Driving Winter from my Face

Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face. ~Victor Hugo~

This winter, I choose to follow Victor’s words. I choose to laugh. I choose to smile through the cold, the snow, and the shortened, dark December days…to drive the blasted winter from my face.

Sunday morning brought the first signs of winter to the area.

winter Blur

Outside the apartment, a light dusting of snow covered the farmer’s field. The first snow event is always welcomed, along with the wished-for fluffy white Christmas Eve snow. The rest of the winter snow events are met with varying degrees of excitement and loathing. I love a blizzard when I can stay home from work, drink hot beverages, and watch TV all day. In contrast, I loathe a one-inch snow that greases the road and sends vehicles sliding through stop signs and into ditches.

We have had on and off snow, and parts of Minnesota and northern Wisconsin have been hammered with up to 18” of snow since Monday. It is still snowing in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and it appears this snow event is headed to Canada. Cold and wind will follow this storm, with highs expected in the 20’s F (or -4 to -5 Celsius) for the rest of this week and into the next. Lows will be….frigid.

The ends of my mouth are starting to turn toward the dirt. Quick! Someone tell me a joke!

How many of you had first-hand experience with the polar vortex of 2013-2014? That was fun, wasn’t it? I consistently wore long underwear under my clothes from the 1st of December to the end of March. Weeks went by with highs never making it past 20. Days went by with wind chills that even a polar bear would not enjoy. Last winter was bone-freezing, to say the least. I attempted to whine about the cold a few times until Natasha told me to stop. “For God’s sake, it’s winter in Wisconsin!” she would say. (Yeah, but THIS is like winter in Antarctica.) Nevertheless, I tried to keep my mouth shut and continued to dress in warm layers. That’s all one could do because no one could change the weather. It was out of our hands.

I think it was early fall when I first heard predictions for this winter – as cold or colder than last year, as much snow as last year, another possible polar vortex. I put my hands to my ears and sang, “La, la, la, la, la, I can’t hear you!”  (I am not a fan of the Farmer’s Almanac.) A later prediction intimated we might have a normal winter, one which I wrapped with love around my psyche for a few weeks.

Oddly enough, I don’t feel dread about the 2014-2015 winter. I am taking a positive stance this year – determined not to whine, determined not to hibernate all weekend under the blue tones of an afghan that my mother knitted years ago. I am telling myself to buck up and smile broadly. I am anxious to continue my walks outside and breathe in the crisp winter air. It IS a choice, one that I can make for myself, to stay emotionally un-battered from the season’s grumpiness.

And, really, it’s not officially winter yet. What if we have a frigid fall and a warm winter? That would make the Northern Hemisphere laugh, right?

I plan to laugh regardless.

For Victor.

17 responses to Driving Winter from my Face

  1. ladysighs says:

    I like the quote. That’s about all I will comment. After all what can a person who lives in the south where there is no snow and no shoveling and only a light jacket needed and temps not to go much lower than 30 or so say? So just won’t say anything about it and think about the nice little sunshiny walk I will take tomorrow probably without a sweater. I’m already sweating thinking about it.

    Maybe I could post a joke here or something that would make you laugh. 🙂

  2. joannesisco says:

    Delusion. Yup – that might actually work to get me through another winter. If it’s like last winter, I’ll need all the help i can get. Delusion, chocolate, wine. Not necessarily in that order.

  3. Snowed here too. More ice than anything which made for a fun drive into work. 🙂 My hubby’s company pushes the “white gold” in the winter time so he was on CLOUD 9! Stay cozy, keep smiling and have a nice warm drink.

  4. Dan Antion says:

    No white stuff yet in Connecticut but I did spend last weekend putting the garage back in “car housing” mode. We’re still waiting for the last leaves to fall. Your post makes me realize that it’s coming but at least I can tell myself that I’ll be ready too.

  5. Most November days here in the Pacific Northwest are damp, dreary, and chilly (but not cold). This time . . . the winds started last night. They are in the 30 to 45 MPH with gusts to 60. Tomorrow is going to be better with sustained in the 50 to 55 MPH and gusts to 80. I CAN’T wait! Temps are already freezing. Then early Thursday the snow event starts. Now, I enjoy the snow like anyone else, but I’m concerned about the power outages. Portland and Vancouver, WA have had several today. We’ve had several light flickers but so far so good. I’ll drink and extra cup of cocoa for you. I’ve got a lot of tree limb clean up to do when this all blows over. 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Wow, that’s not good. I hope your area gets through the storm with minimal damage. I think I need to drink a gallon of something hot for your. Take care and be safe.

  6. So I should probably not tell you that it’s going to be 33C here tomorrow, right?
    Still find the idea of a high of -5C being “normal” just bizarre. If we had a day that had a maximum temperature of below zero, it would make the front page. Anything under 10C is notable really.
    I’ll send you sunny vibes tomorrow. I can spare it – I’ve got more heat than I want anyway.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Well, since you are headed toward your summer, you should be nice and toasty. They say the cold winters make us hardy, but I’m getting to the age where I’d like the temps to be more comfy year around. I think often of moving south when I retire, so I don’t have to put up with below zero winters.

  7. M-R says:

    That’s the way, M-J m’dear: I am feeling much the same about our forthcoming summer – predicted as being ‘a stinker’.
    Victor …?

  8. Wish I knew a good joke. But I’ll share good wine with you when we visit WI in December. 🙂 That always brings smiles.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Q: Why did the turkey cross the road? A: Because the chicken took the day off. Looking forward to that glass of wine 🙂

Leave a Reply

