Weathering a Cold

The weather on Friday was nice

To the outdoors it would surely entice

But as I lay in bed

With a cold in my head

An open patio door would have to suffice


“Who gave me this cold?” I cried

As germs gave immunity a ride

Whether Kleenex is flung

or I cough up a lung

Mucinex is swallowed with a deep sigh


I had hoped the week wouldn’t end this way

When a sore throat made itself known on Monday

Made it three days

Til the cold had its way

Therefore, in this rumpled bed I must lay


Yes, the weather on Friday was great

Two thumbs up and a “ten” I would rate

But inside I stay

And now it’s Saturday

I wonder whether this is my cruel fate


I don’t think I can stay inside again

When the weather is nice, my friend

This cold can go

Along with self-woe

And not come back til you-know-when


This limerick of sunshine and phlem is being brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday or SOCs. Click HERE to read other SOCs posts of the day and consider joining in after reading the rules. The main rule to remember is, “Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.” Not an easy task for anal perfectionists like myself, but who said life has to be easy? Just make it fun!

35 responses to Weathering a Cold

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Nice! It’s bad enough for a spring cold to ruin work, but you need to draw the line at the weekend. I hope you start feeling better. BTW, I think it’s “starve a fever, drown a cold in alcohol.” Or, something like that.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Drink some blackberry brandy, he said
      That will get rid of the cold in your head
      So she downed a shot
      And relief she got
      After passing out for hours on her bed

      • Dan Antion says:

        I said to drown it in booze
        I did not mention a snooze
        Some tequila you pour
        Then run to the store
        For cat food and Kleenex to use

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I cannot write poetry he claimed
        And, yet, here is his refrain
        He pulls my leg
        While I beg
        To more often use his right brain

      • Dan Antion says:

        It’s your fault! Recalling last June
        You coaxed me from my prose cocoon
        You’d said you would deign
        To write about trains
        If I’d follow poetically, soon

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You are so right about the trains
        I really had to work a non-train brain
        I did it, though
        Kind of liked it, so
        Just don’t ask me to write about a crane

      • Dan Antion says:

        A crane post, I think would be fair
        Your poem request ended not there
        I order to like
        I had to write of a bike
        Not merely pull rhymes from the air

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I think I shall shut up fair soon
        Before these comments find noon
        I leave cranes to you
        And I give fair due
        To your poetry, sure and in tune

        I can only stick with things I know
        Cranes are not in my knowledge zone
        I stick with bikes
        And things I like
        Air poetry, cats, mom, and winter’s sn…

      • Dan Antion says:

        I too must end this fun exchange
        So I can go measure in the rain
        The garage width and height
        And length must be right
        If a building permit I’m to gain

        This has been fun. I hope you’re feeling better soon.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Thanks Dan. Linda is to blame (or thank) for the crazy limerick morning. We’ll have to do it again sometime…

  2. Enjoy the opportunity to rest, to snuggle and to have a beautiful view to look at. There’s a whole summer ahead of you for getting outside. Hope that cold takes a hike in the sunshine soon though.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks H. I am trying to enjoy the down time, although I really need to go out to the store and buy some comfort food. Yesterday’s lunch was a banana and peanut butter because that’s the only thing I had that sounded good.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Summer colds are so miserable. You have my condolences that you are nursing a stuffed and foggy head instead of outside in the sunshine.

    As usual, your limerick writing abilities impress me, especially in the SOC category! Be well!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It drove me crazy yesterday that I couldn’t be outside on my bike. It was perfect weather and I had planned on taking half a day off work to hit a local trail. Being inside today isn’t quite as bad as we are having on and off thunderstorms. It’s still warm, but not conducive to planning a day outside. I guess I’ll have to weather Saturday daytime TV and catch up on my reading, writing and coloring.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        We’re having your weather yesterday, today. Tomorrow will be a rain day.

        Note to self – must get outside!!

  4. What a great attitude you have. I’d just be irritated, and suffer loudly for anyone who happened by! I hate an ordinary cold as I know it will inevitably make its way down into my chest!!

    Hang in there and I hope you get out on that bike before the weekend is over!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Well, I am irritated to some degree. The head cold did go down into my chest yesterday, but a nice long sleep seems to have broken up the congestion. I can see the road to recovery, although the bike riding may have to wait until next weekend.

  5. dweezer19 says:

    Cute. Sorry about the cold Mary, but at least your whimsy remains intact. Maybe a bit of sunshine will speed up your recovery. Feel better soon!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Cheryl. I am feeling better today. I may have to go out in search of comfort food, so there might be some fresh air in the forecast.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for your “get better” wishes, Judy. I am feeling better today, although still tired. I’m pretty sure I’ll be back to full strength soon.

  6. joey says:

    Oh that’s just terrible! A summer cold — bleh! I hope you will be feeling better soon, Mucinex is a good friend at times.
    Pity you’re missing out on the weather. 😦 I think you should get a redo!

  7. LB says:

    I see through the comment section that you are beginning to feel better. so glad!
    I cracked up reading “this limerick of sunshine and phlegm”
    Continue to heal, Mary!

  8. Aunt Beulah says:

    As I sit here on a beautiful Sunday morning, sniffing and sneezing my way through my seasonal allergies, your lament gave me the chuckle I needed. Thank you. And thank you as well for spending time on my blog yesterday. I appreciate your visit.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, the seasonal allergies! I’m waiting for the cottonwood to start blowing around and I might be in the same boat. Glad I gave you a chuckle and you can blame or thank Dan Antion for a tweet that led me to your blog. I love your style of writing!

  9. daisymae2017 says:

    cute poem.You ought to go for DoodlingPanda’s(Mila) and Tapasi’s Nerdy Poem Challenge. Rules and categories are on their websites. Think about.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.