What? Again?

busy1

I barely had time to breathe during a four-day Memorial weekend, let alone publish a post. But, as I let the chemicals turn gray to a lovely shade of dark mahogany brown, and before I visited mom and spent the beautiful blue-sky afternoon with girlfriends, I found time to begin this rambling story.

Natasha said to me on Sunday, “There’s always something to do,” and she’s right. Always. And I wonder how that happens to a single, sans children adult whose only mandatory commitments are to work and mom and making sure I have food in the refrigerator.

It’s my own fault. I want to do it all within a too-short time period, which means that I tend to forget about enjoying the moment. Monday morning, as I woke to the sun shining and birds vocalizing their pleasures, I started to worry about everything I wanted to accomplish in the next 14 hours. It made me anxious. Stupidly anxious. Memorial Day is a holiday in the U.S., one for remembering our fallen veterans and finding our own way to honor and celebrate. It’s not a day for worry. So, after my third cup of coffee and the realization that I didn’t have to do it all, I relaxed and made plans to visit mom and spend an afternoon with girlfriends at Waverly Beach (a local bar on the shores of Lake Winnebago), listening to a band, having adult refreshment and soaking up the sun at the edge of the tiki bar.

That all being said, I’d like to tell you about the rest of the weekend.

Sunday was flower planting day. I made the decision to stay home from church to get this project completed (I miss church once in a while to overcome the childhood Catholic guilt, bestowed upon me by my parents, over the fact that we could never miss Sunday church unless sick or dying or given a pass by the Pope). We had purchased our flowers on Friday, in between a gully-washing thunderstorm and on-and-off showers. It took us a good part of the day as we had to go to the storage unit to get the planting table, along with two runs for dirt (a/k/a “black gold” considering the cost), a couple of rest breaks and the act of tenderly removing plants from their temporary home and placing them into their permanent one. This is one of those projects that is tiring and makes my back hurt. In the end, however, the fruits of our labor are always smile-inducing.

On Saturday morning, I caught up with laundry and Natasha and I got ready to attend a birthday cookout at Red’s house. The day started out great with blue skies and intermittent clouds, but by the time we started a game of croquet, a rain storm appeared. No matter. By then we had already shared brats, hamburgers, campfire potatoes (in the oven), mixed fruit, beans, and adult beverage over a conversation of life, friends and the special, made-up-as-you-go rules of croquet. If you are wondering about the latter, player Danno received -50 cool points for talking too much and conspiring to make this into a game of Survivor Alliance Croquet. Lucky for him, the storm interrupted any chance he had for a comeback and win or additional subtraction of points.

As for Friday, this was my favorite 24 hours of the long weekend.

Have you ever spent a day with a friend, significant other or family member where the giggles and snorts and moments of witty comedic retorts never end? Yeah, Friday was one of those days. I’m not going to relate everything that was said as some moments are never the same unless you were there…much like the best joke ever, gone terribly wrong on the tongue of a bad story teller.

The day started innocently with sleeping in until 7:00 am, then traipsing out to the kitchen for coffee. Natasha was already up and we confirmed our plan to buy flowers for the patio later that morning. We headed out about 10:30 am, first making a trip to the storage unit to get our patio pots and boxes and miscellaneous planting items. It started to sprinkle while we were there and it was evident a very dark mass was headed our way. No matter, we were traveling in the opposite direction to the greenhouse and felt we could outrun the dark mass, buy plants, and escape.

We were wrong.

heavyrainThe heavens opened up while paying the bill inside the greenhouse. Naturally, I had left the umbrella in the car. The car was on the other side of a farm building, sitting on top of what would become a wide river from the rain. Natasha and I stood in the greenhouse for a while, listening to it thunder, catching an occasional glimpse of lightning, when Natasha said, “Let’s go. It’s just water.” I couldn’t argue with that since the lightning had stopped and humans do not melt or die from rain water on the skin. So, we calmly walked fast to the car, forged the river, placed plants in the vehicle and jumped in…totally soaked and somewhat chilled. Most normal people would say, “Let’s go home and put on dry clothes,” but we’re not normal. It’s what makes us good friends. Abnormal Star Trek nerds to the end.

We headed in the direction of home, giggling about our wet dog looks, hoping to stop at Free Market (an organic grocery store), when Natasha had a brilliant idea. “Let’s go to Riverside Florist first!” Well, okay, but Riverside is back that way (I made a pointing gesture), back in the direction we came from. Natasha didn’t remember the location of Riverside in correlation to our current position. Nevertheless, we headed in an easterly direction, backtracking somewhat to the next florist.

Only to find out they had moved.

Further east to the next town of Little Chute.

We kept going. East. To Little Chute. Crossing the county road that had taken us to the first greenhouse. That was funny.

We couldn’t seem to find the new location of Riverside Florist, so we stopped at a place called Reynebeau’s, which I determined on Monday is really Riverside. Confusing, to say the least. Anyhow, we found lobularia and nemesia and wandering verbena and declared our plant shopping completed. The giggles and comedy, however, did not end. We drove to several other places on Friday – Free Market, Costco, the regular grocery store, a second trip to the storage unit, etc. –  spending quite a few hours in the car. We had plenty of time to talk stupid and some of it came on the back of a seriously bad commercial for weight loss. The weight loss program is called the KadileAtric Power Principle and Dr. Kadile himself tells anyone who would listen, “It’s not your fault, you’re fat.”

Honest to God.

Worst TV commercial ever.

Insulting, in my opinion.

Why not just tell me it’s not my fault I’m ugly or stupid? Really?

So…while wandering the frozen dessert aisle at Costco, Natasha found coconut bars that had nothing bad in them. No corn syrup solids or tons of sugar or artificial additives that kill. They looked good. We would have purchased them and split the cost except that the freezer at home is currently full. Maybe next time. As we walked away, I commented that the coconut bars could be a good thing or a bad thing.

“I don’t know why I gained five pounds. I’ve only been eating six coconut bars a day.”

Natasha thought the dry delivery was hysterical. Her retort, “It’s not my fault I’m fat!” 

Yes, this is how the day went. Many dry deliveries, many smart aleck retorts. And, as we drove around for hours and hours – weaving to and fro, backwards and forwards, here and there, east and west – Natasha had another great comment.

“I think I have to poop.”

LaughI replied, “What? Again? Didn’t you just do that yesterday?”

Natasha started to laugh. Then I started to laugh. Then tears from uncontrollable silliness. Our ribs started to hurt. I snorted.

We haven’t laughed like that in some time…perhaps when we last imbibed in chocolate martinis (the sugar is a laugh inducer; yes, it’s the sugar).

The day ended as almost every day ends…with our nighttime hour of a Star Trek episode. I know, it’s lame and we probably both need a life, although I’m not quite sure how much more of life we can fit in. There’s always something to do.

In a nutshell, it was a busy, productive, laugh-inducing weekend that is now a memory. I could have used another day off to sit around and do nothing, but that would have only put me farther behind at work. At least today I can sit as long as I want at my desk, working the Excel spreadsheets and catching up on emails.

How was your Memorial Day weekend, people? If you do not live in the U.S., let me know how you enjoyed your Saturday and Sunday. Did you have a “What? Again?” silly moment? Or a good laugh?

25 responses to What? Again?

  1. cwaugh212 says:

    Our neighborhood had a pool party scheduled for Sunday that got postponed until Monday. Then Sunday night it got cancelled because of the negative weather forecast. Monday morning the skies cleared and the sun came out bright and strong, so everyone went to the pool anyway and had a great time. It was a good way to end a long rainy weekend caused by tropical storm Bonnie. I’m just glad we didn’t plan to travel south on I95 through South Carolina. The highway was closed for a long time due to flooding.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I saw the flooding in the Carolina’s on the news. Really bad. That’s when I stopped whining about the three days of intermittent rain we had. The Friday downpour was the worst of it, although we are expecting more rain this week. I don’t know what’s up with this weather…it’s cramping the bike riding time.

      Pool parties are fun. Our apartment building usually has a Memorial Day cookout, but this year everyone was busy. I was a little sad about that.

      • cwaugh212 says:

        Bikes don’t like that kind of water. I practiced with a learner’s permit in the early ’90s but never followed through. I follow 2 Million Biker’s to DC North Carolina chapter on Facebook. I love what that organization does.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Oh, I meant the pedal type of bike, although I used to ride a Harley too. I would never go on a ride in that kind of weather, it’s far too dangerous.

      • cwaugh212 says:

        My friends Harley that I practiced on was very heavy with a difficult kick start. I’m getting a little old now to think about trying to ride again.

  2. It was a Bank Holiday weekend here in the UK. So it was a long weekend, Monday was an extra day for a weekend off – if you work? I am lucky in being retired but am busier than ever as a textile artist. So every day is a holiday! Which I spent in the garden, sorting out my wardrobe and looking out fabrics for a new project. I also went to a Regional Quilters Guild event and it was lovely to meet up with old friends and meet new ones. It was great fun finding other people who are enthusiastic about textiles and colour as I am. Having a meal out with DH as well was important for our relationship. So was my 3 day ‘holiday.’

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sounds like a great weekend, Sheila. I have a friend who is a quilter and she goes to events such as the one you mention. I wanted to make a quilt at one time, out of Harley Davidson scarves, but ended up using them in a scrapbooking project instead. It cost far less in materials and I’m sure you understand that. Have a good rest of your week!

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I felt myself smiling several times while reading this. It’s Tuesday afternoon. I had a crappy day at work but now I’m smiling. Thanks for that, Mary!

      • Dan Antion says:

        Ha ha. No. For once it was a technical problem. Something not behaving as planned.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Oh bummer. I totally understand how IT issues can be frustrating. I tend to have very little tolerance for technology behaving badly.

  4. joey says:

    Haha! I laughed at a lot of this! Especially the coconut bar joke, hehe! Moo gets some diabetic, gluten-free coconut chocolate bars at Aldi and she loves them. (She’s not diabetic or gluten-free, but whatever makes her happy.) I tried one, it wasn’t too bad, but it’s definitely good-for-you food. I’d rather have a Mounds bar 😉 It is totally my fault I’m fat. And also, hormones, me thinks.
    I think I need a day with my bestie and I cannot imagine when I’ll next see her. Well, actually, I’ll see her Wednesday, but not spend lots of time with her. I think it’s been close to a year since she spent a day here. How sad.
    Anyway, I too, skipped church (Many months now, when I go back, they’ll make a fuss and embarrass me.) colored my grays and dug around in the dirt. I ate yummy food, watched many movies, and did some DIY round the house. It was a nice weekend 😀
    Your verbena are beautiful — kinda makes me want some…but perennials…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Coconut chocolate bars? I’ll be passing an Aldi in about a half hour. Hmmm…
      I’m an Almond Joy girl, but I rarely eat them anymore. I crave the true dark chocolate now, the 75% cocoa stuff that makes many people gag. Anyhow, you had a very nice weekend, sounds relaxing. Next year, you can think about verbena if you have room in between the perennials.

  5. joannesisco says:

    Silly, giggling, happy-go-lucky days are simply the best, and generally as adults, we don’t have nearly enough of them!!!
    Your weekend sounded perfect to me – friends, laughter, food, drink 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know. That kind of laughing til you cry ought to be a mandatory once-a-week occurrence. It’s such good therapy!

      Are you feeling any better today?

  6. I loved the sound of your weekend. Mine was spent sitting on the couch doped to the eyeballs so yours sounded like much more fun. On the laugh-til-you-cry, one theory re this latest injury is that I pulled a chest muscle trying to stifle hysterical laughter backstage the other week. 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      So, lesson learned. Do not contain hysterical laughter. Much like stifling a sneeze, injuries are bound to happen. Next time, open your mouth and make some noise! 😂

      • I’ll suggest it for the next budget but I think we’d rather have a backstage toilet. (The only facilities are accessed in the hall. Where the audience is. It’s…. awkward.)

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Ohmigosh, yes, you need a backstage toilet or a different venue. That’s kind of funny, but it’s not.

  7. LB says:

    Perfect! Friendship, food, flowers, and laughing until your sides and stomach hurt. So fun!
    Great picture of the rain.
    By the way, it is so important for us to have days like this, to reduce the anxiety. Women in particular, fill so many roles, and it does get overwhelming. Good for you!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It absolutely is the best medicine to laugh with friends,Laurie. There’s nothing that compares. PS: I can’t take credit for the rain photo…it came off the internet.

Leave a Reply

