One Eye Open

“Keep one eye open for the bad guy.”

~Vesta Williams~

I’m a little miffed at the bad guy

I’m a lot perturbed and I’ll tell you why

She left me alone for two whole days

The bad guy left for her biking ways


I’m keeping one eye open for this one

And ignoring birds and bright, yellow sun

The bad guy better not leave any time soon

Because I need to be fed close to noon


The bad guy knows my needs and yet

She packs again to head northwest

My eye is open, it spies the evil plan

Go head, leave…I shall never again be your fan


This post has been brought to you by a cat with a pretty green eye and unforgiving attitude (unless he gets fed right now). It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

32 responses to One Eye Open

  1. Dan Antion says:

    How dare you leave them ???

    I know, I know, but it’s hard and they have ways of making it harder. Whenever I drag out the suitcase, Maddie starts laying on the guilt. I hope you enjoyed your time away enough to make up for the welcome that’s waiting for you. Word to the wise, check your shoes…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Or check the floor. I returned home from biking Tuesday night (because it’s going to rain again today), only to discover a couple of patches of hairball vomit. Yup, welcome back mom! Take that!

      I can’t imagine what they’re going to do when I leave Friday again and not come home until Sunday.

  2. Does the person who comes to look after the cats, to feed them and put fresh water down for them, do they sit and stay for a while and give them some company? Maybe this little chap just needs a few kind words and a bit of a stroke etc, just to make him feel ‘loved’ while you’re not there.

    Have a blessed rest of your day ~ Cobs. x

  3. joey says:

    Haha, well done! It can be hard on them. I’ve had some cats who punished me, shunned me on my return, but most of my cats were just happy to see me come back.
    My darling Felicity, she used to go wild when I packed a suitcase. Just crazy run and all that. I often wondered if she had her own plans in my absence. 😛
    Safe travels to you and have a GREAT time! 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Gibbs has been especially boisterous today. I’m not sure if he’s yelling at me or planning for a party while I’m gone. I’m headed up north on Friday as there will be a campground wedding on Sunday. Not mine, of course, but I get to help decorate!

  4. JoAnna says:

    With dogs, it’s, “Can I go?” “Take me! Take me!” then, “I’m so happy you’re back!”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Maybe some day I’ll have one of those rare cats that like car rides and then I’ll take him/her with me…get a basket for my bike…. 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        That’s probably what needs to happen. Train a kitten on a leash and with car rides if he/she is agreeable.

  5. Claudia says:

    I think your cat has been comparing notes with my cats — they’re always starving when I go away..even though I leave enough food for a month!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Darn that Gibbs! I told him to quit comparing notes with other cats (because nothing good can come of that).

      • Claudia says:

        You KNOW that cats are full of all kinds of trouble once we go to bed…why do you think they scamper across the house at 3 a.m.?

  6. LB says:

    The comment section here is fun. Cats, while we love them, can be such a PITA!
    Great pic, too

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yeah, I have a cat that can certainly be a PITA…at 3:00 am when he figures it’s an important time for head butts and love pats.

      • LB says:

        Mine used to do that, too! All of my animals have passed and I’ve not adopted any more …yet!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Considering your schedule, it’s probably best that you don’t have any critters to worry about. Perhaps when you retire from being so active!

      • LB says:

        Yes! I really need to figure out how to be less active … it’s not about not being able to say no. It’s seeing an opportunity and not being able to quell my own passionate response. Working on that!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.