Resistance is Futile, Time for a Change

Weekly Writing Challenge: Write a post that will leave readers waiting for more.

employment-application

And, so, the picture tells you that I’m either switching jobs or I need a full time job. Correct? Well, that would be wrong as it’s neither. I am simply in need of additional income, a little something to put in the bank and save for a rainy day…or the next new set of tires.

I have struggled with and resisted the idea for three years.

I have hoped that somehow circumstance would change (without the threat of a second job).

I did ^that^ with the last few years of my marriage…hoped for change.

Hope doesn’t always work. At times, one has to lift their backside off the chair and take action.

A prayer to The Big Guy helps too.

I had to wipe away the fear of many unknowns. Will a second job affect my first job? Will a second job get in the way of taking care of mom’s needs? Will a second job get in the way of getting to the gym? Or seeing friends? Or getting enough sleep? Or having a life?

I cannot fear, I must take action!

Resume has been updated.

Resume sharing has begun.

One on-line application submitted (which felt like signing up for Match.com).

I’m not sure where this road will lead, where my resume will land, or who will find me worthy of hire.

I’m not sure if the hours, the schedule, or the job itself will be a good fit.

I’m not sure how all of my fearful questions will be answered.

Employment status to be determined.

Stay tuned, the next Chapter of this story is yet to be written.

For more of the written cliffhanger, click here.

15 responses to Resistance is Futile, Time for a Change

  1. M. R. says:

    Have you been watching Star Trek again? 😉 I watch movies 2, 3 and 4 quite often – I love them! As to your actual TOPIC: not only is this a great cliffhanger, but a great thing to do! Crikey, M-J! – if you’re not careful, you’ll become renowned as A Worthy Person!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      No Star Trek, M-R, just The Hobbis and Hunger Games. I imagine I’m already worthy to my circle of family and friends, it’s the guy on the street corner or my next employer who need to know! 😉

      • M. R. says:

        Oh, I thought that’s where your quote comes from …
        No matter. All the very best with this!!!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        “Resistance is futile” comes from the Daleks on Dr. Who. I’m a Trekkie and a Whovian! And thanks for your very best M-R.

      • M. R. says:

        ALSO from Star Trek, believe me. I always associate the Daleks with “Resistance is useless!” – but then, that‘s also in Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe. Crikey! – they all plaged from each other! We are much better than that!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Andra. I am sitting in my warm apartment with a chill. It’s as if the cold air is seeping through the windows and attacking warm flesh! I only need to make it to Friday when highs will be back in the 30’s. Woohoo!

  2. Life imitating Art or Art imitating Life. I always get the two confused. Anyway, the very best wishes for your new endeavour. I know how you feel. Tires are expensive!!! I’m looking right now. Best of luck! 🙂

  3. barbtaub says:

    The second job might be a great chance to meet new people, do new things, and who knows–change your life. Best of luck!

  4. So you’re gonna start moonlighting (I think that term makes it sound sexier than getting a second job, but that’s just semantics). You gotta do what you gotta do, and who knows you may love it. I’ve had second jobs at grocery stores and waitressing in the past and they were fun (most of the time anyway). I hope all your questions get answered in the best possible ways! Celeste 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I like “moonlighting!” Thanks for making it sound fun, although it will be nice to find a PT job I enjoy.

  5. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    Gotta love that you’re a Trekkie. Me too and still love all the series.Good luck on the second job search.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.