Mmmm…BACON

For my vegan friends and followers…cover your eyes.

Bacon 001

Natasha and I love BACON.

Not just any kind of BACON.

It has to be Neuske’s Wild Cherrywood Uncured BACON. We are hooked on said bacon like a hungry perch on a fat and tasty nightcrawler. Oscar Mayer and other lesser brands cannot compete. It is simply the best.

In a little town called Wittenberg, about 63 miles north of the Fox Valley, there is a well-known place called Neuske’s that you can find by following the small red meat trucks that sit in various parts of town and off the interstate. Within Neuske’s, you can find various varieties of smoked meats, cheeses, condiments, candy and more smoked meats. One does not have to open the front door to smell the odor of BACON…it wafts out onto the porch and dances up the nose of its carnivorous visitors. There is no resistance as the smell encircles and pulls hard. Come inside the door!

This addiction of sorts can be blamed on Blondie, the neighbor. She started it with her “Oh-hi-I’m-your-nice-neighbor-with-a-few-strips-of-Neuske’s-BACON-for-you-to-try” evil scheme. I’m certain Blondie laughed a villain’s laugh as she strolled back to her apartment across the hall. She knew what the result would be for Natasha and I.

When the few pieces were gone, we immediately drove to the store and paid a pretty penny for a 12 ounce package of the Nectar of the Meat Gods.

When that was gone, we bought more. The BACON went well with a Saturday morning eggs-and-toast breakfast.

Back in July, when Natasha, Red and I spent a few days camping a few miles north of Wittenberg, we attempted to stop at the Neuske’s store on a Sunday afternoon to purchase more BACON. We thought it might be cheaper at the Neuske’s store than it was in the supermarket. To our dismay, the BACON store was closed. BooHoo!  Natasha and I made a pact to return on a future Saturday for a hike on the Ice Age Trail and to buy BACON. I don’t believe a month passed before we kept true to our BACON pact and we were so glad we did.

Baconwhore

The cherrywood BACON was on sale. For cheap. Like $3.00 per pound cheap. We were paying $6.99 for 12 ounces in the supermarket, which caused us to stretch out the rations as long as possible. That is a gold pig’s price, so Natasha and I were jumping up and down over the cost of this treasure. We bought 10 pounds. Yes, 10 pounds.

We are BACON whores.

And, believe it or not, the 10 pounds of bacon ran out today, after three months, two weeks. That’s .75 pounds of bacon per week, over a 14-week period.

Stop judging. We shared the substance with Natasha’s daughter and a few worthy visitors. We had Saturday morning BACON and Sunday morning BACON and biscuit/tomato/honey BACON sandwiches and anything that tasted good with Neuske’s BACON. This morning, we made another trip to Wittenberg, for the BACON that is the object of our desire was on sale. We could not resist. BACON resistance is futile. We loaded up our baskets once again, filling an order for Red this time, and adding an extra five pounds to our stash (I told you, BACON whores). Natasha found liver pate (blech!) and, somehow, a couple of bars of coconut, salted dark chocolate also made their way out of the store.

We now have plenty of Neuske’s BACON. By my calculations, we are set until Spring of 2015.

So, bring on the winter’s cold and snow. Natasha and I won’t care as we will be nestled in our apartment for the next four months, hot beverage in hand, eating our BACON.

Mmmm…BACON.

28 responses to Mmmm…BACON

  1. ladysighs says:

    😦 On a low fat diet here. Very low. 😦 But during the one splurge day of the year, I think I would choose bacon. I wouldn’t even care if it was the worst brand. lol Well, maybe I would. 🙂
    WOW!! over 600 words about bacon.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, you would care. May as well wait to splurge on something good, whether it be bacon or something else, than to waste calories on the bad. Right?

  2. M-R says:

    I don’t get it, M-J: three-quarters of a pound ? That’s only 340 grams !!! When I was an omnivore, I could practically put away 340g of bacon in a single sitting.
    Am I missing something …?

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Grrr!! thanks to you I found myself wandering down to the kitchen in the middle of the night and scooping peanut butter straight out of the jar – Congratulations Miss Biker Chick, you have now well and truly tipped me over the edge – after 3 months of going meat-free, I’m ready to rip open the bacon and get troughing…..Hold your nerve, Lottieness, hold yer nerve!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Calm down there Lottie. Have some fruit and be glad I’m not writing about my exploits with a beef roast :-p

    • bikerchick57 says:

      OMG, I feel like a bacon amateur next to you. That looked like a feast sent from bacon heaven. Did you have Baconfest 2014 yet? Just wondering if Natasha and I need to pack our bags 😉

      • LB says:

        Sadly, the bike wreck derailed BaconFest ’14, BUT I do plan a reprise in 2015!! Come on down!!

Leave a Reply

