily prone to drought and want to shout “Enough with the rain already!”?

    But your Autumn does look lovely so I hope it hangs around for a while yet for you. Just let me know when I can send the wet stuff your way.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you for taking one on the chin for us, H. I really do appreciate it from the bottom of my heart.You may have your chance to send the wet stuff over here in the form of “S” soon enough. The Farmer’s Almanac and one other source are predicting lots of snow for us this winter. But I always hold out hope that those predictions are wrong and that the mildness of fall will continue into winter.

      You must be getting the equivalent of our “April showers bring May flowers.” Or maybe not. In any case, let me know if I need to send the ark your way.

  4. loisajay says:

    As usual, the A/C is still running because we are having exceptionally hot weather this October. I really do love the fall, but I am hard-pressed to call October a ‘fall’ month as far as our weather is concerned. Bring on the cold! Oh, and…..you can keep your wet stuff.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s not hot enough here to run the A/C, but I have been keeping the bedroom windows open at night when the temps stay in the 50’s. It’s awesome. Not to worry, I won’t send any wet stuff or “S” word your way.

  5. Joanne Sisco says:

    This post pretty well sums it up for me too. It’s been absolutely glorious! The high winds have kicked most of the leaves off the trees now, but we continue to enjoy above seasonal temperatures … even if it is accompanied by rain.
    Let’s enjoy every minute of it while we can!!

    Love the photos – especially the bridge in that golden light 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Joanne! It’s supposed to be another beautiful week, which is great. The downside is that I’m too busy to take a day off and go for a bike ride. Or maybe I should say “to heck with it” and just do it. Have fun outside and enjoy!

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Thanks Mary. I’ve been sticking to feet on the ground lately. Hiking works for me right now 🙂

  6. joey says:

    Lovely fall photos! I think we’ve just now hit peak color in the city! We’ve taken to woods the last three weekends, and this weekend coming up looks as though we’ll be out again. Indian summer indeed! 🙂
    I love snow, Mary, I looooove it, but even I don’t like scraping the snow off the car and shoveling the walkways. I don’t mind it as much early in the year, but come February and March, I just wish it would clear itself. Still, for me, it’s better than sweating while weeding the garden…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m glad you are getting out with the family to enjoy the splendid color. Keep going! Take pictures!

      I prefer snow over cold and the first few snowfalls are always so pretty. You are right, though…by February, I want the snow and cold to end. That’s the time that I want to jump in my car and drive south to where it’s at least 55 degrees and sunny, just to warm up.

  7. sandmanstwin says:

    Oh wow, do you have ‘mischief night’ in Wisconsin too? Ours is this week, part of the holy trinity with Halloween and Bonfire Night. Urgh, the amount of excrement I’ve scraped off my windscreen in years gone by! I’m so pleased you didn’t spell it out in full, it’s not a pleasant word but my advice? If you’re going to handle it do wear gloves and scrub your hands thoroughly too, just as an added precaution.

    Oh, apparently my speed reading needs some work. Erm… Lovely post, BC, sorry I got the wrong end of the s*** stick.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL! You do know I was talking about the white “S” and not the brown “S”, right? In either case, I will be wearing gloves! I don’t believe we have mischief night or at least I’ve not participated in it. There’s plenty of mischief on Halloween with toilet papered trees and flaming bags of poo (I’ve never done either, I swear). Bonfire Night sounds wonderful…nothing better than a big blazing fire to stand around. Where are the weenies and marshmallows?

      • sandmanstwin says:

        Are you using ‘flaming’ as a curse or an adjective?
        Bonfire night’s to commemorate Guy Fawkes’ attempt to blow up the Houses of Parliament. It’s great, all that burning, weenies, marshmallows and fireworks, but just think how good the festivities would be if he had succeeded. (Just kidding, love politicians really, especially the out for themselves brigade)
        Although I did realise you were referring to white S i just tried to employ my stupidity for comic effect. Sadly my stupidity is all too convincing… 😉

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Adjective! One puts poo (from the dog) into a paper bag and places it just outside a resident’s door…then sets it on fire and rings the doorbell. The resident supposedly comes out and stomps on the paper bag to put it out, only to find that there’s a mess inside that paper bag. I’ve never seen it put into action, so not sure how often that works as a practical joke.

        I love your s**tty sense of humor…ummm, I mean stupid humour! I have the issue with stupidity too. My former FIL used to look very strangely at me when I’d use my father-given sense of humor. Some people don’t appreciate artfully crafted delivery.

  8. sandmanstwin says:

    Ooh your former FiL sounds like the judge at my last trial. They just don’t handle wit well do they….
    I believe you BC, your description is so vague you clearly have no first hand experience. It’s the dog I feel sorry for. He has to provide it all himself? For the whole neighbourhood?
    You may have been right the first time with regards my sense of humour but thanks for the backing 🙂 I’ve got to go and feed a laxative to the dog next door now. Apparently mischief night was last night but you’ve given me an idea that’s too good to miss!

  9. Great pictures and I loved the way you blended quotes with the content. In India, autumn associates with the festive season so there’s this sense of happiness and merry all around.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Sharukh. It’s another beautiful fall day here. Temps are in the upper 60’s F (about 20 C), which is very abnormal for us on the first of November. We’re usually 15-20 degrees cooler. I could call this a festive season because the weather has made us all very happy.

      • The climate here is pretty pleasant. Normally, it should be around 28-30 C, but its 24 C. We over here welcome winter because it stays for only 2 months or less, and the rest is just summer and monsoon.

Leave a Reply

