A Thanksgiving Plea

I beg of you,

I implore you,

I make a plea on my knees,

Do NOT dress your cat up for Thanksgiving.

cats-thanksgiving

Give kitty the turkey gizzard,

not the hideous turkey costume,

and kitty will be your friend furrever.


Happy Thanksgiving to readers who celebrate the holiday! For the rest of the Melangites, I urge you to overload on carbs and sugar (with a little protein thrown in) and take a couple of naps on November 26th. Feel free to repeat that cycle a few times so that you have a reason to go to the gym on November 27th.

I am eternally thankful for good friends, loving family, furry critters, church community, a roof over my head, turkey in my mouth, and YOU, dear readers. Have a lovely Thursday, no matter what you have on your plate.

23 responses to A Thanksgiving Plea

  1. joannesisco says:

    Dressing up kitties in costumes is just wrong!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours MJ! Indulge and be happy 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That is one thing I have never done to my babies, because I’m afraid they would scratch my eyes out 😉 Thanks and I hope you’ll be a kindred spirit and have a glass of wine or a small piece of pie tomorrow…because you can.

      • joannesisco says:

        Ohhh – it never occurred to me to ‘share’ your Thanksgiving from afar. I could certainly manage to raise a glass – and a fork – in celebration 🙂

      • joannesisco says:

        Like I needed to be told twice.

        Let’s see, I have a zucchini cake with cream cheese icing I just made, and a pecan pie. Oh – and the bar is fully stocked.
        Yup – I think I’m ready for my Thanksgiving from afar 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Same to you, Sammy, and you’re welcome. There are so many awful photos of cats and dogs in Thanksgiving costume, I could have made a gallery. But I thought I would be somewhat respectful to the critters 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You should have seen the photo of the other cat, the one I almost used, who looked like he was a Thanksgiving peacock. I felt sorry for the little fella.

  2. Herman says:

    Oh no, please! No dressed up cats…!! I hate that. Mr. Bowie hates that!
    Actually, all cats hate it… 😉

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I would be a bloody mess if I tried to put that on either of the girls. Have a wonderful holiday Mary.

  4. Miss Lou says:

    My children dressed up Sunscreen in an ELF costume. #Stares. Lucky for them, their eyes didn’t get scratched out. I did catch Sunscreen hiding it under the couch the next day, lol. Smart fur baby!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have to tie my hands because I really want to get the lion head piece for Gibbs. I think he would look cute in it…

Leave a Reply

