National Cat (ur) Day!

tree-kids-012Hey, pssst, Gibbs! Do you know what day it is today?

Ummm…Queenie, it’s 1:00 a.m. and I’m trying to sleep. Why are you asking me stupid questions?

It’s not a stupid question and don’t give me that crap about trying to sleep. You wake the human when she’s trying to sleep and that doesn’t seem to matter.

That’s different.

Well, okay, you can tell yourself that and believe, but I’d like you to answer my question. Do you know the significance of today?

Significance? Oh boy, you’re using pretty big words for early in the morning.

Well?

I don’t know. Is it Cat Poop Day?

No. That was yesterday.

Is it Tuna-Out-Of-The-Can Day?

Yuck, no.

Is it Catch-a-Bird Day?

Not on your life.

Is it Don’t-Yell-at-Gibbs Day?

gibbers-003

Close. You’re very close. It’s National Cat Day!

National Cat Day? Really? What happens on National Cat Day other than humans glorifying the feline presence?

I’m not sure, but I hope it means the humans are nice to us, shower us with gifts, give us extra food and face rubs, and throw some treats at us several times throughout the day.

You’re really hoping for the food and treats part, right?

A feline girl can dream.

I’m hoping that our human doesn’t leave us alone all day, like she’s done the last five days.

Idiot! She leaves us during the week so she can pay for our kibble and the roof over our heads. She leaves us with our cat tree, a warm bed, plenty of cat toys and two windows for viewing of birds. What more do you want?

I want National Cat Day.

Well, you’ve got it.

I also want my human to stay home and shower me with affection.

Well, good luck with that. Frankly, I don’t mind that she’s gone during the day. It’s quiet and I get a lot of uninterrupted sleep.

You get too much sleep. That’s why you’re portly.

Just stop it, will you? Every single time, there has to be a joke or comment about my stature. I don’t call you an idiot or joker or attention-seeking, incessant jerk…do I?

No.

Well, then, stop it.

Oh, alright. I’ll be nice.

Good. Go back to sleep and dream what’s in store for you on National Cat Day.

I can’t. I’m too excited to sleep.

Dude, we’re not going to Disneyland. Go to sleep.

*pause*

Ziva?

Yes, Gibbs?

Do you know the significance of Monday, October 31st?

It’s the start of the human’s work week. She leaves us alone all day and I get my beauty sleep.

No, silly! It’s Halloween!

Yes, I knew that. It’s a day of scary costumes and treats and black cats that go bump in the night. I’m hoping we’ll get more treats on Halloween. I never get enough treats. Where are the freakin’ treats?

*Gibbs bites his lip*

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy National Cat Day and Halloween Monday from the kids! Give your felines some love and treats!

22 responses to National Cat (ur) Day!

  1. sandmanstwin says:

    Te he. They’re adorable! Happy National Cat day to them both from a country that apparently doesn’t partake in such fare. (I’m appalled! First brexit and now this!!)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s time for a protest! Let’s make it Worldwide Cat Day!

      The kids extend their “thanks” for noting their adorableness, but Ziva wants to know if you have any treats.

      • sandmanstwin says:

        Ooh Ziva’s even more adorable than I first suspected.
        To my shame I haven’t. Well, I did but in showing some ‘cross pond solidarity our cat got her greedy little greasy paws on them. Sorry Ziva, I hope you’ll find solace in that they went to a nice, warm, fat, spoilt tum.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    We’re trying to figure out the difference between National Cat Day and every other day. Let’s see: Sleep – check. Treats – check. Face and belly rubs – check and check. Special food – check. Toys to be played with and playing time – checkcheck.

    Still not seeing it.

    Give Gibbs and Ziva a little something extra. I’ll brush MuMu and the Mrs just rescued MiMi from the closet she crawled into.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL! I know, Cat Day IS every day. However, I did buy them both a couple new toys that they’re already ignoring. The new toys will go well with the tin of toys that they ignore every day.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    hmmm – National Cat Day?

    Well, I’m glad HRH Queen Ziva didn’t tell Theo, and I’m sure not going to. He’s already been a handful lately.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      What’s up with Theo? Has the change of seasons gotten under his skin? Is he representing grumpy cat?

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        You know how little kids go through a stage where they start talking back? Well Theo is going through one of the stages – again.
        He’s always been a vocal cat, but lately he’s had a LOT to say – especially when he wants something.
        It’s just as well I don’t know what he’s saying because I think it would be naughty.
        Last night we had sushi.
        Gilles finally gave him several slices of salmon just so he would stop making noises at us.
        I think that’s all I need to say 😉

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Ohmigosh, Gibbs will do the same thing. He sings the song of his people and very loudly. Natasha and I will be watching TV at night and all of a sudden, we can hear Gibbs yowling in the bedroom. He’ll do that during the day too and we have no idea what his problem is or what he wants.

        Let’s not ever put our two cats together…

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I now understand what you mean about the ‘song of his people’. I didn’t realize THAT’S what you meant!!
        My son says I’ve spoiled him rotten, but when Theo gets wound up, we eventually cave. He has endurance that wears down even Gilles.

  4. loisajay says:

    National Cat Day?! I had no idea. I’ll tell Teemu and Parker once they decide to wake up…. Enjoy your day Ziva and Gibbs! Make sure your human showers you with treats! **get on it, Mary!**

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Toys already purchased, the treats will be next…sometime between lunch and dinner. Guaranteed. Please give Teemu and Parker an extra face rub from me.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Katie. Yes, pretty much every day is Gibbs and Ziva day…they don’t usually let me forget that.

Leave a Reply

