Rule the Day!

NUMBERS are everywhere: this week, share a photo that puts them front and center.

ruler

Monday through Friday, 6:45 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., numbers surround me. They are on the papers covering a workstation. They are on the Excel spreadsheets lingering within a computer. They are on a clock within a stone’s throw; on the keypad of a multi-function device.

And they are right in front of me. On the platform that holds a keyboard, a mouse, and various other sundries, lies a page from this year’s cat calendar, along with a cat ruler that has followed me around for many years (20 or more). These days the ruler is used to draw lines, to underscore the important and to strike through the unnecessary. Once in a blue moon, the ruler measures. On the other hand, the calendar page is a handy, quick glance if I need to look at a date or count weeks or determine the days that I will request vacation. Yes, I could use the calendar on the computer; however, that would require mouse clicking. I utilize the calendar page to save energy.

I use both to rule the day.

16 responses to Rule the Day!

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I wrote a comment and posted it but it’s gone 😦 If this ends up being a duplicate, please delete one of them.

    This sounds like a great system and I love your choice of tools. I have two paper calendars, an Irish Setter one and one of Doors. I also have a ruler on my desk. It’s a precision steel machinists ruler. I used it in the 90s to layout reports. Now I just use it to draw lines.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Dan, I found your comment in spam. What the heck? Not sure what is going on, but this is weird. A calendar with doors? Really? That’s hilarious, but I suppose you take that very seriously. Anyhow, make sure you reply to this comment and see if it “takes”.

      • Dan Antion says:

        My wife found a Doors calendar and figured I had to have it. Thanks for rescuing me from the spam bucket.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You’re welcome, Dan. I’m still not linking to the challenge page and I don’t know why. And I’m too tired to try and figure it out.

  2. joey says:

    I love Boynton, and you just don’t see much of it around anymore. Delightful ruler. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You receive 1,000,000 bonus comment points for knowing the artist of the ruler. Of course, being an artist yourself probably helped, right?

      • joey says:

        Am I an artist? lol
        In high school, I worked at a card shop 🙂

      • joey says:

        I’ll agree to that. Or artistic. But artist sounds so…more than I am. 🙂

  3. LB says:

    Mary, I love how your writing is developing, and I hope that doesn’t offend. You may have always been writing, and I’m just now noticing how much I like reading what you write … you know, without the photos.
    Make sense?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Laurie, I am not offended at all. I always strive to improve my writing and I’m honored you noticed and that you like it. 😃

  4. joannesisco says:

    I love your cat ruler. Like Dan, mine’s a steel number confiscated from somewhere a very long time ago.
    … and I too prefer paper calendars. A large desk-blotter calendar marks my office territory on the dining room table, and a large shoe calendar graces my fridge. It is the shoe calendar that keeps my life organized 🙂

Leave a Reply

