Vivid Since 1948

Ardy and Ed’s has been a well-known landmark in Oshkosh, WI, since 1948.

ArdyandEds

The vivid red drive-in is famous for its hamburgers, ice cream and waitresses on roller skates.

They serve customers in their vehicles while 50’s and 60’s rock ‘n’ roll blares from the loudspeakers.

I took mom there a couple of weeks ago to cap off an earlier lunch and ride through the city park.

Mom enjoyed it immensely, so I plan to take her back soon.

Perhaps tomorrow.

It may be a vivid memory that she can hold onto.

(For additional vivid photos, click here.)

15 responses to Vivid Since 1948

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s fun to watch the girls skate. I don’t know how they can do that and carry a tray of food. I wonder how many trays have gone over since they opened.

  1. Judy L. Brekke says:

    I love drive-in food places like this. We have one close to us called “The Galaxy”. I will post some photos soon.

  2. loisajay says:

    So happy your mom enjoyed it. I’m with you–roller skating while holding a tray of food….not gonna happen!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There aren’t too many places like this left. They are like the old drive-in movie places…fighting from becoming extinct.

      • Same here. We never had anything like what’s in your photo but I remember the drive-in movies. It’s funny, though, as some of them are being resurrected. Nostalgia is big. 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Drive-in movies were fun! I would go again in a heartbeat if it was resurrected in my area. I think the trouble, though, in the northern part of the country, is that the season is so short. It’s hard to make money in 4-5 months out of the year.

      • There’s three in Melbourne. The nearest is a bit over an hour’s drive away. Really should take the boys at least once. May be an excursion for the next school holidays. 🙂

  3. Natasha says:

    That just flat out looks like a place I have to go next time I visit the area…thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.