Three Times

Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
― Marthe Troly-Curtin

It’s Sunday as I type, and eight inches of expected snow is falling to the ground. White and fluffy and accumulative. Meanwhile, a marathon of NCIS Los Angeles is playing on the TV and Gibbs the cat can’t make up his mind if he’s needy, hungry or needy.

It is all I can do to not “waste time” on the couch. Lay sideways. Nap. Watch TV. It’s that kind of day.

Not quite 2:00 pm and I wonder why I’m not in my pajamas.

Ziva cat understands that wasting time is a valuable resource. It’s been her goal for many years to reflect the enjoyment of sleep and laying around all day, doing nothing. She is not lazy, but rather continuing her research into the positive mental health effects of this important activity.


They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.
― Andy Warhol

True and False.

True: I changed my life a little over ten years ago by making an important decision that I will never regret.

False: The passing of time can make us realize that we are in charge of our life and happiness. It’s only then that change comes with actions and desire for a different future.


Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.
― Anthony G. Oettinger

Where does the time go? Some days it feels faster than the time it takes for a banana to turn black and the fruit flies to gather.

It seems unreal that I am 62 years old. I’ve grown from a baby to an adult, attended school, been married and divorced, took care of and said goodbye to two parents, worked since age 16, learned how to drive cars and motorcycles, found great friends, and headed down a road to retirement. I remember clearly, around age 14, with the Sears catalog in hand, lusting after a pair of groovy purple bell bottoms. It was the early 70’s. Forty-eight years have passed since then and it makes me wonder how much time I’ve spent as an adult, shopping for clothes and shoes and things I didn’t really need.

I don’t think I want to know.

If time flies like this, should I be wasting it on the couch?

And wasting time doing nothing?

I’m headed over there now, to the couch, joining Ziva in her research.

I’ll provide answers when the official report is released.


This post has been brought to you by three timely one-liners and Linda Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. If you are wondering what One-Liner Wednesday is all about, CLICK HERE.

Linda G. Hill is the Queen of One-Liners and rules over her kingdom of followers. Check out today’s post and commit yourself to join the Queen’s one-liner army because there’s no fighting or blood, only comradery and fun with words.

19 responses to Three Times

  1. This is a deep conversation that I could stress out over if I really thought about time I’ve wasted. Instead, I’ll just go back to reading blogs because surely that’s not wasting time. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Blogging and reading blogs is never wasting time, Judy. It’s a learning experience. I think we could all stress out over time wasted during our lifetimes, but what fun is that? Go have a banana and forget about it.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    After 62 years, Mary, I think you know what’s best. But just in case, continue the research. Ziva must know something.

    I’m reading this while sitting on the couch and serving as a safety barrier between Maddie and the world. She’d asleep. I’m not sure I could be doing anything better than this right now.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Awww…you are a good Maddie protector, Dan. What would she do without you and the Editor to keep her safe?

      Ziva was researching again last night, while Gibbs and I were watching his namesake on the TV. In both cases, yours and mine, it is time definitely well-spent!

      • Dan Antion says:

        More than any of our dogs, Maddie has needed us, particularly the Editor. She (Maddie) has health and, for lack of a better term, mental issues. She’s a mixed-up little puppy, but we love her and we deal with her.

  3. Laurie says:

    I just said to my husband yesterday “How did we get to be 63?” It does just seem like yesterday that we were kids, riding our bikes around the neighborhood and playing Red Rover.
    Love the Andy Warhol quote!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Laurie. We have many great memories from our youth, but we also have several more years to make new ones and make changes, and that’s the fun in life!

  4. J-Dub says:

    So many good points to ponder. To me it’s not the time that changes things but rather what we do in that time. Guess I’m agreeing with Mr. Warhol.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m agreeing with Mr. Warhol too, at this time of my life. Lots of changes coming this year and all good!

  5. JoAnna says:

    Time (God?) took her time bringing my soulmate to me, but I had to become ready, and he had to become ready, so we really were changing ourselves. Now time seems to be moving so fast, especially when I’m busy. I keep thinking that relaxing on the couch or watching the birds or the water, will slow time down a bit so I can hold on to a moment.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It took a long time for me to make a life-altering move, but that also included a change to self.

      Time is always moving too fast. I try to stop and enjoy the little things like sunrises and full moons, until I can enjoy the big things – like keeping company with the couch and TV during a snow fall.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Not old enough to be my mom, though…
      I’ve been coming across birth dates of young interns at work lately…born in the year 2000.
      Jeepers, I’m old enough to be their grandma.

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    Ziva is wise.
    Gibbs is needy.
    And following Ziva’s example is a great way to pass a snowy weekend afternoon in February … while tossing a heaping helping of love to Gibbs at the same time 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I read an article last night about needy vs. demanding cats. Turns out, Gibbs is demanding. Apparently, he has great self confidence and feels free to ask (yowl) for what he wants. Hmmm…I wonder who lets him get away with that?

      Anyhow, I hope to follow Ziva’s example again this weekend. No plans other than having a beer or two with a friend. Then a nap. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.