Her Hands

 

“God has given us two hands, one to receive with and the other to give with.”

~Billy Graham~


Long, slender fingers

Touched by the passing of ninety-eight years

And the slight wrinkle of a Shar-Pei

Daughter squeezes memories of her childhood

Of wars, depressions and political elections

Of marriage, babies and Catholic faith

A fleshy grip that once held adult refreshment

Now holds a warming cup of thickened brown

The digits shake dinner’s fork and spoon

And point to the girl who helps

Her hands hide under the warmth of jeweled yarn

And search for a purse that isn’t there

At their tips, her fingers are coated blood red

With a splash of silver excitement

Painted by the girl who helps

Jealous of their length and strength

Yet, no matter

Daughter adores the person underneath

Adores that she can still squeeze the memories

Of the long, slender fingers

And her hands


This post has not been brought to you by my mother’s beautiful hands. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

23 responses to Her Hands

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have no other kind of love for mom. There was a time when we didn’t see eye to eye and my love may have been less, but I’ve come to understand the woman that she was and is now and that has made a huge difference for me.

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful moment, and all that it means to you, Mary. I can feel the love within those joined hands.

  2. loisajay says:

    Mary–this is beautiful. Both the sentiment and the hands. I think your mom is amazing, as are you. Much love to you both.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Tossing love back at you, Lois. One of the hospice workers has been doing a fabulous job with painting her fingernails. I’m looking forward to the next version!

  3. Frank Hubeny says:

    The quote reminds me of Neil Diamond’s Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show. It’s a good reason to have two hands.

  4. JoAnna says:

    When I was young, I didn’t like my mom’s wrinkly hands. I think red head hands wrinkle more. Now I have them. I have come to appreciate and accept my mom more since she died in 2008. She was 82. I know you treasure these times.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t have wrinkly hands (yet), but I do have noticeable veins on the back of them. Could never be a hand model! Yes, I treasure the times with mom. Every day with her is a blessing.

  5. Sharukh Bamboat says:

    I would like to take the words of Billy Graham and adjust it to my lifestyle and say: God gave us two hands, both to type. Just kidding around. The poem is very emotional and I believe there is nothing more soothing than the hands of the mother. Warm, gentle and loving.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Funny, Sharukh. God is allowing me to type a response…I enjoy holding my mother’s hands when I go to see her. It keeps me connected to her when words aren’t enough.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.